We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Hotel - 5*”
Review of Hotel Cala d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Cala d'Or
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Absolutely beautiful hotel....staff amazing, views amazing, rooms superb, great mojitos... right on beach. Poolside bar, great loungers & pool. only 1 min walk to main town where there are some fab restaurants, "Es Caliu" is a must- amazing food/staff. The marina is 5 min walk with some brilliant places to eat too although little more expensive. Brilliant Thai restaurant/ Noa at the Marina- you won't be disappointed ! Really lovely stay and would return !

Room Tip: We stayed at front of hotel and though might be abit nopisy but no need to worry. was great. sooms r...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank emma h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cala d'Or
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 396 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

We have been going to this Hotel for years the staff are extremely friendly, it is in a perfect position with a beautiful private beach, very close to the Marina, the rooms have been recently refurbished and we cannot wait to go back again this year. 10 out of 10
Peter & Sue

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
8  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here at the beginning if the school holiday July 2013 with our 2 girls aged 2 and 5 on a half board basis. From the moment we checked in with a welcome drink we felt happy and relaxed for the whole stay. I read previous reviews before we left and felt bit anxious as it was our first family holiday but you must remember a holiday is what you make it too and whilst we did have a bright, spacious and clean room we were only in it to sleep and get showered and dressed as we were either on the beach or by the pool. My girls adored the place especially Kelly in the restaurant who always had time for a smile for them and made them feel special. We didn't do anything but have quality family time with our girls and enjoyed every second of it and would happily go back again (will start saving soon)! Thanks to all for a fab holiday

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Neddy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We returned mid September from our 9th visit to Cala D'or - we took our uni aged son with us again this year. Overall a great holiday. We arrived at 8.30pm and to be honest were a little disappointed with reception - the lad just handed us two keys and told us where the rooms were. We had to ask which was the single and which was the double. Rooms here can be a lottery! Last year we both had big rooms, this year they were both small but perfectly adequate and very clean. Ours was on the same floor as the bar which was very convenient for getting up and down to the pool. Breakfast was excellent - eggs definitely better than last year and the lovely Mallorcan ensaimadas every day. Just as well you cannot get them in Scotland! Though I suppose the Aberdeen buttery is a savoury version - give me an ensaimada any day.
Beds round the pool were not an issue for us but I am an early riser. But I stay there before breakfast and enjoy the peace and quiet reading my book or on my ipad - the internet can be a bit patchy but is generally fine. The majority of people who came down to get beds - and some are very early - do appear at a reasonable time. I am not sure if an earlier reviewer expects everyone to 'hotbed' - If you get up to go for a swim or a drink are you expected to take all your gear with you and then go to another bed - hardly practical!!! Most days there were still beds by 10am, quite often later and if you are after that you can hardly expect a prime spot!

Can't comment on dinner as we eat out but heard portions were a little small! We had lunch and dinner down at the beach bar - it is a lovely place to have dinner but to be honest food is better elsewhere. Burgers at lunch were surprisingly good but my son had the calamari which was shocking - it has always been great before but it was very very busy that day. There are loads of fantastic places to eat round about the town - just can't remember all the names! Terrific pizzas if you head up to town from the hotel and cross the road at the place facing you on the right hand side of the road. We had good sardines for lunch at Jimmys - turn right at the road up from the hotel but even better ones across the road.
For dinner you cannot beat Meson Tipica for tapas or a wood fired grill meal and Casa Pepe (just opposite Meson Tipica) for very friendly service - the waiter is very very smiley and everything is 'Fantastico'. My husband had sea bream cooked in salt crust and was raving about it - and he is not a fish eater particularly.

For a pre dinner drink it has to be Fowlers - yes it is pricy but you get a great greeting from Alex, nice music and apparently the cocktails are wonderful - stories of two champagne cocktails and not remembering anything else abound! My husband always enjoys his well made g&t with angosturas and son liked the different beer. I am a wine drinker and it was always very nice and served in a nice glass - never quite got round to having a mojito but they looked good.

All in all a great holiday, love the hotel, the sea was beautifully warm and no jellies - last year there were lots - and no doubt we will be back for our 10th visit next year. This really is a hotel for repeat guests - we saw lots of people we recognised from last year and previous years- in fact it was a bit of a time warp as we all seemed to be sitting in the same seats round the pool! 9 visits is nothing - some have been there up to 30 times! Go and you will see why as long as you are not looking for a wild night life!

Room Tip: You can ask for a newly done room but it really is pot luck!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ginaberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here this July. Asked to stay within the hotel complex after reading about the little 'shabby' apartments on the side of the building. However we got the shabby apartment. We couldn't have been swapped as we arrived at 1 am and all rooms within the complex were taken. Reception staff aren't that attentive, we had noise's of banging, kids screaming & running about from midnight till 3 in the morning above us and was told by reception they were unable to sort the problem. Food was lovely, pool was clean & staff elsewhere very friendly. Hotel couldn't be closer to the cove, town & harbour. Great places to see. The beach bar had great mixtures of live music of an evening. Made my first holiday abroad with my boyfriend a lovely one!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Justine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We can back to the Hotel Cala D'or in August for the second time. This is the most perfect holiday for me. The location is wonderful. The breakfast is great and the added touches such as the fruit kebabs and frozen facecloths are lovely.

The only complaint, not about the hotel, is about the selfishness of some of the other holidaymakers. What gives people the right to save sunbeds? Why are they so special that they can get up and reserve them? Just imagine if everybody did it? No room around the pool for anybody and lovely Cala D'Or loses business.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Missesmarple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Myself and my partner have just returned from a holiday in Cala D'Or and had a lovely stay at the Hotel Cala D'Or. The room and bathroom facilities were excellent and the proximity to the beach was great with direct access to the beach only two minutes walk down the stairs from our room! The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and as well as the beach directly next to the hotel there are also three other beaches in the area. The hotel is in great proximity to the town which is three minutes walk away down a side street and you have access to loads of bars, pubs, restaurants and other amenities in the town. We went half board and the breakfast and dinner was lovely and the service from the beach and pool side bars excellent. But we had a lovely time and we would definitely come back to the resort and the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caroline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.4 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#2 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,192 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.4 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#11 of 46 in Cala d'Or
993 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cala d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cala d'Or

Address: Avenida Belgica 49, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#20 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range: $108 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cala d'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Cala d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cala D'Or Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing