We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avoid garden rooms”
Review of Dor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dor
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“avoid garden rooms”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

we stayed there in May this year, hotel looked ok at first sight, we were given a garden room facing the main road and at 6.00 am you are just looking to get to sleep for a couple of hours. 7am and the noise starts, the room is on the main road to the centre and all the delivery trucks and buses drive past the edge of the hotel, then the daily street cleaning with the petrol blowers and street sweepers, then the deliveries start. the garden we shared is also the entrance gate for bringing in gas deliveries and access to underneath the hotel for the pool equipment. we asked to be moved but were told no rooms available, less than 6 hours later over 20 guests arrived and had decent rooms allocated around the pool area.The room got infested with ants, we woke in the night to find our beds were covered inside and out with them. Turned out our garden room was right at the entrance to the nest and they were everywhere,we used 2 tins of spray in a week. the room itself was tiny with wooden shutters and the most claustrophobic place we have ever stayed. the doors were not double glazed, so the traffic noise was constant, all night, it was that bad when a coach or lorry drove past, the windows actually shook in the frames, sleep was only happening through exhaustion in the end.

that was the cons...

pros are the hotel was otherwise a nice place, the food was pretty good, rooms cleaned every day, location was good, the local area has some of the best restaurants we have eaten in for a while, good beaches, nice and hot, short flight from our home.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotsdrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    55
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
10
69
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

As we checked in we were advised by the receptionist your room is that way and she ponted into the hotel complex. There were no lifts and we had to hump out cases up a large flight of stairs.
The room was clean but very basic. The air con was good and individually controlled. The pool was ggod, There was no fridge or mini bar and no kettle. We asked to borrow 2 cups and they refused. We were aware they did'nt supply a kettle so we brought our own.
We could have rented a mini fridge for 49 euros per week but we considered this far too expensive.
We had twin beds and found the mattresses very hard and difficult to sleep on.
The quality of the breakfast was very poor, for the last three mornings we went to 'oscars' in the town for breakfast.
Spa shop across the road handy, and plenty of free parking next to the shop. Only about 4 spaces in front of the hotel.
Would not use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger5252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Just returned from a week at the Hotel D'Or as part of a Thomson package deal. Cala D'Or is about 45 mins from Palma airport. The hotel is about 10 - 15 mins walk from the nearest beach and about 5 - 10 mins from the nearby main square full of restaurants, bars and shops.

The hotel is fairly small (48 rooms) consisting of four separate two storey blocks centrered around the pool area and bar/reception. The rooms seems to vary in size and layout and although some guests seemed to wish to change rooms on arrival - ours was fine. (no.407). The only slight noise we heard was from what we think was a dishwasher as our room backed onto the kitchens. Other than that, it was fine.

The rooms are small, but clean and tidy. They are cleaned every other day and you get fresh towels five out of seven days. Although aircon is free in each room there is no fridge or kettle which would have been very useful (though you do get a TV). Although as its a 2* hotel, you can't really grumble. Each room has a safe and these cost 16 Euro's a week to hire if you wish to.

All the staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is excellent - a selection of bacon, eggs, mushrooms etc, along with bread, toast, cereals and fresh fruit. Its all self service so you can help yourself to as much as you like.

CalaD'Or itself is full of restaurants but many of them tend to do the same thing - a variety of Spanish, Mediterranean and English dishes. Prices are fairly high - due to the weak £. But portions are usually generous. We ate at 'The Pirate' twice which is very good value and popular with all ages.

All in all, I'd recommend the D'Or hotel. Prices in May are very good value, though rise a lot in June, July and August. Would suit those after a quieter holiday but everything is only a short walk away. Not the closest hotel to the beach(es), but at a cost of 12.50 Euros a day for two sun loungers and a parasol on the sand, that may not be a bad thing!

The only irritation was the fact that we were collected by a Thomson rep on arrival at the airport, dropped off and never saw them again. There is no welcome meeting just a folder with a phone number and details of any excursions you might be interested in (which are all bookable locally anyway).

If you are planning to go to Cala D'Or, you may get a better deal booking the hotel direct and arranging your own flights and transfers. However, as a 'package' the Thomson price was pretty reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ademitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We've just returned from a 3 night stay. The Dor Hotel gives great value for money, the room was fairly basic but clean and roomier than some we've stayed in. The bathroom was compact but everything worked. The room was cleaned and towels changed everyday. The hotel is handy for the main shopping/ restaurant area and has a Spar supermarket directly opposite, The beach was a 10 minute stroll and the Marina again was about a 10 minute stroll away. The breakfasts were good, with plenty to choose from, cereals, fruit, fruit juice, yogurt, toast, a good hot selection and plenty of fresh fruit and excellent coffee. We really enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank PatRCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We spent a week here, booked last minute as a budget second holiday. This is a basic, clean and friendly small hotel. Staff were universally friendly and helpful when we stayed - faulty loo and leaky roof attended to immediately.

Happy hour, when folk wandered back after a meal out, was always full of interesting chat and lots of laughter, probably due to swift turnover of guests with daily arrivals/departures. Breakfast tip: take your own teabags and be aware the juice is 'squash' .

We are returning in June 2011 for our main two week holiday as it provides such good value for money and we enjoy splashing out instead on extravagant dining at one of the many local restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giraffe99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

I travelled to this hotel last June with my partner, it was our first holiday without children, so it was difficult to find somewhere that suited as we didnt really want children on this holiday (for a change!)

The hotel is small and friendly and has a nice pool, the thing we liked about this place was you felt like you were in an apartment, yet had the breakfast and the small bar. The breakfast is everything you want, my partner had a cooked breakfast where I prefer fruit, there was nothing missing, including yoghurts and pastries along with cereals, fruit juice and tea and coffee, you really could not fault it unless you were really fussy. The sun loungers were great as they had a big comfy cushion on, it was little things like that which made a difference. Also no sunbed wars......the bar was nice with sat TV and they have happy hour where it is buy one get one free!

The rooms are basic but you do get air con and you can hire a fridge which is ideal for chilling the spanish vino, you have a terace or balcony and it was nice to sit outside and just play cards or listen to music, the hotel is peaceful but due to its small size you get to know other guests, there is a mix of ages at the hotel but it would suit any couple really. The location is great, few minutes to beach and marina and also shops. We like spanish food and ther is a couple3 of great tapas restaurants round the corner from this hotel, we also like walking and found walking around the marina was lovely, you can also get on a little tourist bus around the resort which is pleasant. All in all we are going back this year, dont expect five star but if you are couple looking for a nice peaceful break you cant go wrong......good price too and in Thomsons brochure, dont book with them though it will cost you about £300 more

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GailWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway, Kent
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

The Dor Hotel is listed as two-star plus and we feel it fits that criterion as facilities were adequate. The room was cleaned to very good standard with clean towels every day except Saturdays.
The hotel is small and very friendly with a good clean pool, great air conditioning in the rooms and suitable bar facilities with "buy one , get one free" happy hours. We did not try the food from the bar area but had breakfast every day which was to a good standard with a varied choice for all (bacon and eggs were great but fruit juices were just squash).
There were no TVs or radios in the rooms - which was a plus for us, as we like to get away from them just for a change .
We had a terrace with our room but none of the terraces appear to be very private and would suggest that the 1st floor rooms with balconies were better.
Our room was quiet except for Wednesday nights when there was a guest band playing until midnight. We noticed some rooms were close to "The Square" where there appeared to be loud music most nights but we did not hear it from our room.
The Spar supermarket across the road was very convenient and the hotel location, in general, was excellent for closeness to shops, bars, restaurants and beaches; with the latter being no more than a 10-minute walk away.
If you have a late flight home and wish to freshen up before you go, and you have to be out of your room by 12.00, the hotel can only offer an outside (swimming pool shower) and the communal TV Room (with toilets and washbasins) to change in. The TV room, although appearing, nicely furnished at first glance, was unused and was dark and so damp that some of the sofas were "wet” with mildew! The room smelled awful. I think we were fresher before we went in!
We tended to use the hotel as a base but did laze around the pool on the sunbeds on a couple of occassions. All in all, we would recommend this hotel for a reasonably inexpensive stay, but as others have said - don't expect five star.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveMedway_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.1 mi away
La Ceiba
La Ceiba
#37 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fowlers Hotel
Fowlers Hotel
#24 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#18 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leo D'or
Hotel Leo D'or
#29 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
36.1 mi away
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dor

Property: Dor
Address: Avda. Calonge, 7660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Dor Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing