We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in an excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inturotel Sa Marina
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
east sussex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in an excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We have just returned from a week's holiday in Cala d'Or. Having stayed in villas previously, my in-laws mobility problems required a more central location. This hotel was so easy for them to get around and was close to Cala d'or centre. The accommodation was excellent - clean, spacious and very comfortable. The only slight criticism I would make is that I had emailed the hotel asking for sunny balconies on a high floor, and we were on first floor but with trees blocking out most of the sun. All staff we encountered, reception, bar, housekeeping, restaurant and management were, without exception, friendly and helpful. We stayed half board and breakfast was very good with an excellent egg chef! We had a few evening meals which were standard hotel fare but all ok. Bar prices were reasonable for a hotel too. There are so many excellent restaurants in and around Cala d'or and the marina. We would recommend the ice tapas at the Different bar in the centre - fruit to dip in cream and sauces then dip in steaming liquid nitrogen until frozen. Great fun! Would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a pool view room - they don't have many trees blocking the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcpfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    298
    64
    17
    2
See reviews for
861
344
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Having been disappointed before with hotels professing 4 stars when they should have been 3, i was anxious about our choice through Thomas cook. HOWEVER from the 2 hour flight, 1 hour transfer and amazing hotel that greeted us i need not have worried. The hotel was modern, clean and comfortable. Our room spacious with plenty of storage, space and air con that worked. Amodern, clean and large bathroom, functional kitchenette and large balcony ( don't hang your towels on it though) with great view to pool. Weather was sublime 30 for a week but hit 40plus later on. Not so good... not getting our welcome invite on the coach from the airport so not hearing from our rep at all, 2 single sofa beds in lounge that were too soft, the tv that seemed to have the sound preset to very quiet (you may see that as a good thing).. getting up at 8 to bag a sun bed by the pool, earlier if you want an umbrella. The couldn't care attitude of pool bar staff when notified of broken plastic drainage grill by the pool steps. The funny... hearing EVERYTHING the entertainers said in at least 3 consecutive languages during the shows, bingo, events etc. Also good...comfy beds in separate double bedroom, doctor arriving in 20 mins following call to reception in response to my getting vertigo, no mosquitoes, breakfast buffet to die for, dinner buffet with good varied menu which changed nightly (albeit some meals warm rather than hot and the deserts were a bit repetitive), table service excellent (sometimes too quick). Hotel is in a fantastic resort if you are with children up to early teens. Great beautiful clean and safe beaches. Excellent shopping and restaurant area.. AND if you get bored there is always a marine to walk around. 10 minute walk to all these things. We didn't have a car but have it on authority that there is so much more to this island.. but if you want a relaxing holiday for all your family, this is a place to consider . And one last thing... we saw a firework display outside the hotel. AMAZING but totally scary. Imagine new years on the Thames being set of 20 yards from where you are standing! Having retreated to a safer viewpoint we watched the spectacle in a hail of fireworks debris. The pool was covered in the stuff but incredibly was cleared by the next day. Testament to excellent cleaning standards in hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for pool room overlooking stage so you can watch show in evening from your room in evening if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacqui a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We are a family of four and visited the San Marina in the middle of August. The hotel was lovely, the room was clean and comfortable and the staff were very helpful and friendly.
We did visit high season however there was not enough sunbeds! During our stay my husband had to reserve our beds by sitting with the beds from 7.45am whilst I got our kids ready (aged 5 and 2) and took them for breakfast. (As a family we all ate breakfast together twice in eleven days which was not what I anticipated).
As many other reviewers have said, if you reserved beds by leaving your towels on them the hotel 'sunbed police' placed stickers on your towels and moved them half an hour later. There is no way with our young children we could all go to breakfast and return in half an hour, so as I mentioned earlier my husband invariably had to stay with our beds.
We visited Hotel Capo Bay in Cyprus last year, on the day of our arrival we were allocated numbered sunbeds for the week so we could turn up at the pool at 9-9.30am knowing we had allocated beds. I doubt the San Marina would ever be able to do this as they simply did not have enough suitable beds for their guests.
I'd recommend the Sa Marina but not for high season especially if you have very young families who rely on a pool type holiday as the sunbed situation was just far too stressful and irritating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
128 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Booked independently, stayed 10 nights SC, this was just a fly and flop holiday so it was fine,

Food
We did eat on a few days, breakfast fine and evening meals buffet style was good, but would not liked to have it everynight.

Room
Clean and comfortable could do with an update on fabrics, had a good size balcony

Pools
Two, one with a bar and seemed very hectic the other was a bit calmer.

Sunbeds
There where plenty and a few fixed umberellas. I do not know why people moan about the saving of beds, the majority of people go away to relax by the pool therefore you get up early to make the most of the day and get your sunbed, if people expect to get one later in the day thats unlucky. The life guard (AKA Slim Shady) does put timed tickets on empty beds you then have 30 mins after that time to return, so this is fair enough, on his day off we all coped perfectly well without him.

Silly rules of no using the pool until 9am and no lilos both of which are not needed, kids like to have a bit of fun.

Fountain (AKA Niagra Falls) is loud and I would have preferred it to stop at night to get a bit of peace and quite time for having a drink on the balcony.

Location
In the centre so easy walking to shops etc, quite open though and I did see a couple not staying in the hotel walk in and use the pool for a while then leave.

During our stay we found that the hotel did overbook rooms for some guests and it seems this is common place and they could not care less, so be warned.

Overall we had a nice stay and it is probabley the best that is in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickiIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Spotlessly clean with excellent food and friendly staff. Shops close by, Supermarkets etc.
Nice, well tended gardens. The hotel is split into three sections, the main buildings housing the reception and restaurant. The Internet is free in most areas, the signal is not very strong in the room though. All the major British channels are available on the TV. There are two good size pools. Next to one of the pools is the bar/ snack bar. Happy hour 5 till 6.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good. We have stayed in various parts of the Hotel over a number of years.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul_riley817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Most reviewers have summed this place up. It is spotlessly clean and the food is better than your average buffet. The split site description is true but they are merely split by a path, it's not a walk of any distance! Rather bizarrely there is a section of garden surrounded by a fence which should be opened up for sun loungers as many people would be happy to sunbathe on the grass area - there are simply not enough sun loungers around the pools.

The entertainment in the evening was fairly average but the animation team (4 x 18-25 year old multi-lingual students from Holland) worked really hard to accommodate all tastes. Their attempts during the day were more successful - water polo etc. But you could get away from it at the other pool if you wished.

You only have 2 rings and a fridge in the way of a kitchen so don't expect to cook much!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HolidayHetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just came back August 25th from sa marina,omg what a nightmare to get a sunbed,we used to blame the Germans for hogging the sunbeds!but sadly the British are far worse'sad people sat at the pool from 7 am to get their favourite spot,if you went to the pool anytime after 9 you did not stand a chance of getting a sunbed,we sat on chairs at snack bar.as none available.it became a pain,you had the same people down every morning hogging sunbeds or putting towels out even though not there.hotel itself absolutely fabulous but sunbed saga definitely needs sorting.entertainment during the day fabulous,animation team fabulous,however they certainly need help on a evening entertainment very amateur to put it mildly,although they work and try hard.but could do with some more professional shows.hotel immaculate room fabulous.

Room Tip: Definitely choose pool view they are lovely,ground floor near snack bar will be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.3 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
#9 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
#3 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda - Adults Only
0.3 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#20 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inturotel Sa Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inturotel Sa Marina

Property: Inturotel Sa Marina
Address: Avda Calonge s/n, 07669 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#1 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Inturotel Sa Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star resort, opened in June 2001, and because of its excellent location, facilities and careful service, make it ideal for couples and families who are looking for a special place for their holidays. At 500m from the beaches of Cala D'Or and Cala Gran and at 300m from the "Cala Llonga" marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inturotel Sa Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inturotel Sa Marina & Es Sivinar Hotel Cala d`Or
Inturotel Sa Marina And Es Sivinar
Sa Marina Cala Dor
Sa Marina Aparthotel
Inturotel Sa Marina Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing