We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many good points but not next to the sea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Many good points but not next to the sea”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Melia Cala D’Or Hotel is a lovely hotel with superb gardens but in an unfortunate location if you want to use the beaches which are reached by walking for 10 or 15 minutes through tourist bar and restaurant areas. A shuttle bus to the various beaches would have been an asset. The hotel rooms are good with some ground floor bedroom terraces opening onto lawns close to the main pool. All the staff were polite and efficient but it would have been nice to have had a chance to meet the General Manager or the Guest Experience Manager at some point in our stay - perhaps at a small reception. There was minimal piano or other entertainment and so little incentive to stay in the hotel for dinner. Indeed, our only negative experience was dinner by the pool one evening when the Cuban Band did not turn up, the food was a very long time arriving and one of the dishes was well below standard. So, enjoy the gardens, the breakfasts and the pools but beware of expensive evening meals.

Room Tip: Ground floor with terrace near to the main pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b_rbarameli_cdm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Peter R,

Thank you very much for your last visit in our hotel and for the comments you wrote on this web site, which are very useful for other future guests. We will take note of your comments and for sure, we will take them very much into consideration for further improvements, because our main aim is the total guest's satisfaction.
We all hope to be able to welcome you in the future.
Our best wishes,
Bàrbara Mora
GEX Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    109
    35
    9
    7
See reviews for
153
291
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
432 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is an attractive oasis close to the busy streets of Cala D'Or. We loved it last year and went back. It does have more families at this time of year but the hotel is small so that's fine. We were welcomed by the very pleasant and efficient reception staff' Esperanza suggested a change of room to our advantage from the second night and we were impressed she thought of that. Most of the staff are very pleasant. Breakfast is good although if you are there for a week or more it changes little. Room cleaning is excellent, The turn down service in the evening should be later; it tends to arrive when you are dressing for the evening. The pool area is well tended as are the gardens and there are places to sit away from the pool. The only surprise is that the back gate has no security so non-guests use it as a cut through which is insecure for guests and their belongings. It should have a security lock opened perhaps by a room card. This hotel is a really first rate place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask to overlook ther gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaoHaddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Well..I have to say I think I made a mistake taking the family back to the Melia Sol Cala D'or. We last visited in 2008 with a 5 year old and one on the way and I clearly remember the hotel as being one of the best I'd been to. Jump ahead to August 2013 and we arrived in the hire car all pleased with ourselves that we hadn't got lost on the journey from the airport. We pulled up outside and the wife came out with "It's still got the same front door" .. she regularly comes out with random cr@p but I have to say that I do love that front door and it did get quite excited myself to see it! It kind of went a bit down hill from then on but I'm not too sure why.The staff were polite, the breakfast was nice, the room was spacious and clean, the pool had a lifeguard there all the time and the location was great ... but it's not how I remembered it. It was a bit dull, over-priced, too quiet and certainly not a 5 star. Our boys are now 9 and 5 and entertain each other pretty well but if we hadn't got the hire car, I think we may all have all gone around the twist with boredom! We stayed for 5 days and that was certainly enough. Maybe we've just drifted apart but we still love your front door!

Room Tip: We had first floor exec room with a large balcony over looking the pool. I would say it was the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarkSimpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b_rbarameli_cdm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Mark S,

Thanks for leaving your comments about our hotel after your holiday here, at the Meliá Cala d'Or.
We feel dissapointed to hear that our hotel has not been entertaining for you and your family. It is true that our hotel is popular for its relaxing and peaceful environment but of course, depending on the season, we have more children so that other little guests can play with.

We thank you agaibn for your comments and we hope to be able to welcome you again, if you decide to come back.
Many thanks and best wishes,
Bárbara
GEX Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
2 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, not quite 5 star but the service was very good , which made up for it !
Only complaint was that we had a very small balcony at the back of the hotel room 414, however didn't hear any noise from cala dor town at all. All in all a enjoyable stay and the food was lovely and staff were great.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 812clare812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b_rbarameli_cdm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear 812clare812,

Thank you very much your letting us know your holiday experience at the Meliá Cala d'Or hotel.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your holiday however, you were not quite happy with the room you were accomodated. Let me inform you that depending on the occupancy, not always is possible to please all our guests likings although we try to do all our best.
We all hope to be able to welcome you again in our hotel and if again, you decide to come back, just tell us what your preferences are, I am sure we will do all our best for this to be possible.
Best wishes,
Bàrbara
GEX Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

This small(49 rooms) hotel justifies its reputation in every way. Staff are helpful and polite in all areas, reception, maids, dining room etc. It is quiet and located inland about half a mile from the nearest cove, so no sea views! Dinner is waiter service. A small but nicely furnished dining room with a menu to cover most tastes. 4 fish dishes every evening for example.

Cala D'or itself is a man made and well used resort. The marina is worth a visit. The acid test for any hotel is would you return, yes we would without doubt.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandadDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b_rbarameli_cdm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear GrandadDavid,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel to spend your last holidays. We are very happy to read your nice comments on this website and to see that we exceed your expectations.
We sincerely hope to receive you very soon and we all remain at your entire disposal for anything you may need.
Best wishes,
Bàrbara
GEX Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This must be the sixth year on the run that we have stayed here. It's so good that we keep coming back. This is a superb small hotel: It has wonderful staff, excellent food, luxurious rooms, and lovely pool area and gardens. It manages to cater equally well for both older couples and young families. This year it was just my wife and I, but in the past we have come with our children and grandchildren.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raecom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b_rbarameli_cdm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear raecom,

It is really pleasant for us to know that you keep returning at our hotel for such a long time and we are glad to know taht again you did enjoy your holiday with us.
We all hope to be able to welcome you again next year and we all remain at your disposal if you may need it.
Kindest regards,
Bàrbara
GEX Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were first time visitors to Mallorca, but we know mainland Spain inside out. This hotel is superb, characterised by exceptionally friendly service, a calm and peaceful feel to the shared spaces and rooms and a good restaurant. We stayed for 9 nights at the height of the season but found it easy to relax, often having the lounge bar to ourselves and never any overcrowding at breakfast etc. Most rooms are junior suites. Ours was of a high standard, though the air-con was tricky to operate and the fridge needed replacing. The smiling staff will live long in the memory.

We loved Mallorca, but the town of Cala D'Or will be an absolute shocker for anyone wanting to avoid the worst of costa-culture... English bars, karaoke, live Lady Gaga tribute acts. Even the much lauded marina area was decidedly patchy in quality and a rip-off if you're looking for genuinely fresh seafood. The main beach (Gran Cala) is mostly occupied by the Brits and is overcrowded. We had more luck at Cala Esmeralda and Cala Serena (a 15-20 minute walk from the hotel) but on one day these beaches were so awash with rubbish (on the sand and on the water surface) that we turned back and never went again.

So, we hired a car and used this hotel as a base from which to explore the fantastic ports and beaches that the rest of the island has to offer. Highlights were Colonia de Sant Jordi (not a geordie in sight...), Es Trenc, Porto Colom, Port de Pollenca and the long beach at Can Picafort. We also stayed in the north of the island, but I'll save that for a different review.

In summary... yes, go to this hotel but you need a car to escape the dreadful Cala D'Or.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 502DavidJ502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b_rbarameli_cdm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear 502DavidJ502,

Thank you very much for letting other trip advisor visitors know about your holiday experience at the Meliá Cala d'Or Hotel.
We are very happy to hear that you had a very pleasant stay with us and we will take your comments very much into consideration for our further improvements.
We all hope to welcome you again here ver soon.
Best wishes,
Bârbara
GEX Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala d'Or
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#2 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,067 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#22 of 46 in Cala d'Or
375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
923 reviews
34.8 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#15 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel

Property: Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
Address: Portinatx 16-18, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Melia Cala D'Or)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cala d'Or
#1 Spa Hotel in Cala d'Or
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#8 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Cala D’Or Boutique Hotel is located in a beautiful Mediterranean garden, just 200metres from Cala Gran and 250meters from the city center Cala D'Or, offering the most relaxed and peaceful environment. The rooms decorated in the typical Majorcan style, surrounded by gardens. Fully-equipped bathrooms with hydromassage-tub. Discover superb fine dining at our hotel, serving a wide range of daily menus. Enjoy our Pool with hydromassage and children´s pool with playground area. Experience the SPA with fitness center, sauna, steam bath an on request massages. Como to visit us... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Prodigios Interactivos SA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cala d`Or Hotel Cala d`Or
Cala d Or Melia
Melia Cala D'Or Boutique Hotel Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing