We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“UTTERLY TERRIBLE !!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo Ponent Playa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“UTTERLY TERRIBLE !!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Utterly terrible!!!!

Just got back on 27th Sept 2013, very pleased to be home.

This is a very old, very tired, and worn out, dated hotel. It has 400+ rooms, housing up to 900 guests, which it simply cannot cater for. Goods and bad's listed below. If you still decide to book this hotel after reading these facts, then good luck! but let me be the first to say "I told you so!"

Goods.
1) Pretty beach side location, nice view of the cove (have to pay extra for this though)

Bad's.
1) Over populated with guests
2) Not enough resources or amenities for its guests
3) Small rooms
4) Sewage smell everywhere including room
5) No fridges in room
6) No hair dryers
7) Air conditioning in room just does not work, and smells terrible (reason is because its not cleaned nor maintained that's how legionnaires disease is caused!)
8) Food in restaurant is not very good, bland, and tasteless, and is total chaos, you will queue for a table, queue for food, queue for a bread roll, queue for everything
9) Pool is tired looking, and small, only about 60 sun beds, and 10 umbrellas, gates open at 9 am, people queue from 8.30am to get in the gates to grab a sun bed ( so the other 800 guest dip out) a joke!
10) Beach is tiny, not enough space to layout a hankie
11) The Hotel does have a rear terrace with sun beds, but they have the audacity to charge you to use them!!!
12) The hotel Staff do not listen to complaints I think that they actually believe that you are privileged to be staying there!
13) Not good value for money, much better available for a lot less.
14) Wifi soooosloooooow
Honestly I could go on and on, but I think you get the picture!

Mark

Room Tip: do not choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    1,019
    577
    223
    98
See reviews for
906
1,202
67
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

just returned on a 6 night stay at this hotel which we manged to get a beach view on the 1st floor although not booked.
first the negative bits
no pool/beach towels you have to pay a deposit plus euro 3 if you want to change
safe deposit box daily fee of euro 3.50 plus a deposit
no hairdryers with a chance to hire at a cost - ladies take you travel hairdryers

apart from that cant say I had any issues with getting a table at the restaurant, do agree that the food was quite samey every day and possibly limited although the wife had no problems with choice as she will only eat fish/chicken no other meats, but it was not awful by any means not sure if people expect to be dining at some Michelin starred restaurant at the price they paid. The entertainment which comes on around 9.30/10pm for about an hour was generally a bit of fun in fact we thought the in house shows were better than the acts they brought in. During the day there was various light hearted games etc being arranged by the in house entertainment team. If your going all inclusive the AI finishes at 11pm same time as the entertainment with the bar staying open for another hour. if you want to carry on I would recommend the Carabel Karaoke bar a 5 minute walk from the hotel with no worries if you cant sing. room and certain areas looked a bit tired but cant say found anything dirty just a lick of paint etc needed in certain areas, maybe because its getting to end of season. I understand the need for having no glasses around the pool and beach bars but using cardboard coke cups for large beers don't work.. where was the San Miguel on draft it was Amstel we were in Spain !! (ps I'm not a great fan of Amstel so slight biase) staff we found helpful when needed. If you want to take a boat trip they actually leave from a small Jetty on the beach in the Hotel.We went to Mandrago good trip but just a word of warning getting off and walking to the beach at Mandrago is a very uneven surface and could be difficult for anyone with walking difficulties which is not advised.
Overall we had a good 6 days and would return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r0g2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Hotel location excellant. we fortunately booked a Sea - View Room which was on the 7th floor and we had a magnificent view of the bay. I cannot fault the staff they were most helpful whenever needed. My main complaint seems to be very popular regarding the dining room. The food, putting it politely, is absolutely awful, particularly the evening meal. The quality was shocking in fact I learned there are 4 ways to serve pork. 1 of your previous reviewers said that this hotel was brilliant if you liked salaf and chipos and I have to say I agree with them 100% because everything else was OK. One would enter the dining room, nobody checked you in, dress code which clearly stated Gents in Trousers & Shirt were ignored and guests sat down to Dinner as if they had just come off the Beach. Dirty Tables were not cleared and to get this done you had to stand by it and try to get a waiter to clear away and re-set. The Dining Room is definitely understaffed and without any Staff Supervision. My Wife finally got hold of the Asst Manager who admitted to her that he had never spent any time in the Dining room. That evening he was there for about 45 minutes during which time the staff were on their toes and tables duly cleared and re-set. However as soon as he left it was back to normal.
Everything is chargeable with deposits required for Beach Towels plus a charge of 3 Euros and should you wish to change thwem the cost is 3 Euros per Towel. Use of safe requires a deposit and a daily hire charge.Hotel Entertainment at night is done mainly by the Staff and is again very poor

Room Tip: Book A Sea View Room on the 7th Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fthesearchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Just returned from 5 nights half board in this basic but clean and tidy hotel. Staff are helpful and friendly. It was a last minute, cheap holiday and having read the reviews, expectations were not high. The beach is lovely and the snack bar on the beach,opposite the hotel is highly recommended.

However, be prepared to eat out in the evening. After 2 days we went into the town for good quality, reasonably priced food.
In the hotel restaurant trying to get a table was difficult, there did not appear to be enough waiting staff to turn around the tables and unless one member of your party stayed at that table, chances are someone else was sat there when you returned even if you'd left a drink there! Breakfast was fine although it took a while to replenish the hot food. The choice for the evening meals was
a bit odd, for example beef stew which you could have with salad, "chinese style" veg or chips? It wasn't awful but it wasn't great.

We had a room which overlooked the pool and the hotel entrance - the coaches start arriving at 5.30am and continue late into the evening. The entertainment, which we didn't go to, was very loud here. The doors are not double glazed. Luckily, I sleep with earplugs so it wasn't a problem. I would imagine the sea view rooms are a bit quieter.

The pool opens at 9.00am and whilst there are plenty of sun beds there are only about a dozen sunshades so people were queuing to get those from about 8.30am. Two sun beds and umbrella on the beach are 12€ and there are plenty of them.

Pool towels are available - if you want to change them during your week it costs 3.50 €.
You can hire a hair dryer.

To sum up, an acceptable hotel for the money, although it could do with updating and the restaurant/ food needs to be improved.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mavro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

My sister and I have just returned from a 4 day short stay at the Ponent Playa. 4 days was long enough unfortunately. This is a huge hotel. Our room was on sixth floor. It is spotlessly clean. The main problem was the food. It was awful. Also the hotel full to capacity and the old fashioned dining room could not cope. The kitchens also could not cope with the volumes of people.food always running out and often cold. The location of hotel is right on the beach. Take a travel hair dryer as none in rooms and although reception have one it is so often queued out with the latest bus arrival and only one receptionist on duty your hair would be dry by the time you got one! If you keep it longer than 30mins the cost is €12. The animation team did work hard to be fun.

Room Tip: The hotel had an annex called Comfort and those rooms seemed to be slightly better than main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camelia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just returned from a week at the Barcelo Ponent Playa. Reception was great couldn't fault the staff. All were very pleasant. Room absolutely great - overlooking the beach. View was lovely. Room clean and roomy no problem. Easy to get to Cala d'Or centre - only 5 euro by taxi . Well worth it.
HOWEVER the food was a different matter. Breakfast ok but seating a problem. Dinner diabolical. Poorly cooked, poorly served and not enjoyable at all. We were half board. We defected by the end of he week and ate out.
If asked to recommend this hotel would say great for bed and breakfast. Plenty of places to eat out at areasonable price and certainly much more palatable.
Apart from food though enjoyed our stay. Could only rate as average because of the food

Room Tip: Sea view lovely. Hotel across bay a tad noisy but ok with windows shut and air con was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time myself and my wife have stayed at this hotel and as far as we are concerned it is well worth what you pay.
Although the dining room can get busy at times the food is plentiful and well cooked. If you are fussy and don't want to try different foods don't pay for all inclusive and then you can eat out every night.
The location of the hotel although it is about a 15 min walk into Cala D'or the hotel is situated on a picturesque beach.
The staff are all quite friendly and willing to help you.
We have just spent 10 great days here and will be booking again for next yr

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coolerking47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
#10 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
#3 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cala Ferrera
Hotel Cala Ferrera
#33 of 47 in Cala d'Or
3.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#21 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Ponent Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Ponent Playa

Property: Barcelo Ponent Playa
Address: Cala Ferrera-Felanitx, 07669 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Barcelo Ponent Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 430
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Barcelo so you can book your Barcelo Ponent Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Ponent Playa Hotel Cala Ferrera
Barcelo Hotel Ponent Playa
Barcelo Cala d Or
Barcelo Ponent Playa Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing