We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but some things could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aparthotel Ferrera Blanca
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We loved Majorca and particularly cala dor. blanca apartments we're very clean and had 3 lovely pools near our self catering apartments to choose from which was great. Slight drawbacks were kitchen very small with only 2 slow heating electric hobs. Apartments are about 15 minute walk from cala dor centre. Not enough sun loungers available (are there ever?)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ellis6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,002)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,018 - 1,024 of 2,002 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

Not a bad hotel, however, not worthy of the praise bestowed upon it by the myriads of trip advisor participants.. In summary :a pleasant, 4 star hotel with adequately clean apartments and grounds (if you don't mind long hairs and dust on steps and under the sofas etc); predominately good food (although a little repetitious by the end of the week); very enthusiastic and hard working children's entertainers (hope your child doesn't mind clowns though, as it was clowns running the min disco EVERY night), LOUD, and i repeat LOUD evening entertainment until 11.30pm (location of your room is of paramount importance as loads of the 'suites' literally vibrate with noise from their proximity to the stage and reception staff have DEF perfected the 'surprise look for oh, you want to change your room?..) The majority of guests appear to stay on an all inclusive basis, (which seems to appeal to a certain type of customer) so many do not venture off campus to sample local restaurants. The hotel is conveniently situated for the small but delightful ferrera beach. Supermarkets, leisure and dining facilities are all close by. Apartments are well presented with modern fixtures and fittings and comfortable beds. The childrens playground is disappointing. Whist we met some lovely people during our weeks stay, the hotel lacks the class, attention to detail and spotless cleanliness we experienced last year during our stay at the Sa Marina. The Sa Marina remains, undoubtably, the top hotel in Cala D'Or, in our opinion.

Room Tip: Avoid the blocks of 'suites' which are close to the entertainment stage (and there are quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank devon11_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Me, my husband and two children aged 11 & 7 have recently returned from Ferrara Blanca and can honestly say we enjoyed our overall stay. The hotel is very clean and the staff are extremely friendly. The only downside for us was the food. After reading previous reviews, we were expecting a good selection and standard of food but unfortunately this was not the case. This would not discourage us from returning to this hotel, however, we would most probably opt for the self catering option rather than all inclusive. Lastly and certainly not least, the animation team really did make our stay so special and extremely enjoyable. Anyone who travels with children will know that happy children make happy parents and the animation team at this hotel work day and night to keep the kids (&adults) entertained. A special thanks to Cynthia who our daughter just loved & misses already. Also Selu for entertaining our 11 year old son for a fortnight. Not forgetting the wonderful Veronica, Dennie & Florin. These guys really do make the ultimate holiday experience and work extremely hard with a constant smile on their faces. Worth their weight in gold. We miss joining you guys in the club dance from our balcony :))

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jaykay7799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here for a week in July. Staff all lovely and always make the effort to say hello and talk to you. Waiters and animation team work non stop morning till night and are all so nice.

Room was very clean... However we didn't ever get any sun on our balcony which was a shame because there was never enough sunbeds by the pools. Apparently your not allowed to save sunbeds by putting towels on but this happened every morning and there were never any sunbeds spare!! You would need to get up at 7am to get a sunbed! Also there is not enough space around the pools to compared to how many people there are! The hotel definitely need an adults only pool with more sunbeds!

Food was nice... Although my partner ate the fish and was then sick for 24hours and after talking to other people there they also had the same problem!

Entertainment was good... We went as a couple so adult entertainment didn't start until around 10pm. Different performances such as a tribute to Whitney Houston etc.

This is hotel definitely more for families with young children... But is ok if your just looking for a quiet holiday as a couple. Would defo recommend for family's though more than couples!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elouisey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at the Ferrera Blanca from 29th June to 6th July and yet again we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We don't normally return to the same place twice as we think there are plenty of other places to see but we enjoyed it so much last year we returned and was just as good this year so are planning on going back next year.
Yet again the food was excellent with plenty of choice and Isabel is so friendly in the restaurant.
What really made this hotel special was the animation team they were brilliant (if not a bit mad!) so a huge thank you to Veronica, Cynthia, Dennie, Salu &Florin.
Only problem we had was getting a sun bed in the morning because most were taken at the main pool by 7am. Maybe it would be a good idea for the hotel staff to remove towels if no one is sitting on them before 9am. Don't let this put you off tho because the rest of the hotel made up for it.
Thanks again for another great holiday.
Claire, Simon & kyle x

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trixie_2010_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Was a slightly inauspicious start to our stay when after checking in we were told the room wouldn't be available for another hour and a half but as my girlfriend had stayed here 4 times before we were told we could go and have something to eat in the restaurant and then head back up to reception to wait for the room.

Lovely warm greeting in the restaurant, as was the case whenever we arrived there and never a wait much longer than 5 minutes for a table. I am much fussier than my girlfriend when it comes to food so I sometimes found it hard to get a proper meal in the evenings but there is the "kids" food bit for when things got bad. The grilled meat wasn't the best and seemed to sit there and dry out some evenings which meant I had a bite and left the rest. Lunch could be hit and miss but again still something there to eat. Breakfast was the best meal out of the three, plenty of choice, food seemed to be regularly changed so it wasn't sat for ages, always had a good breakfast. Italian downstairs made a nice change, good to be served, again food was hit and miss but these are areas that can be improved.
A word of praise to the waiting staff who work long long hours and are constantly on the go with a smile on their face, lovely people.

Good choice of drinks and ice cream at the bottom bar, nothing seemed too much trouble for the two usual waiters, again fantastic service with a smile.

Sunbeds were a pain and I was up everyday at 7.30am to get a bed, I shouldn't have had to do this but if I didn't then there would be nowhere left at 8, main pool was already full by 7am, it's a self perpetuating problem as other people would do it so they too wouldn't be left without beds, there needs to be either less people allowed to stay in the hotel or another pool area creating somewhere to try and ease the problem, if they were to create another pool area then maybe have it adults only so you would be guaranteed a bit more peace away from crying babies (not the hotels fault) and I was aware it was a family hotel before booking! Also better sunbeds on the bottom pool would make a big difference.


Hotel is immaculately clean, never seen a hotel in all areas kept soo tidy, the staff are on the go all the time to maintain this standard, top marks to them.

The room we stayed in was a suite 14-306. A bit out of the way to where my girlfriend had stayed on the site before but no real problem. Would prefer proper double beds in the room rather than two singles, I'd end up rolled onto the other side of the room everynight as the beds moved about. Plenty of amenities in the room - fridge, hair-dryer, kettle, iron and ironing board. Aircon was good and not too loud, shower was excellent and comfort was very good.

Checking out was a doddle and was given full use of all hotel services until our transfer some 4 and a bit hours after checkout, very good courtesy showers - with toiletries and fresh towels ready for use so need to worry about leaving a towel out of your baggage.

The site is 15 minutes walk from Cala D'or, lovely and quiet in the evenings (after 11) felt secure and safe leaving valuables in the room, had a relaxing holiday and would return again but if they could fix the small issues then it would stand out even more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank domkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife and I had our first holiday abroad with our 6 year old daughter and had read the reviews claiming this to be a family orientated hotel. We were not disappointed. The staff were outstanding: very friendly and enthusiastic with adults and children alike. The Animacion team are amazing. There are evening shows (mini discos) every night, which are great for kids but start to grate if you're an adult after the 3rd time. However, there were also a couple of great shows for adults eg. Kenyan Troup of fire-eaters/acrobats, etc. Some people also seemed to enjoy the Bingo (mixy mixy, shakey, shakey) but it didn't float our boat.

It is the cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in abroad which is a big positive in my book.

As others have said, there are not enough sun loungers and some of the older black ones are quite uncomfortable. Despite signs stating loungers should not be reserved, there were towels present by 7am every morning - nobody using them though. I think the staff should remove the towels and put them in a big basket in reception to make people come and collect them when they finally decide to use them.

Food - well, some of it was great and some not so great. We were all inclusive and so you feel obliged to eat in most of the time, given you've paid for it. Breakfast selection is fantastic. Lunches are quite good too. However, evening meals were not so great. The buffet could be better - some nights we were toiling to find something to eat and ended up at the kids buffet instead on burgers or chicken nuggets. One night I remembered seeing tripe, alongside squid etc. Both my wife and I were sick on this trip and suspect it was a touch of food poisoning from the Mexican night (we heard of others who also had the same problem). Ironically, I thought the choice and quality at the Mexican night was excellent at the time. The Italian Restaurant was quite good but we probably OD'd on pizza and chips and lasagne. The mushroom risotto was pretty good too.

Would we go back? Yes, but perhaps not straight away. Very enjoyable holiday overall.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gavin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.3 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#2 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos
0.6 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Ferrera Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Ferrera Blanca

Address: Sa Partio s/n, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range: $119 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aparthotel Ferrera Blanca 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most exceptional areas of the Mediterranean, the East coast of Majorca, is known for its fantastic white sandy beaches with crystalline water and beautiful landscapes. This aparthotel in Cala d'Or, for its outstanding hospitality, delicious gastronomy and tastefully refurbished rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aparthotel Ferrera Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Ferrera Blanca Hotel Cala d`Or
Aparthotel Ferrera Blanca Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing