We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely fab”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 11, 2011

just returned last nite after 4 fabulous days in melia hotel, attention to detail is second to none, loved everymin of the holiday, very helpful at reception, room available at 12.30, suite was huge, room 403, really nice and quiet as i had requested, cava on arrival as celebrating 10th anniversary, very close to beach and town centre, 15 to 20 min walk to marina, lovely pool area but loungers also scattered around gardens, pool towels supplied to everyone, turn down service nightly, fab place, keep up d good work

Room Tip: all fab i would think, book a suite if possile, book room only as so many restaurants within proximi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank germul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 569 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2011

We have just returned from a 9 day stay at the Melia Cala Dor ( 2 x age34, 2yr old & a 5 year old). This hotel certainly should not be sold as family orientated and without doubt should be ADULTS ONLY. The hotel is very small and quiet, not ideal if you have children of any age with you. Facilities are very limited indeed. Kids play area is poor and dangerous. Kids pool is TINY and doesn’t get sun at any point during the day. Breakfast was just acceptable in variety and quality. Limited choice, tinned fruit, cold tea & coffee, I could go on. The staff were stressed and over worked (not enough staff) and struggled to clear tables for waiting guests. The griddle and egg chef was also responsible for topping up breakfast buffet and struggled to cope. The tension was obvious for all to see. I don’t blame the staff, they tried their best. The management are at fault for not providing an adequate level of staff for the amount of guests. Service at the pool bar was patchy. Prices as one would expect. Pool was ‘refreshing’! After speaking with other guests, we chose not to eat in the restaurant in the evening due to bad reports and due to the fact that it was totally unsuitable for children. I understand that the food was poor overall and not worthy of being in the Michelin guide. There are plenty of nice places to eat in town and by the marina. Rooms are comfortable but nothing special. Shower is in the bath, even in a suite. An elderly lady we spoke to struggled to get in and out of the bath to have a shower. Surely 5 star establishments these days have a separate shower. This hotel may be ‘boutique’ but that certainly doesn’t mean 5 star! This doesn’t come close to a 5 star hotel. After reading the super reviews of the Melia Cala Dor on trip advisor, we booked this holiday. I guess it's all about expectations and previous experiences. There are so many hotels that knock the spots off this place in every way, real 5 star hotels and resorts that represent FAR better value for money. Would we return to Cala Dor, yes, but certainly not to this hotel. DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU HAVE CHILDREN. We have booked for next year but will stay at the Blau Hotel in Puerto Petro, which is actually a 5 Star establishment, rather than pretending to be.

Just I final observation, I have never stayed in '5 Star' hotel that watch while you struggle to your airport taxi with 2 kids, a pushchair, 4 cases, hand luggage etc. It was the same when we arrived, no one to greet you or assist in any way. I made 4 trips back and forth from road side to reception with cases and bags. The receptionist was eating her lunch and saw us through the glass divide and eventually came over to check us in-nice!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank hugecarrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed at this hotel last week and had a very relaxing time. The hotel is a little oasis in what is a rather tacky resort. The hotel is spotless and the staff are frienly,efficient and very professional in their customer care and service skills. It's well worth the upgrade to a junior suite as this gives you more flexibility around eating in with a well equiped kitchen. The little things like preparing the room for the guest before they retire for the evening,the free internet, the nibbles and olives with your drinks are all very nice. However the hotel would be much better if it decided to be adults only. Having been there when the schools had returned from their summer holiday meant that there were only little children as guests. I wouldn't like to see it mid summer around what is a restricted pool area. The hotel attracts the more mature adult for a relaxing holiday who really don't want to be annoyed with noisey children.

Room Tip: Junior suite 112 at the top of the stairs had the sun on the balcony from 4pm until dusk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BarabusBangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Nice welcome on arrival shown to Junior suite by receptionist great room with lounge and bedroom. Breakfast was very predictable each morning with tinned peaches and pears as part of the fruit selection, but otherwise good. Staff were excellent in every way. Big objection was that a good percentage of the guests were of retirement age and above and the rest were families with children under 5 which is not the best of mixes Close to the hotel is a singing bar which does not close till midnight just a small distraction but forget and early night

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scrumhalfRedditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

we have just returned from a second stay at this lovely spot. The staff could not be nicer, we had booked on the internet and forgotton to include breakfast in the deal. When we arrived the receptionist offered us a deal of 15 euros per day fro the two of us to have breakfast. We were shown to a super room - very big and well cared for. On our second day we returned to the room to find a bottle of fizz chilling with a large fruit platter which we were told was given to returning guests! The breakfasts are excellent but we didnt eat in the hotel in the evenings as we like to try a differnt place each evening. The pool is super and we had marvellous weather an spent time on a beach nearby which was recommended to us by a receptionist at the hotel on our last visit. We will definitely return and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendy010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We arrived at the Melia having booked a standard room to be told that they had kindly upgraded us to a junior suit - we were shown to our room and were very impressed, there was a massive bathroom with wetroom, separate toilet/bidet internal room, bath with jacuzzi/additional shower and impressive sink set into a marbletop.Te bedroom was very well equiped with a huge double bed and flat screen TV, the main room also had a flatscreen with a table and chairs, sofa and armchair. There was also a well equiped kitchen - all opening out onto a huge balcony with chairs, sunbeds, tables and footrests.
Staff were superb and the chef offered great food in the cafe (the food in the poolside cafe is slighly pricier then elsewhere but you do get what you pay for) and breakfast room (you must try the omlette with 'everything') - we never got round to trying and evening meal in the hotel but imagine it to be excellent.
The hotel is positioned very centrally to the main Cala'Dor resort but the marina is around 15/20 minutes walk - you need to get there to ensure decent food in the evening. The 2 best places were Noa (tried it twice and were very impressed and got to know the owner who was great guy) and S'ancora which is last on the 1st stretch, we tried it on the last night and were highly impressed with the food and service. All the other places are a little 'samie' but are ok.
All together we thought the hotel was very very good and seemed to have thought of everything to help you have a great holiday but resort was a little 'tacky' (which other people have mentioned) but had 7 great beaches within 10/15 minutes walk.
Little hint - if you want to try affordable, superb mediterranian style food in really authentic surroundings hire a car and take a drive up the coast to Son Severa (near Cala Bona) and visit Pepperancine (spelt wrong) ,it is fantastic!

Room Tip: If you want a sunny balcony (which we didn't) you need to ask for east side of hotel. We had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Enate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Once again the hotel was spot on after our 5th stay cant wait for the next.

Tony Pudsey

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala d'Or
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#2 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.9 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#5 of 181 in Calvia
1,002 reviews
34.8 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#13 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,713 reviews
41.0 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel

Address: Portinatx 16-18, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Melia Cala D'Or)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cala d'Or
#2 Spa Hotel in Cala d'Or
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#8 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range: $108 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Cala D’Or Boutique Hotel is located in a beautiful Mediterranean garden, just 200metres from Cala Gran and 250meters from the city center Cala D'Or, offering the most relaxed and peaceful environment. The rooms decorated in the typical Majorcan style, surrounded by gardens. Fully-equipped bathrooms with hydromassage-tub. Discover superb fine dining at our hotel, serving a wide range of daily menus. Enjoy our Pool with hydromassage and children´s pool with playground area. Experience the SPA with fitness center, sauna, steam bath an on request massages. Como to visit us... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cala d`Or Hotel Cala d`Or
Cala d Or Melia
Melia Cala D'Or Boutique Hotel Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing