We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tamarix is aimed for the German tourists”
Review of Sunprime Monsuau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunprime Monsuau
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Paphos District, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tamarix is aimed for the German tourists”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Arrived 2 wks ago to be told they had overbooked and had put us into a nearby apartment until our "hotel room" was ready. When we eventually got transferred, we were put into a small independent block opposite the hotel. We had traffic noise and the awful entertainment team screeching down microphones (in German) until midnight. There were 3 occassions we were woken at 4am by people dragging their wheeled suitcases outside and talking below our balcony whilst waiting for their coaches. This hotel is geared up mainly for the German market and one female receptionist didn't speak any English, which was extremely frustrating as we were trying to report that the telephone was out of order (also had no mobile phone signal). We stayed for 10 days and only had our sheets changed the night before we left. The "cleaner" came in daily and just emptied our bin! When we arrived there were bits of watermelon flesh on the bathroom floor which were still there when we checked out yesterday morning. The mattresses and pillows are rock hard and very uncomfortable. Hotel food was bland and had limited choice, and the milk is sterilised. Although we had paid full board, we chose to trek into the main centre to eat from the variety of restaurants instead. Couldn't get near the pool, so instead we used the one at the apartments which was spotless, and very quiet (never had more than 5 people in it). Not much to do in the resort, so hired a car for 4 days to relieve the boredom and to explore other resorts. We usually go to the Greek Islands and thought we'd give Majorca a try for a change......can't wait for next years holiday, guaranteed bliss......back in the Greek Isles.

Room Tip: Unless you book directly with the hotel,here is no guarantee that the room you book will be in the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrinnyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    102
    41
    10
    5
See reviews for
37
214
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Overall we really liked the hotel. It's slightly out from the centre of Cala D'Or probably about 20 mins walk but there are bars & restaurants 5 mins away all along the route to the centre. Perfect location, about 5 mins walk to the nearest beach Cala Ferrera which we found a bit too busy but the hotel is around 15 mins walk to Cala Serena beach which was much smaller & quieter- very pretty.

The pool is nice and wasn't too busy. We were always able to find a sunbed. We were half board and drinks from the pool bar weren't cheap ie 2€ for a small coke and €3.50 for a glass of sangria. The breakfast & dinner was nice and we found there to be enough choice at dinner that we didnt need to go out any of evenings. A bottle of house wine with dinner was €7 so very reasonable.

The staff at the hotel were very helpful & friendly offering advice on where to go etc when we asked. The only problem we found is that we were unable to get the deposit back for the safe as we lost the original receipt so remember to hold on to it!

Cala D'Or is a very picturesque place particularly the little beaches with a wide choice of restaurants & bars yet very family orientated. We would definitely recommend the area & hotel for a weeks holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SecondhandSof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Tamarix. All the staff were friendly and helpful there just wasn't enough of them. The variety of drinks available on the All Inclusive list was decent and plentiful. The buffet food was somewhat limited but there was enough variety that we still overate! There was also snacks available until midnight both at the pool bar during the day and the lounge bar and the restaurant at night.

There were always plenty of loungers (always a bugbear) and the rooms were spacious and spotless and cleaned every day..

This hotel is what one would expect for a 3* all inclusive offering. It is slightly away from the main town centre but not too far from the beach which is exactly what I prefer but if you want the nightlife you may wish to be more central than this location.

P.S. For the reviewer below who said that Juan on reception was arrogant, I honestly think he was one of the most helpful and friendly receptionists I have met in a Spanish hotel.

Room Tip: I think the rooms in the hotel are slightly better than in the annexes but I was only able to compar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dawnyd69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I don't understand all the good reviews about the tamarix! We booked to stay here for our honeymoon 23rd-30th may ..we had looked it up and seen was I'm a quiet location but only short distance away from bars and shops so we booked it thinkin this would be perfect! From when we arrived at 11.45pm the man on reception was so arrogant and didn't even crack a smile.we got to our room to find the taps in bathroom hangin off wall,shower not working and if you shut the bathroom door you got locked in.we reported this the next day, the shower got fixed within 5 hours, the taps still wasn't sorted though.the door,well 4 days into the holiday my husband was just gettin out of shower when a man came in the room without knocking and put a new handle on the door! The pool area looked clean,but once in the water it tasted dirty! Needless to say we spent most of our holiday away from the hotel! Apart from the horrible little man on reception at night all the other staff was friendly and always smiled,the staff at the poolside bar were really nice but the bar area was always full of wasps and flys, so only had 2 drinks from there.the. Although the cleaners came in to clean the rooms every day, the towels were still dirty! This hotel has the potential to be a lot better than what it is especially if they get rid of the guy on reception at night, but sadly it is the worst place we have ever stayed!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank janineandben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

never been to a hotel before with staff as friendly as the ones here, very clean nice food, the drinks were not the watered down type will serve u with a pint glass too if u ask, pool area very nice nice snacks from the pool bar, theres a bar farther down the street that do happy hour from 8pm till 12pm 2 corona and two wines for 6.5 euros,this is one hotel we will be visiting again,

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Recently stayed at the Sun Beach Apartments which are owned by the Tamarix Hotel - used the facilities there and the reception staff assisted us with transfers to the apartments which are only a few minutes away.
The Staff at the Hotel were very friendly, always polite and helpful.
We have never visited Majorca before and were exceptionally surprised by the beautiful beaches. The resort of Cala Dor was very clean and traditionally Spanish and the properties and restaurants all very well maintained - we have spent a few holidays in Canaries and the properties are very tired when compared to the standards in Cala dor - we would definitely like to return to this hotel and resort - Thankyou for your hospitality

Room Tip: Stayed at the Sun Beach Apartments owned by this hotel and close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mojoknowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This was a fantastic holiday, all the staff in the hotel and restaurant were brilliant and ever so friendly, the hotel was clean and the food was beautiful. We would certainly go back and recommend this hotel as we had a very enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RUSSELL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.5 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#2 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,080 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,497 reviews
0.7 mi away
SENTIDO Tucan
SENTIDO Tucan
#18 of 46 in Cala d'Or
901 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunprime Monsuau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunprime Monsuau

Property: Sunprime Monsuau
Address: Avenida Cala d'or 2 | Mallorca, 07669 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Monsuau Sensory Hotel)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cala d'Or
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunprime Monsuau 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunprime Monsuau has a modern and contemporary style on the idyllic outskirts of Cala D'Or. Far away from the hustle and bustle you can experience tranquility in the unspoilt countryside of Majorca and explore the wonderful area of Cala D'Or. The hotel is designed for adults over 16 years and offers a relaxed and casual atmosphere for a relaxing stay with your partner or friends. The Adults-only Sunprime Monsuau is located on the quiet outskirts of Cala D'Or in the south east of Mallorca. Only 300 meters away is the picturesque bay of Cala Ferrera with a gently sloping sandy beach and turquoise waters. Restaurants, bars and shops are within walking distance. South of Cala D'Or you can reach some of the most beautiful chalk cliffs of the island, many hidden coves and the Natural Park Mondrago a short drive away. Culturally, the center of Cala D'Or is dominated by its harbor - in addition to yachts and charter boats moored here often fishing boats that supply the numerous restaurants with fresh fish. The modern hotel has 91 rooms, spread over a main building and three annexes, each with two floors. So that you feel your stay as pleasant as possible, the 4.5-star hotel offers the following facilities: • Lobby with 24-hour reception • Lifts • Lounge • Wi-Fi • Buffet Restaurant • A-la-carte restaurant on the roof terrace with views • Sky Lounge • Lounge terrace • Laundry Around the Adults-only hotel extends a well-kept garden with swimming pool, spacious sun terrace and a poolside bar. Sun beds and umbrellas are available free of charge for you. The decoration in both buffet and a la carte restaurant is elegant and conveys a relaxed, casual atmosphere. The chefs will serve you according to the Board the morning and evening buffets with a selection of international dishes and local specialties. A good wine or a cocktail on the beautiful roof terrace complete the offer. In the beautiful sky lounge you can end your perfect vacation in peace with a cool drink or meet with friends at the lounge terrace. In addition, the Sunprime Monsuau offers three times a week evening entertainment and shows. Keep yourself fit in the modern gym and visit one of the aerobics classes (both included). For those guests wishing to explore the fascinating surroundings, the Sunprime Monsuau offers a bicycle rental fee. In the small spa area you can relax in the hot tub or unwind with a relaxing massage or beauty treatment. All rooms and suites at the Sunprime Monsuau are decorated in bright colors and wooden elements. To help you find the perfect accommodation for you, you can choose when booking the following room types: • Double room • Superior Room • Superior Studios The rooms and suites are all equipped with: • Ironing • Air Conditioning • Safety deposit box • Wi-Fi • Flat screen cable TV • Phone • Shower • Toilets • Hair Dryer • Balcony • Terrace The superior rooms are more spacious and offer a high quality equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunprime Monsuau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarix Hotel Cala d Or
Sunprime Monsuau Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing