We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More imagination needed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aparthotel Ferrera Blanca
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Ferrera Blanca Apathotel Majorca Four Star

The reception area I very nice with a welcome that invites guests to partake of a drink which is either orange juice or water, a bottle of sparkling wine remains firmly closed next to the orange juice and water.

Staff throughout our stay were effective, efficient and friendly and are a credit to this hotel.

We were staying in a very nice suite with a living area and a bedroom with 2 comfortable single beds pushed together. The living room had flat screen TV seating and a fridge. The bathroom, off the living room, was contemporary with wet room with massage shower. The apartment had a large balcony area area overlooking the pool and stage areas with table and 4 chairs. We were concerned that we would be disturbed by the evening entertainment, on most nights this was not a problem as we were out until after the entertainment finished. Rooms kept very clean on a daily basis

Not enough pool space for enough sun beds. Towels provided were placed on beds early morning and sometimes left until late afternoon until the owners turned up. This created a sort of "arms race" that you felt obliged to join despite your better judgement and principles. However, most days we managed to find beds at the small pool, which is just a short walk to the pool bar.

Food, in particular salads were very good. Restaurant staff were friendly an helpful, menus changed daily, with themed nights in the evenings, but inevitably with all inclusive, there was a certain sameness about the choices of food. Wine and other drinks were served by the glass, we asked for a bottle of wine at the table, but wine is served only by the glass and only if you went to the bar to get it yourself.

The restaurant is informal at all times of the day, whilst some dressed for dinner, shorts, t-shirts and flip-flops were not discouraged and appeared to be a male preserve even when partners and their children dressed more formally.

Only one bar is open at at the pool /entertainment area in the evenings with queues for drinks, which were dealt with quickly and efficiently, with limited table service provided. Entertainment in the evening is mainly provided by the Animation Team, who generally pulled it off on the couple of occasions we watched, but it did have a Hi-di-hi feel to it. We spent some evenings playing cards / games in the reception area, where another bar and alternative entertainment in the form of a small band or pianist or guitarist would have been welcome.

A walk into Cala D'or is worth it with a myriad of shops, bars and restaurants. Our favourite restaurant was Fernando's where the food is always good. The Marina is definitely worth a visit. There are variety of bars and restaurants where you can sit and watch other people's dreams, of every shape and size sail in and out of the Marina

Ferrara Blanca hotel- Very nice. Is it 4star? Not in comparison with others we have experienced. I would rather go to Turkey at the price. More imagination is needed if the Western Med is going to compete on a value for money basis with the Eastern Med or Aegean.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,992)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,094 - 1,100 of 1,992 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

great all round package food/drinks/staff/entertainment/rooms/kids club location getting a sunbed can be an issue but that's all part of holidays in these places(all inclusive is highly recommended) beach is spot on and is at the bottom of the steps kids had best time ever met loads of friends

Room Tip: near main pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank p m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

.Due to a late flight we didn't arrive until after 10pm but on arrival the very friendly Manager checked us in very quickly and then showed us into a side room where they had laid out dinner for us and got us a drink from the bar.We were very impressed as hadn't expected to eat as arriving so late. Complex was very well cared for and well laid out. Rooms were very clean, spacious and modern with a wonderful bathroom. The food in the main restaurant was fantastic with loads of choice and all very fresh. My only criticism woud be that you were discourraged to sit and linger over a meal. There is a nearby sandy beach in a pretty little cove which was lovely and clean with plenty of sunbeds. Being A1 there was food and drinks available all day. We found the surrounding area of CalaD'or a bit disappointing. All lookes a bit tired and shabby but luckily the hotel had all the facilities we required for a great holiday

Room Tip: Rooms over the road from main complex are quieter as most of the entertainment takes place round the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank vanvanEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Steyed there with my friends and family, grup of 12. We have a fantastic time all enjoyed hotel surrounding area. Many thanks to "Jon" and his animation grup who made our holiday even more pleasent. Food also has been realy good with 2 resteurant which are open almost all the time and 2 bars which serve drinks untill late night time. Overall 100 % positive.

Room Tip: Apartments are really quiet,feels like you live on your alone
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rafalbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here mid August 2012 and had a great time with my two daughters aged 10 and 14. The hotel had a nice, relaxed, peaceful atmosphere despite it being peak season, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is situated above the beach, so that when you are sunbathing, or eating a meal, you can look down and see the beautiful sea. The pools were heated and were of good size and were never too packed. The sunbeds did tend to be all taken by 9am so in order to choose where you want a sunbed, I suggest you out your towels down between 7.30 and 8am. The hotel staff didn't seem too bothered about the 'sunbed reserving' which I thought was quite good because usually other hotels would remove your towels. The food was great, a large selection everyday and we loved the Italian that you could reserve to go into. The snack and drinks were equally as good and had as much selection. The rooms were clean and tidy, and were highly maintained as were the gardens outside the rooms. We feel however that this is more like apartments than a hotel and didn't really feel the holiday buzz that we usually get in hotels. If you like peace and quiet and want a relaxing break, then this is the place for you, if you want a buzzing atmosphere with good nightlife, then I'm afraid this might not be the right place. But overall, I would reccomend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cwylie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is one of the best holidays I have been on. Spent two weeks here with my family (two boys 14 and 12) and we all had a fantastic time. The staff were amazing- going the extra mile in all they do.
The food was varied and well prepared and going to the restaurant was always a pleasure with lots of choices.
The poolsides were busy but we never felt that they were overcrowded. The atmosphere of this hotel is indescribable. We have just rebooked our next holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FayeWea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here for 6 nights back in May as a birthday break for my partner. Arrived at the un-godly hour of 3am following our transfer to be greeted with a little packed lunch from a friendly night porter. Found our apartment just round the corner from reception and were plesantly surprised by how spacious the room was. Huge room, very clean, new bathroom, patio- all really good! I never expect much on the food front from all inclusives, but the deal we found was hardly much more in price to go all-in, so we went for it. We didnt stop eating all day (so bad for the wasteline but..), food was good, with plenty of choice at every meal. Staff were great, really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Two decent pool areas, and the little beach/ bay is beautiful. Great choice for couples/ families who want a relaxed holiday in Majorca without all the hustle and bustle of Magaluf. Thanks for a great holiday- we loved it! :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GooseySooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.3 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,449 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#2 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos
0.5 mi away
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Ferrera Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Ferrera Blanca

Address: Sa Partio s/n, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range: $113 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aparthotel Ferrera Blanca 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most exceptional areas of the Mediterranean, the East coast of Majorca, is known for its fantastic white sandy beaches with crystalline water and beautiful landscapes. This aparthotel in Cala d'Or, for its outstanding hospitality, delicious gastronomy and tastefully refurbished rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aparthotel Ferrera Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Ferrera Blanca Hotel Cala d`Or
Aparthotel Ferrera Blanca Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing