We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in early October with the sole purpose of relaxing.

Even on arrival it was apparent that the Melia is well above the norm for holiday hotels. Our first impression was of the beautifuuly restored front door leading into a cool and stylish reception characterised by highly polished dark wood. The receptionist was elegantly attired, well groomed and very welcoming.
We stayed on the second floor of the main building and the room was quite large, well furnished with a roomy bathroom (well stocked with toiletries, fluffy white towels and emergency dental and shaving kits) and a spacious balcony with attractive seating which was cool in the morning with full sun later in the day.
The hotel consists of several buildings surrounding the main outdoor pool with immaculate gardens.and in a quiet part of the town. Neither of us found the town appealing mainly because of the presence of a number of bars designed to attract people who want British beer and egg and chips and the associated noisy televisions showing football. However the marina area (about 15 minutes walk) is notably more attractive and for walkers there are plenty of options away from the main tourist area.
The reason for naming this hotel as outstanding rests on two key factors and they are the Melia's management attention to detail together with the exceptional standards of service from ALL staff working there.
It's not a cheap hotel by any means but the facilties available such as the free and easy to use safe, the bathrobes and slippers etc. all serve to offer good value for money. The choice of high quality furnishings and equipment illustrate the attention to detail down to and including a really sylish kettle and led me to believe that the Melia take customer feedback seriously..
The staff at the hotel were always polite, cheerful and endlessly helpful regardless of their role but were never obtrusive.
Restaurants in Cala D'Or are less than outstanding although we dined out on a few occasions and even the recoomended Acuarius at the marina was merely adequate. The hotel restaurant however was extremely good with high quality cuisine and excellent service. It was more expensive than the restaurants in town but again better value for money (and I particularly enjoyed a black spaghetti with seafood starter.)
On the day of our return we had to leave by 07.30 to catch our flight home. which was awkward since the restaurant doesn't open that early. Many hotels resolve that issue by sending up a tray of stale croissants with some coffee but at the Melia they opened the restaurant before 07.00 so that we were able to have a full breakfast which was gratifying.
Even good class hotels sometimes fail in small ways to thoroughly please the customer but our stay here was a delight without even the smallest cause for complaint.
We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to friends and to discerning strangers.

Room Tip: If you enjoy basking in the afternoon sun on your balcony try to get a room on the secong floor of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cnpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 579 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed in a double room for a week in early September 2012. Our son and daughter came with their families for a long weekend; both had suites. The hotel is fantastic: quiet, nice rooms, excelllent food, friendly and efficient staff (especially the receptionist, Arabela). The only (minor) complaints we had were:
- suite value: our double room was much nicer than the suites our children had - the extra cost of a suite doesn't seem worthwhile unless you really need the space or the kitchen facilities
- restaurant capacity: we had only booked bed & breakfast but (see below) ended up dining in the hotel 5 nights out of 7. The food (and Majorcan wine) were excellent but it was always difficult to get a table. The hotel sensibly limits itself to the number of covers that the chef can deal with, but this clearly is not enough and we more-or-less had to beg. This worked most nights, but there was one night that we could not get a table in the restaurant and had to use room service.
- transport to the hotel: to get there, we took advantage of a free transport offer that we found on the hotel website. This was hard to access (the links did not work) and we ended up having to call to make the booking. But we wished that we hadn't: the free transport was by bus which served other hotels too. The driver couldn't or wouldn't tell us when the bus would leave (we had to wait 30 minutes) and the Melai was the last stop, so the journey took an hour and three quarters. We used a taxi to go back to the airport!!

The main problem, though, was with the location. Once outside of the hotel grounds, we thought that Cala D'Or was a real dump. The cove itself is pretty - or would be if you could find a square inch of beach to sit on - and the town is well laid out and has plenty of shops and bars. Unfortunately, they are all full of the worst kind of noisy English beer swilling tourists. We tried two of the, supposedly best, restaurants: Ca'n Trompe and Acuarius but the first was jam-packed and noisy and the fish in the second was overcooked and barely edible. We were so put off that we ate (ecellently) in the hotel after that.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jlw30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b_rbarameli_cdm, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear jlw30,

Thank you very much for your trust in our hotel for your holidays and for your valuable comments published in Trip Advisor.
Hope to be able to welcome you again in the hotel.
Best regards,

Barbara Mora
E-Guest Experience manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We picked this hotel due to its Trip Advisor rating – good decision, all the glowing reviews are true.

This is the nicest hotel we have been to in a while and better than some I have paid a lot more for.
There are plenty of descriptions and pictures on the website so I won’t detail this much. It’s a very nice setting with the accommodation distributed in buildings around the central pool area with gardens around – plenty of places to “lounge” in the sun.

We had a junior suite – good size, with TV in both the bedroom and lounge, nice patio onto the gardens.
You also get a small kitchen – kettle, 2 hotplates, microwave, full fridge (doubles as minibar) and plates/cutlery and pans – no wish to cook on holiday but useful for hot drinks and if you had a baby/small child to cater for.
The suite was very clean and housekeeping was very good, room well cleaned every day and restocked. When things broke (lights) – they were fixed same day

Staff were very helpful and pleasant.

Breakfast was very high standard, fruits, sliced meats, cheeses, all sorts of bakery items, Majorcan specials, plus some hot food and chef on duty to cook whatever else. Bottles of Cava and a red wine – if that’s what you need at breakfast.
Restaurant area nicely light and airy, overlooking the gardens.
We ate out 50% of the time, but never found a better restaurant than the hotel in either town or the marina area. Biggest problem was getting a booking in the restaurant – best to book several days ahead if you are on B&B as half board guests almost fill it each night. Cooking was to a very high standard and presentation was really great.

The hotel is small enough that you could get a sun lounger later in the day, perhaps by the pool or if not in the gardens.

There was a gym (never used one yet) and a sauna.

Cala D’Or itself is a moderately busy tourist resort and fortunately the hotel is just out of the centre, but only 5-10mins walk away if you want to buy anything. There are plenty of bars, restaurants in the town, but the nicer area is the marina with more restaurants which is a 5euro taxi fare from hotel or 15-20min walk. The best restaurant was in the hotel, but otherwise the Yacht Club was next best we found.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeoCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b_rbarameli_cdm, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear GeoCritic,

Thank you very much for your comments on Tryp Advisor, and for your trust in our hotel for your holidays.We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you in the future.

Kindest regards.

Bárbara Mora
E-Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We have just come back from the Melia in Majorca and i doubt there is a better hotel on the island . This hotel only has 42 rooms which helps to explain how they achieve the unique friendly atmosphere there. The staff are always ready to help with a smile and a genuine wish to make your holiday a good experience . I have a gluten free diet so we decided to go half-board to make controlling what i eat easier what a brilliant choice !! I doubt you will eat better at any of the other hotels in Majorca and the breakfast choice is superb add to this the intimate cosy restaurant with the excellent staff and you will never want to eat anywhere else ! To sum up if you go to Majorca for your holiday stay at the Melia !!!

Room Tip: if possible try to get a room on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dennis w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b_rbarameli_cdm, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Dear dennis w,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your comments on trip advisor web site with regards to your recent holiday at the Meliá Cala d'or Hotel. It is very satisfying for us to get your feed back and even better to know that we full filled your expectations as our main aim is to ensure your holiday satisfaction.

We do appreciate your time taken and we all look forward to greeting you again at the Meliá Cala d'Or Boutique.

Kind regards,

Barbara Mora
E- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Just returned on Thursday from a 4 day stay, absolutely cant fault hotel in any way, lovely room, peaceful (apart from noise at night from neighbouring bars but didnt bother me) great pool - sunbathing area & staff are the most helpful I have ever come accross. Hotel in great area, bars etc only a 2 minute walk away. Wished we had booked for longer!

Will definately be returning next year.

Room Tip: We had ground floor room next to pool which was fantatsic and got the sun in the morning/cooler late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smiddy1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b_rbarameli_cdm, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Smiddy1903,

Thank you very much for the nice comments about our hotel. We are very happy to hear that your stay was very pleasant and we sincerely hope to be able to welcome you in the future.
Once again, thanks for your trust in Meliá Hotels International and we all look forward to hearing from you very soon.
Kindest regards,
Bárbara Mora
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I have just returned following a 7 night break with my best friend, we were looking for a chilled experience in a nice hotel. This hotel did not disappoint it's a lovely boutique hotel with nice rooms and nice and professional staff. Modern bathrooms and the decor of the room was pleasant. Only thing that may put some people off is the unit to turn on lights, aircon etc. I loved it but if you are a technophobe you may get fed up with it..

I would suggest going B&B and not Halfboard, so it not due to the resturant food in the hotel as this is lovely but there are so many restaurants around the hotel you may as well take a short walk out...

I cannot fault this hotel and would recommend to any of my family, friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Travelling_Jo_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b_rbarameli_cdm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear Travelling_jo_30,

Thank you so much for your comments on this page.
We feel happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we sincerely hope to see you in the future if you plan to come back again.
Many thanks for choosing the Meliá Cala d'Or boutique hotel for your holidays.
Best wishes,
Bárbara
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel has a well deserved reputation. We booked two double rooms. One was upgraded to a junior suite on arrival. The hotel comprises mostly junior suites. Both rooms were well appointed and were kept clean and restocked including new pool towels very day. At night the rooms were dark, quiet and cool.

The hotel lived up to its previous write-ups; good facilities, great food and outstanding service throughout. For dinner we tried a number of recommended local restaurants. None compared to the excellent food and service of Melia Cala D'Or which was simply outstanding.

Our 16 & 18 year old girls enjoyed easy access to the beaches, shops and local bars / restaurants. However they noted that they would not use this hotel for a girlie holiday. Good !! Another reason to recommend the Melia Cala D'Or. We will return.«

Room Tip: I doubt that Melia Cala D'Or has a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IGM2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala d'Or
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,652 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#2 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.4 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#5 of 38 in Palmanova
1,366 reviews
41 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
889 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel

Address: Portinatx 16-18, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Melia Cala D'Or)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cala d'Or
#2 Spa Hotel in Cala d'Or
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#8 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range: $131 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Cala D’Or Boutique Hotel is located in a beautiful Mediterranean garden, just 200metres from Cala Gran and 250meters from the city center Cala D'Or, offering the most relaxed and peaceful environment. The rooms decorated in the typical Majorcan style, surrounded by gardens. Fully-equipped bathrooms with hydromassage-tub. Discover superb fine dining at our hotel, serving a wide range of daily menus. Enjoy our Pool with hydromassage and children´s pool with playground area. Experience the SPA with fitness center, sauna, steam bath an on request massages. Como to visit us... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cala d`Or Hotel Cala d`Or
Cala d Or Melia
Melia Cala D'Or Boutique Hotel Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing