We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location..”
Review of Hotel Cala d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cala d'Or
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2011

I had stayed in a villa in the resort of Cala d'Or with some girlfriends in May and checked out the hotel whilst I was there and visited with my husband in June. We took one of the newly upgraded rooms on the 2nd floor with large plasma t.v. and more contemporary decor. We were very happy with the room. We booked bed and breakfast and the breakfast choice was excellent. It was great having the choice of beach so close or the pool area (sunbeds at a charge on beach - do not belong to hotel). The staff were very helpful and friendly. We used the beach bar for lunch most days, the best salads in Cala d'Or!! We checked out the other beaches around but came to the conclusion that "ours" was the best beach. We rented a car as the transfer cost from Palma and back was more expensive than taking a car. Beware you don't pay for full tank on arrival and return empty, as we did on previous visit - we booked Europcar which came with full tank and we only used 14 euros worth when we filled up to return. Would definitely recommend this hotel to friends for a long weekend or short break.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gw100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 412 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2011

we recently stayed at this hotel, well worth the 4 star rating, having stayed at many hotels on Maojrca it is up there with the best. Excellent room over looking the pool and the beach, beds and room facilities very good.Breakfast first class again huge choice.Staff very friendly and helpful. set in a residential road 2 minutes from town centre.
Will go back and recommend to friends, also great for a weekend away.

Room Tip: pay extra for sea view room well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank visitwithme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

This hotel is quite good and is in a fantastic location., overlooking a cove and right on the beach but yet only about 300 yards from the very charming main area of Cala d'Or Centre. The food is better than average and the breakfasts are particularly good with plenty of choice. The evening meal is better than some but is of a typically Spanish hotel quality (i.e. a bit of a hit or a miss) although to be fair there was usually something that one could eat. The staff are friendly especially in reception but the service within the Dining Room was a bit slow and unorganised . The beds are extremely hard and if you do not like a VERY FIRM mattress you may, like us, find them uncomfortable. The beds were so uncomfortable to us that it would make us think twice before staying here again. This is a real shame because the rest of the hotel is pretty good.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view premier
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
5  Thank hopefultraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rafelnn, Gerente at Hotel Cala d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2011

Dear Sir/Madam:



Thank you very much for your review about the Hotel Cala D’Or in Tripadvisor. We are really sorry to know that you find our mattresses uncomfortable for your taste specially because it would have had a quick solution by reporting the problem to the reception staff. As we know that mattresses is a matter of tastes, this year we have made an investment in our beds which has partially consisted in changing all our mattresses. The ones we have this year since April, have 2 densities: on one side they are hard or firm and on the reverse side they are softer. You probably had the firm side on. When that happens we just have to turn it up/down.

We hope that won’t be an impediment any more for you to be our guest in a future. Thank you for your comments, that makes us better ourselves!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Just returned from a week at the Cala D'Or, wanted a quiet break and thats what we got.
This hotel is one of the few that is open year round. The hotel was excelent, even though it was off season ( season starts easter weekend) every thing apart from the beach bar was open.
Pool is fairly small but adequate. Pool area is really nice with plenty of sun loungers. Pool bar is good and they do the food for lunch.
The centre of Cala D'Or is only just down the end of the road but you feel like your away from it all. There's lots of bars and restaurants and quite a few shops from the cheap to the expensive.
All in all a good place if you want to be near the centre but not on top of it, nice beach and well worth a try. We will be retuning

Room Tip: Low numbers have the best sun and veiw ie 101-110
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eastbournians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

A very comfortable hotel set in a very quiet part of Cala d'Or. Very well decorated and supplied everything for a relaxing stay.
The restaurant was very pleasant with a wonderful view over the beach and out to sea. The breakfast buffet was excellent, we did not eat in the evenings as the menu did not appeal and there were plenty of other restaurants to choose from within easy walking distance within a range of prices. There was a hotel bar, a pool bar and beach side bar. The outside bars provided basic lunchtime food which was good. Entertainment was provided on one evening of our stay of 10 nights in the form of Majorcan dancers. There were regular walking excursions organised by the hotel as well.
There was a comfortable lounge area with views over the cove and games and news papers were provided if required.
Our bedroom was quite sufficient and comfortable with balcony looking out to see, it was definitely worth the extra supplement for the view, two chairs and a small table provided for outside seating. Our only criticism was that the mattresses needed replacing as they were very hard and the springs were uncomfortable.
The swimming pool with built in jacuzzi and toddlers small pool was lovely and clean including the surrounding terrace. There were lilos and swimming aids provided by the hotel for use on the beach. Beach towels were provided for a deposit and could be changed daily. There were ample sun loungers around the pool area but if you choose to use the loungers on the beach there is a charge collected by the beach attendant.
There is a car park which you can obtain a key fob for a deposit to open the electric gates and it provides some covered parking as well.
The Hotel Cala d'Or we felt, was a very civilised, quiet and respectable hotel worthy of it's 4 stars and would certainly recommend it to friends although we have only seen the hotel and surrounding resort in October at the end of the season.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crocks21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We have just returned from our 16th consecutive visit to this hotel, you can guess we like it.
Have read other reviews and agree with most of them, can't believe the review from Richard especially the business obout the wearing of football shirts. This year for the first time ever a family were visiting and they have a collection of German team shirts, including the national side and a club side.
The rooms are a little tired and need more drawer space, we ate at the hotel all the time and the food and service excellent. Armando in the pool bar is so efficient and would grace the finest restaurant.
I know the owner replied to Richard on TripAdvisor, if you see this Rafa, what about some drawers.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodders95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Before I booked the Cala D’Or Hotel I looked at all the feedbacks left on Tripadvisor and other travel sites and I looked forward staying there.
Upon arrival I was disappointed being sent to the Annexe, which is a completely separate building not connected to the hotel, and is a bit like a rabbit warren with narrow corridors and steep narrow steps.
I had booked a sea view room and I had requested a high floor and whilst the room was on the top floor of a 3 story building the was no sea view from the room apart from a few blue specs you could see through the leaves of the trees from the balcony.
The room itself was quite spacious but the furniture was rather dated and apart from two extremely low sofa chairs from the 1960’s there was no other chair which you could have used to sit by the desk to do some writing.
The spacious balcony, like I said, had an extremely limited sea view and overlooked some villas on the other side of the walkway leading to the beach and offered no privacy as it was only separated from the other balcony by a very low wall.
Dinner in the evening was quite good but I would have preferred a bigger choice than just one meat and one fish dish bearing in mind that I don’t like fish leaving me no other choice than the one meat dish on offer. Breakfast was buffet style with the usual choice of fruit, yoghurts, cold meats and a bacon & egg .
On the positive side, the hotel is in an excellent and very quite position right above Cala d’Or beach yet only minutes away from the main centre of Cala d’Or and all the staff are extremely helpful, friendly and obliging.
Whilst we were there for 5 nights there was some entertainment of two of the nights which was quite entertaining.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rpumpernickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.4 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.5 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#2 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,652 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos
0.3 mi away
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cala d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cala d'Or

Address: Avenida Belgica 49, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#16 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range: $110 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cala d'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cala d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cala D'Or Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing