We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Revisited after 10 years” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Vicente

Restaurante Vicente
Ranked #63 of 152 Restaurants in Cala d'Or
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Revisited after 10 years”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

The restaurant is up their with the best in Cala Dor we last visited 10 years ago and on the menu was fillet with braised froie gras which was first class unfortunately Vicente took it off the menu last year. But do try the leg of lamb which you need to preorder the day before. I had the suckling pig which was nice but not as good as the famous fillet. The service is always warm and friendly and Vicente was over the moon we returned after all those years.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank timsc-62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    35
    6
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Vicente is easy to miss as it's just off the pedestrianised area but is well worth finding. The menu del dia and menu del noche are both great value, even if the ever-friendly Dani will do his best to get you to go a la carte. We were a party of 7 and knew that it would be difficult getting an outside table without booking, which I tried to do by email and telephone, both were unanswered. Of course when my wife rang it was answered first time! Our table was ready and waiting for us when we arrived. Initially service seems a bit slow but put that down to Dani getting involved with all his customers. He will do his best to meet your every need.
We did choose from the menu del noche and, although the choice was a little limited (fair enough?) the portions were excellent and the quality of service and presentation spot on. Everybody remarked how tasty the food was ( I had pork with tumbet). You can see why the Spanish come to eat here. Definitely worth a try. Will be returning.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DavoCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GLUTEN FREE DISHES AVAILABLE!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

As I have coeliac's disease and cannot usually eat out at restaurants, I was overjoyed to discover that certain dishes were prepared GLUTEN FREE at Restaurante Vicente. The owner Dani, who speaks fluent English has a family member with the same condition and therefore knows exactly what a guten free diet is. I had sole, beautifully presented and deboned at the table by the waiter. For me, the food was amazing and the owner's friendliness made for a very enjoyable evening. Can't recommend this restaurant highly enough!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Impressed, great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

This was the second time we have been to Vicente, last time was in 2011. Both times we have had the Menu del Noche, the evening set menu. For 16 euros you really cannot go wrong. When we arrived we had to wait for a table outside - too hot to eat inside- and the lovely owner Danni gave us a free drink while we waited (it was free, I checked the bill after). Although Danni did try to get us eat off the a la carte menu (fair enough) the set menu comprised plenty of choice and we had no trouble in choosing dishes to our liking. The service was first-rate, presentation excellent, and quantity and quality spot-on. After our meal Danni joined us for a chat and another drink. Terrific, we will be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank DavoCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great service and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Good dinner at Vicente .. tried the king prawns with sombrasada for at starter and the home made croqettes and it was Good, the nice owed recommended that we dint choose any more for started as we would be full at the main course . At the Main couse BF chose entrecôte and i the lamb , He was happy and so was i . Had the shoulder of lamb. highly reccomentable

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank C_Falck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Vicente also viewed

Cala d'Or, Majorca
Cala d'Or, Majorca
 

Been to Restaurante Vicente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing