We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Just returned from this hotel with my husband and 2 young daughters, we are already missing the place! The hotel is well run, catering in my opinion for families and doing an exceptional job. We paid for a superior room which was well worth the money, modern, fresh and spacious. The rooms have air conditioning and satellite TV. Our balcony was overlooking the pool area which was perfect as the evening entertainment was right outside our room (great for us with a 2 and 4 yr old, maybe not so good if wishing for peace and quiet but I do stress this is a family hotel).nOur friends stayed in a standard room which was spotlessly clean but tired and dated. 3 pools very nice, including a child's pool and splash pool which our girls lived in through the day. Childrens animation team fantastic, our children were a little young to participate plus I'm nervous letting them out of my sight but I could see there was always something going on and they had a great attitude. All staff work tirelessly and are polite and helpful. The grounds are well kept. We stayed self catering and ate out every evening so can't comment on food. Evening entertainment varied, a different show every night we stayed. Quite cheesy but good fun. Location great. Close to beach, town centre and marina. A small supermarket next door, handy for water and other essentials, also fresh bread and pastries baked throughout day. My only criticism would be that the tiled areas around pool are incredibly slippery. My youngest daughter fell on a few occasions and we all slipped at some point, bad accident potentially waiting to happen. However, overall a really good value family hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nattybelle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thanks for your friendly opinión. It is nice you spent beautiful holidays. We would like to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 794 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2014

Just got back from our 2nd holiday at prinsotel alba. On arrival we were asked if we wanted to upgrade to an updated room which we declined as we had requested a block which we stayed in last year and they had got us a room in this block. The staff are all friendly and helpful and help you if they can, Laurdres and Maria remembered us from last year and made a fuss of us. All the staff work so hard and you feel tired just watching them running around.we stayed self catering but paid extra some days for breakfast, the breakfast was lovely there is everything you could think of and a chef is there ready with ingredients which you can choose then he will cook you an omelette while you wait. My son loved this he always chose ham and cheese and ate the lot! Fresh food was always being put out and the pastries were yummy. The only thing that I would complain about was the sun beds, when we arrived you could go and put your towels on the sun beds but by week two the sun beds weren't put out until 10am so to make sure you got one under an umbrella you had to be down stairs putting your towels either on the floor or hang them on the umbrella to claim your spot at 8.45am. On our last day I went down early and there was only one spot left at 8.20am. The day we left our friends who were there text me to say towels had been put out with nothing left at 8am! This is mad as you go on holday to relax and we had to set an alarm to get up to make sure we got a nice spot. Everyone was complaining about it, a different way of doing the sun beds would be better as this is the only thing that let the holiday down. The entertainment staff were fab our kids had a great time and the club dance a 5pm is great fun, i even had a splash in the pool with them. We think we will go back again next year but the only thing putting us off is the sun bed situation.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and got one away from the pool and on the 3rd floor. The ac had 3 settings...
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you very much for your positive assessment, took it as an incentive to keep improving.
We hope to see you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Just returned from a great holiday in Prinsotel Alba.

The people are friendly and the rooms are clean (cleaned 6 days a week).

The animation team was fantastic. Thanx Demi, Maria, Andy, Berry and Daisy. My son really loved the kidsparty and the miniclub. The animation at night is nice also.

And if you eat in the hotel. The buffet is quite good with different spanish dishes every night. And don't forget the grill with fresh salmon and gamba's


P.S. A special thanks to Rocio and Claudia for the tortilla and the empanadas.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Andre_vd_Wilt2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Thanks a lot for you nice opinion. It is great to know you had nice holidays. We hope to see you again in Prinsotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

The rooms we got were clean and nice, although it was difficult to get to the balcony due to extra bed for our kid. We didn't get one big bed in a bedroom but two separate, which constantly came apart. We had all inclusive option and we were very confused about where to eat, as it turned out later we were not the only ones! There are separate restaurants for paying guests and all inclusive guests. According to the map we received at the reception it was not easy to figure out where we should dine. It also turned out that the other ones had much better choice of food, drinks, ice-cream, etc. The food itself was very good with a huge choice. A/C was working only for some restricted time, it turned itself off so when we came back from the whole day trip our room was awfully hot, despite the fact that we set it on properly. Wi-fi has worked really well for us and reached the whole complex. The worst thing we encountered was cigarette smoke. It is allowed to smoke literally everywhere around the complex, and smokers don't care if there are kids around or if someone is eating. Cala D'or itself is beautiful with the Cala Gran Beach a short walk from the hotel as well as the centre with plenty of shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thanks for your opinion.
At the check in time the recepcionists always explain our guests where to go for breakfast, lunch and dinner, where the bar is,...they give a welcome packett with a map of the hotel and also explain all the services that the hotel offers.
Air conditioning is always working (day and night) in the rooms. It is 24 hours working at the reception and also at the breakfast, lunch and dinner time.
The guests can smoke outside where the bar terrace is. But in the restaurant, rooms and reception is forbidden.
Anyway thanks again to choose Prinsotel Alba to enjoy your holidays and we would like to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

On our arrival we were offered an upgrade to a superior room, which we were glad we had taken. Our room was lovely and spacious and the bed was huge :)) Our son slept on a sofa bed which he said was comfortable. We went AI - the food was plentiful as was the choice albeit lukewarm. We had issues with parents allowing their young children to help themselves to the food in which they would use their hands to pick up food and in a few instances put the food back into the serving dishes again using their hands (disgusting) Parents keep an eye on your kids!!! The pool/poolside was a great, we enjoyed spending time chilling and cooling off there. Until 2nd last day a kid decided to use the pool as a toilet. The lifeguard immediately closed the pool and the offending article taken out and chlorine added but tbh we didn't wish to go in again the next day. The animation team were great with plenty of games and fun throughout the day and evening. My son enjoyed playing football and water polo and volleyball. Cala D'or itself is beautiful with the Cala gran beach a short walk from the hotel as is the centre with plenty shops and restaurants. We will definitely return to Cala D'or. But sadly not to the Prinsotel Alba.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank KarenMT10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thank you very much for your positive assessment, took it as an incentive to keep improving.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

This is a very nice family hotel with entertainment for the kids during the day and evening, we dined out every day so can't tell you about the restaurant. The rooms were spacious and the comfortable and had A/C. The hotel is very well placed for the beach and the centre so your not having to do too much walking

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme580406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Thanks for your opinión.
We hope to see you back again in Prinsotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

This is our first family holiday abroad with our children who are 6 and 8, chosen for its sunshine and local airport. There was a very efficient collection from the airport in a coach direct to Cala D'Or which took about and hour.
The hotel/apartments are based in a complex of buildings, all within easy reach of the pool, restaurant etc. Our apartment is one of the basic ones, which did feel a bit too basic when we arrived! But having been here a few days now it is more than adequate: firm, comfy beds, simple kitchen, clean bathroom with a very powerful shower. Rooms are cleaned daily (so far), with all beds remade.
There is a deposit to hire towels of €20 which can be swapped for clean ones on a daily basis. The local supermarket, 1 min away, sells all the basic bits, as do a few more in the town - I wasn't expecting to see Spar shops here! You will need to provide EVERYTHING in the apartment in way of food and cleaning products. There is international tv, with BBC1, BBC2 and ITV1 available for English speakers. Wifi has worked really well for us, once signed in 2 hours is provided and reaches the whole complex. Our room is nice and quiet, one building back from the pool, and the aircon is very effective.
We've been out into the town to eat all our meals so far but heard that the hotel does fabulous food too so we are going to try that tonight - a family we met last night said that was the best Spanish food rather than the complete range of international cuisine available in town.
The three pools are lovely, perfect for a whole range of ages. Loads of sun beds, although they do seem to be used by more towels at times than actual people ... The area by the kiddie pool is quieter and less popular so we tend to head there.
The beach really is just a short walk away and fits an awful lot of people on it for such a small space! Sun beds can be hired but the sand is lovely and soft so not always necessary.
My tips for improvement would be: a small welcome pack of tea, coffee, sugar etc and a update of the kitchen area.
We have travelled with Thomas Cook who offer a wide range of excursions. Adult prices range from €25 to €70, so not cheap when pricing up for a family of four. Most trips are within an hour away and pick up just outside Cala Gran beach 2 mins away.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amylou49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Thabks a lot for your opinión. We hope you had nice holidays and we hope also you return again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.2 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos
0.2 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,652 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
#5 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,065 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments

Address: Calle de Sa Conillera s/n, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#10 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range: $63 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the resort of Cala d’Or, this recently renovated holiday complex is set just a few steps away from the crystal-clear Mediterranean waters of Cala Gran.The property has been built in a typical Balearic style, providing an authentic Majorcan experience. Relax in the sunshine on a sun lounger before diving into the large outdoor swimming pool. You can also enjoy a cool drink beside the pool from the outdoor bar. Refreshing drinks are also available in the lounge bar.The property is surrounded by Cala d’Or – one of Majorca’s most popular seaside and water sports resorts. From here, you can easily enjoy all that this beautiful island has to offer. Exploring at your own pace is made easy by the reception’s car and bike rental service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinsotel Alba Apartments Manacor
Prinsotel Alba Apartments Hotel Manacor
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing