We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice, very relaxing - very good actually!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
69 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,609 helpful votes
“Very nice, very relaxing - very good actually!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

We selected Melia Cala D'or in a hurry after getting some extra days off from work, and therefore we did not do a lot of research on either the hotel or Cala D'or. However; we were not dissipointed at all!

Melia Cala D'or is a small hotel with an intimate atmosphere. In my opinion it is a very nice building complex with an interesting design. It is actually built around some of the pine trees. A nice touch!

The pool area is beautiful, and surrounded by the well kept garden. However, the lighting in the evening is out of thouch - way too sharp! The ambiance would be better with fewer lamps on. Just a suggestion:).

Our room - 323 - was perfectly situated with views over the garden and the pool. It had a big and very nice balcony with stylish chairs and a small table. The room itself was more than big enough. It seemed almost new - like the rest of the hotel - and it was well cleaned every day.

The hotel has internet, but remember to bring a cable if you want to use it in your room. No wifi. I worked out in the gym, which has most of what you usually need to exercice in doors. Good enough.

Breakfast was ok. I do not eat red meat, only seafood and dairy products. Therefore breakfast for me was a little boring. Not as good as I am used to from similar hotels. This is just about the only negative thing I can mention.
However; due to the poor rewievs of the hotel restaurant, we did not bother to even try it. We found our favorite restaurant a ten minute walk from the hotel; Barlovento. Do try it! Great food and a lovely staff!

Cala D'or is a charming place, apart from the "thousands" of english pubs, american steak houses and karaoke bars. My tip is to neglect them all, and visit the spanish restaurants. Take a walk to the rocky sea shore and enjoy the scenery. Very nice! Rent a car and drive north along the coast. The traffic is easy to handle and the roads are good. Mallorca was a surprise regarding the beauty of it all.


Some have reported that it is boring at Melia Cala D'or. Well, I can tell you that there is absolutely nothing going on there; not during the day, and not during the evening. The staff is present, but not over your shoulders at all times. To me, this is perfect!
I work a lot and travel all over the world on business. When I have a week off, I want to be left alone with my girlfriend with the opportunity to be spoiled if I want to. I do not need a pool boy to ask me ten times an hour if I want a drink or not. And I absolutely do not need Macarena-karaoke outside of my room every evening. It do not blame you if you prefer the opposite of me, but in that case you will not be happy with your stay at Melia Cala D'or.

At Melia Cala D'or you will find tranquillity in beautiful surroundings, and all in all we are very happy with our stay. We were treated very good by the smiling staff, and we hope to return in a not do distant future!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Imedvindfranord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    99
    31
    9
    6
See reviews for
137
263
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

A wonderful hotel with very friendly and pleasant staff who went out of their way to make our stay very enjoyable. The location is excellent, just a short walk to the beach and the centre of Cala D'or where there is very good shopping to be had. The hotel was both very quiet and spotlessly clean, the only down side was the air conditioning in the bedrooms, which could have been more efficient. This small complaint was expressed with the hotel direct so hopefully they will address this, but please don't let this put anyone off visiting this hotel as all in all a superb place to stay. We would definately return here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkMarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

Just back from a week at this hotel and it was excellent. Stayed in a junior suite with a 2year old and 10 month old and it was great. The room was spacious with a kitchen which was ideal for us. The staff were brilliant and couldn't do enough for us. The food was superb and again the staff were excellent. I would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
91 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

Stayed there the first day theopened for the season, 3 nights in room 321, which is a junior suite on the top floor. Balcony was very large, could hold 50 people. This as a larger junior suite, as it also has a hallway between sleeping room and main room.
We were first shown room 303, but this room was not on the sunny side, and got the very nice 321 in stead.
We had read the previous reports on this hotel, and made breakfast ourselves and ate at the balcony, which was much nicer than going to the restaurant.
The hotel was very fine, and the personell was the very best.
There is a gate in the garden, and from there you can reach the town center in 5 minutes. Walk to the left and by the crossing use the walkway into the center. Spar grocery shop also very close.
Turndown service in the evening. Received a handwritten note from the manager wishing us a happy stay. Parked the car in the front of the hotel for free.
Tried out all 3 restaurant a prevous guest had got recommended, Barlovento and Ca'n Trompé were both very good, but do not understand how Vicente can be ranked number 3 in the Tripadvisor retaurant list for this town. The number one on the list, turned out to be more like a cafe, serving indian food, - not recommended if you want a stylish good restaurant. Cala d'or is a fine place, all houses painted white, and low rise. Beaches kind of small bays. It is approx. 65 km from the Palma airport. One day we drove to many nice inland villages and up to Can Picafort, you can do that in just over 1 hour.
This is a hotel I might consider to go back to.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

My wife and small child stayed in Spetember, the pool and gardens were nice to look at but no staff or waiters in the bar area for much of the time. We only tried to eat in the restaurant on one occasion but after waiting 1 hour and 40 minutes for our main course to arrive we gave up and left, most of the other unfortunate diners were also complaining about the wait and food quality (bloody chicken seemd a local speciality). Having said that about dinner we couldn't fault the breakfasts and the staff were as friendly and helpful as they could be.

The Sauna/Steam room was unclean and temperature was variable and the only public space in the evening was a lifeless bar with no staff again in attendance.

We had requested a double bed but in the event our Junior suite had 2 singles and the double room offered to us was on teh ground floor which smelled damp and was very dark.
The main problem with the hotel seemed to be a lack of staff.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panda20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for a week, half board, in September 2009. The hotel is situated in a pleasant garden in within walking distance to the centre of the town and about two hundred metres from the nearest beach. We had a delightful room with a patio facing the garden. It has wonderful facilities and the staff except the evening chefs were excellent. It is very sad but the the weakest feature in this hotel was the evening meal. The breakfast is excellent but the evening fare is below standard. Our first night was a farce and we expected Basil Fawlty to walk in at any moment. The evening began with my wife being put ceremonly to sit in a chair that was soaking wet! She was also served a chiken that was so undercooked that blood was running in the meat. As the evening progressed others sent food back. The sweets were all frozen. We were served quite promptly but some had to wait an hour for their first course. This was the first time I have been in a restaurant when everyone, yes EVERYONE complained. Some people were very angry indeed! The quality of the food was at best unsatisfactory and at worst downright dangerous! Peop;e wer shouting at the waiters and others were storming out. I would recommend bed and breakfast only.


.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2009

We stayed here having been to Cala d'or many years ago when we stayed right by the marina. This is a more central location close to restaurants and bars but not too noisy. The hotel is excellent with staff who cannot do enough for you - we e-mailed on in advance for an early check in - Luis e-mailed us back to say it would be fine and was there to meet us when we arrived. If you want a small hotel focussed on your needs its great. We had a junior suite - one of the best rooms we've had for some time - with well equipped kitchen, loads of storage and the most spacious terrace ever. Breakfast was great with freshly cooked bacon and eggs and a huge buffet with lots of choice. Excellent gardens and pool although there were lots of children there when we stayed and it wasn't exactly relaxing by the pool - for some peace you needed to move beyond the pool area. Lots of little touches made this a great stay - tea and biscuits in the afternoon, fruit all around the hotel, bikes to hire and a friendly smile from the staff at the small reception. The gym is superbly well-equipped and underused with two saunas and a jacuzzi above. There are dozens of restaurants and bars within 10 minutes walk and you're a few minutes from Cala Gran if you want the beach. All in all a wonderfully relaxing break in a hotel we'd definitely return to.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ros07England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda - Adults Only
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#19 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
#9 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
#3 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel

Property: Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
Address: Portinatx 16-18, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Melia Cala D'Or)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cala d'Or
#1 Green Hotel in Cala d'Or
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#8 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Cala D’Or Boutique Hotel is located in a beautiful Mediterranean garden, just 200metres from Cala Gran and 250meters from the city center Cala D'Or, offering the most relaxed and peaceful environment. The rooms decorated in the typical Majorcan style, surrounded by gardens. Fully-equipped bathrooms with hydromassage-tub. Discover superb fine dining at our hotel, serving a wide range of daily menus. Enjoy our Pool with hydromassage and children´s pool with playground area. Experience the SPA with fitness center, sauna, steam bath an on request massages. Como to visit us... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cala d`Or Hotel Cala d`Or
Cala d Or Melia
Melia Cala D'Or Boutique Hotel Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing