We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, fab location. Wonderful holiday.”
Review of Dor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dor
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great value, fab location. Wonderful holiday.”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

A lovely small hotel. Basic but spotlessly clean. 5 mins from everything. Turn left or right and you're right near the many restaurants and bars in the main square. Across the road onto the marina. The hotel itself is b&b so no kettle or fridge if you're room only, but a spa right across from the hotel means you can pop for a cold water or fruit juice in less than 2 mins.

The rooms are in need of an update but they are more than adequate and very clean. For the price you just can't complain. Our motto is 'how much time do you spend in your room anyway?'! Our only niggle is that we had a ground floor room which faced a bush so no much of a view to sit out and people watch, so we hardly used our patio area. Some rooms have been refurbished with better balconies. It was a case of those that asked were moved and those that didn't stayed put. With the hotel being small enough there was a fab atmosphere among the holiday goers which was refreshing. No fights for beds (there's plenty) and the bar does happy hour from 4.30-5.30 every day. Tip is to get in line early as you can be waiting a while!

Recommend you try the champaign sangria Katie makes!

Food is 'ok' if you're desperate but you can hop out to a much nicer choice within 2 mins or grab fresh bread and snacks from the spa.

Definitely try the marina for an evening. Much more chilled and a little pricier but worth it for a treat.

Main square is also very family/couple friendly. No big groups but still plenty of choice and atmosphere.

Marfil cafe / restaurant food and cheap for breakfast and lunch. Jimmy's food for sky sports if you're into that sort of thing. Nice steaks at the steak house and Bon Bini (think that was the name!!) does lovely Italian food. We tried pizza, pasta and salads all delicious.

All in all the hotel and cala d'or itself was fantastic and we would definitely look to book again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShirinK67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    55
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
10
71
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ahoghill, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a wee gem of a hotel rated at 2 stars its definitely punching above its weight,the staff are great and friendly,the room was clean fresh towels everyday(except tue),breakfast was really good with bacon n eggs every day also had cold meats,cheeses fresh fruit,juice,coffee etc.Location must be its biggest seller only minutes from town centre shops, marina and beaches.Would def go back and look forward to doing so.

Room Tip: Not sure which are good and if any are bad,we were in room 37 on the ground floor just meters from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham,essex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed here with my husband 11th September 2013 for 9 nights half board, staff very nice,clean room,change of towels daily apart from Thursday, we hired a fridge for 56 euros for the stay a bit expensive i thought, safe was 21euros ,breakfast was above average, evening meal we went to Don leone restaurant which belongs to Dor hotel food was amazing,small pool but very clean,plenty of sun beds.
for a 2 star hotel it was very good.
Joanne ,Robert from essex

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne72013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

i should have paid more to the other reviews about how abd this place really is , if you are claustophobicd the room is no good , they are ideal ofr one perosn only as there in no room. the shower did not work properly and kept going to cold on its own we had to buy a plug for the bathroom sink even though we had asked twice for 1.hired a fridge for the week which was full of rust on top and had to lay a towel over it, i read a review thta the staff at receoption were rude and i thought no it cannot be true , but yes rude , ill mannered and completely ignore you even more so. when you are trying to hand the key in to check out, do not keep anything in the fridge except pop and orange juice as whn you take the key t o lock up everything goes off. the photos from others which show damage are all true.if you are on the ground floor yuo can hear every time the tiolets are flushed upstairs or if the showers are on.the only good thing it has a good location so its easy enought to escape

Room Tip: if you want to realy go hee , ask for a room either on the second floor or away from the nightcl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port d'Alcudia, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We live here on the Island Of Mallorca and I used to work in Cala d´or and wanted to revisit .
We stayed just for 2 nights in June and booked with travel republic got the rooms for 20.00Euros Per person per night, which I thought was a good price.
When we arrived staff were very pleasant, and our room was on top floor only 2 floors in hotel,
room was very clean and bathroom nice, best thing was the balcony which was a large open terrace with chairs and sun loungers, really nice touch.
Breakfast was included in price of hotel, the restaurant is downstairs, not a problem for us, and pleanty of choice of food.
Nice swimming pool , very relaxing and quite, just what we wanted.
Location is good, 2 minutes walk to the square with all the restaurants and bars, and only 5 minutes walk to the marina.
Overall would definatley return here, fantastic value for money,
Keep up the good work,
Luv Cala d´´or

Room Tip: Ask for top rooms , very big terrace/balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My friend and i booked a week with on the beach to stay here after i had reserached and read lots of good reviews for a cheap week in the sun,,we wanted a room each.. so booked 2. It does say single rooms are on ground floor however when we got there we were immediately asked if we wanted to move to the marina as they had a 2 bed 2 bath apartment but before we went we asked to see the rooms there.. we were shown 2 very small dingy dark smelly musty rooms opposite the night club... very dissapointing considering we paid as much as any couple had for our rooms £300 each...its a pity single travellers are discriminated in this way! So we went to look at the apartment in the marina which was in a great location however it wasn't very clean old rug on floor I was sure had things living in it.. and although the hotel provided some things for breakfast as we'd booked B & B I didn't book a self catering holiday..also we had to use the hotel pool across road which pumped out bang bang thump thump music all day!! So all in all a dissapointing holiday ( oh and we never got any room service or clean towels all week,,,, so I wouldn't recommend the Dor!! Sorry very dissappointed after the reviews on here..obviously the people that are dissatisfied dont post enough reviews!!

Room Tip: suggest you pick another place plenty of others dont go if single rooms terrible... location of Dor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank southerngal1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel was pleasant enough for a weeks stay but I personally wouldn't have been able to do any longer.
The location was fantastic for the small beaches, harbour, shops and restaurants. Everything really is within walking distance but the down side to this was the nightclub next door, I only heard music until 1am and it never kept us awake but I can imagine if you were in a room a little closer, it would.
We had a little room tucked away in the corner not far from the pool, At first I thought this was going to be the start of a bad stay, no view, no sun. In actual fact this just kept the room cool and made it a comfortable temperature throughout the day and night. There is free air con and a TV in the room but no fridge. One can be hired for €49 a week but we decided against it.
The breakfast was ok with plenty of choice and they say bar snacks are served from 10:30 am to midnight but I tried to order food and was told that the kitchen was closed between 15:30 & 17:30 so we never sampled the pool snack delights.
The drinks were cheap. A pint and a glass of wine was only €5
The downside of this hotel for me personally was, the ping pong table across the way from our room and proved to be a popular past time in the mornings and became highly annoying. The wardrobe had a damp smell to it and the pillows were narrow and lumpy. The rooms are very basic but for the price we paid we couldn't expect anything else.
With a little bit of extra attention this hotel would have been the best I had ever stayed in.
All this aside the D'or hotel is a nice place to stay for a great holiday in Cala D'or.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.1 mi away
La Ceiba
La Ceiba
#37 of 46 in Cala d'Or
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leo D'or
Hotel Leo D'or
#30 of 46 in Cala d'Or
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#22 of 46 in Cala d'Or
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ses Puntetes Hotel
Ses Puntetes Hotel
#28 of 46 in Cala d'Or
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fowlers Hotel
Fowlers Hotel
#24 of 46 in Cala d'Or
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#35 of 46 in Cala d'Or
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dor

Property: Dor
Address: Avda. Calonge, 7660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Dor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dor Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing