We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money but felt like a theme park ride”
Review of The Taste of Texas

The Taste of Texas
Ranked #59 of 160 Restaurants in Cala d'Or
Price range: $13 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The best steakhouse in the town, unlimited spare ribs,steaks,burrito´s very big portions and a internationale staff...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value for money but felt like a theme park ride”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I had BBQ ribs - they were very nice. Overall the food was good value - biggest portions we'd had in Cala D'Or.

Service was a bit rushed, once we'd got our food we felt forgotten. Tables were quite small and they'd packed a lot of tables in. The heavy TexMex theme of the restaurant and rushed service made it feel like we were eating in a theme park but we picked the restaurant as I wanted the ribs and I wasn't disappointed.

So in summary, family freindly, international food, reasonable value for money holiday restaurant but not one you'll remember in years to come. The ribs were nice though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flyinsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    100
    46
    33
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pack them in and get them out restaurant”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Pack them in and get them out restaurant. That's definitely the feeling it gives. I'm a big meat eater so it the attraction of eating a good steak was a great prospect. We had a starter then before we had finished it our main course arrived. My wife ordered garlic prawns, which were inedible. I chose the unlimited ribs (6 portions) so I can't say that I didn't get value for money. Later in the holiday I said to my wife that I would like a big steak, so reluctantly she agreed to go back. Big mistake! the steak was very rare and I ordered medium, it was tough and sinewy. I asked if they had mustard "oh yes" they said, then brought me burger mustard. My wife ordered a burger this time, she ate part of one and gave the other to me. Terrible hard compressed burger (direct from the freezer I would say).

Not a restaurant more of production line.

This is definitely a place to avoid (I can't believe I gave it second chance).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AERLJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“RIBS and other great food”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have eaten in this restaurant twice the first i skipped starter and had the unlimited ribs, they were some of the best ribs i have eaten the best flavour was bbq and i ended up having 8 racks of ribs. the next time i had stuff jalapenos which were delicious but not as spicy as you may think and the the chili burger for mains which was huge and delicious :D

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Conorhickey0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Town”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We visited Taste of Texas after viewing the menu and speaking to the waiter outside. He had recommended the specials for the day.
We opted for the Mixed Grill special. The waiting staff were attentive and made sure that they got your order perfect for you. The Portions of our meals were large, and the meats were all cooked perfectly. The sides dishes were excellent and complemented the main dish. The cost of the meals were very competitive. Overall it was the best meal we had on our Holiday in Cala d'Or

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy0486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The best fillet steak I have ever had”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I only ate here once as we were on half board! But what a meal it was!

We both had surf and turf, fillet steak the size of a big fist, 3 king prawns, fries, corn on the cob, tomato with cheese, 1/4 lemon.

It was the best fillet steak I have ever had, and I have eaten fillet steak in many different places. Cooked to perfection, and succulent!

The main waiter was fab, friendly, and not over powering as some can be there!

Waitresses were pleasant and always had a smile.

And only €22.50 each!!!

If your there, eat there!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Taste of Texas also viewed

 
Cala d'Or, Majorca
 
Cala d'Or, Majorca
 

Been to The Taste of Texas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing