We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honest Opinion”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Moreyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Moreyo
Ranked #1 of 3 Cala Bona B&B and Inns
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Honest Opinion”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

For those that say this is the worst hotel you have ever been to I would say you have been blessed as I have stayed in far worse hotels than Moreyo. Let’s get this straight you don't pay for a 1 star hotel and expect a 5 what you pay for is what you get. Let's start with the food it's not great there is very little to choose from but it is edible, really just what all the low budget hotels serve in a buffet we ate out 4 of the 6 nights as Cala Bona is full of fantastic places to eat (recommend the Indian around the corner from the hotel, the Italian on the other side of Cala Bona and for lunch the little sandwich shop across from the hotel - Excellent service and very tasty). Not a great choice for kids and more suited to adults particularly if your children are fussy eaters. The staff are a mixture really the long haired gent that works during the day is very pleasant as is the woman at reception. The nigh time staff are a hit and a miss really the barmen can be very abrupt at times and I would say they could be a touch more friendly.

The hotel itself is reasonable our room was cleaned every day, well the towels were changed, and was ok for the price we paid. We had a room with a pool view as the hotel has no air con we hired a fan. This was probably the biggest regret in booking Moreyo as we knew there was no air con but thought hiring a fan may help. No it really didn't (we were in Majorca in August to be fair) but the fan just blew the hot air around the room. Rooms with a pool view seem to be much hotter as the sun hits the room for most of the day. If you have young children please be wary of this as at times the heat was un-bearable.

The pool was small but adequate and due to the heat we probably spent more time by the pool than we usually would. My son had a good time though as there were plenty of kids around to play with. Try and get a towel down early though and the loungers at the side of the pool get more sun time. No TV etc. but we didn't bother with any of those things as we were out every night.

Contrary to some reports Moreyo do put on singers as does the hotel across the road both are ok if you just want to sit about the hotel all night if you do though you are missing out as we thought Cala Bona was full of good places to visit day and night. The hotel is right next to a Kids play park which is full of things for the kids to do, bungee trampolining, bouncy castle, different go-karts and there is a good little hut that sells hot-dogs, crepes and a selection of drinks in the park. We had our little lad there every night and he loved it couldn’t wait to go back every night.

All and all Cala Bona is great you can hire a bike for 8 Euors and if you follow the coast to the left away from Cala Millor then there are some great little secluded beaches worth visiting. The pirate boat experience is also good for kids.

Would I go back to Cala Bona? yes in a heartbeat its a great place
Would I stay in Moreyo again? probably not air con is a must for most hotels these days as is catering for kids.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Bairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    197
    102
    32
    29
See reviews for
98
278
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

My 11 year old daughter and I had our first holiday abroad together and stayed at the Hotel Moreyo. We came home completely satisfied. I choose it mainly based on the cost and the reviews. It is well located for the beach, the town, bus stops and the harbour, where there is interesting street entertainment every evening. We arrived at 2am but were welcomed by the nice gentleman on Reception. Our room (and bathroom) was clean and tidy and had everything we needed. The bathroom was an internal room and would have benefitted from an extractor fan as it could become a little smelly in the heat of the day, but as we were out most of the time it didn't bother us. The rooms were hot but fans were available for hire, and if you travel in August you have to expect the heat - It didn't bother us! The food was not 5 star but was perfectly adequate and edible, we certainly didn't starve, and only ate out one night of our stay, just for a change. The staff are all very friendly and make you feel very welcome. The pool was lovely, clean and very welcome after a hot day sightseeing! Sunbeds are available but you have to leave your towel out early! We had a room at the side of the hotel, with a view to the beach and were able to listen to the music at both the Moreyo and the Hotel Sur over the road each evening - it was loud, but stopped by midnight and didn't keep us awake. There were several families staying and my daughter made some friends around the pool.
I certainly feel it was value for money and would recommend it to others (on a budget!) We would happily go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJDHantsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel could be fantastic with right people, location is spot on. Moreyo is spotless and rooms are nice, but little silly things let it down. I would not recommend eating here we went half board and are not fussy but the food at night was like prison slop and the waiter was a miserable ignorant man, being rude on several occasions. bar man with pony tail was only nice person there, noisy at front but ok at back, needs air conditioning to bring it up to date. Sa fresca staff across the road really fantastic, loved Cala Bona but never stay at Moreyo again, to miserable for words. To end it they have their own Muttton dressed as lamb resident who has been there sine May, get a grip and go home !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mosseys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

my family and i have just returned from a weeks holiday at this hotel,it was our second visit there and once again we were not disappionted.this hotel is so relaxing and friendly,it is kept spotlessly clean at all times and the staff are also very helpfull.i will definetly be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maryann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Don't wish to bore you all again, but have stayed here several times (and the Levante and Levante park),and cannot praise it enough. This hotel does all the essentials that you need for a budget holiday, i.e.., convenient location, pleasant hospitality, clean simple rooms, straight forward breakfast and a real feel good factor. I have read comments regarding the owner (Juan), being a bit reserved, however, he is a genuinely lovely fellow and his staff are fantastic! Admittedly Hector can be a little odd at times, but can't we all! But again, get to know him and you will find that he is just a little mischievous. I quite like that. But, in all honesty, I have stayed here about 8 times and every time I leave I cant wait to come back, and hopefully be back for celebration week! The only real problem is that it is too popular, resulting in no availability at times, so book early.

So, in summary, if you want 5 star accommodation, then pay for it, but I would rather stay here and have an extra 2 holidays for free!

Adios, and see you soon Juan (Oscar), Juan (Busquettes), Hector, Diego, Marco and the beautiful Carolina.xxx Phil and Sue.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank philsue0226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

If you are with your kids, avoid this hotel, especially during summer it's get too hot even during nights. As it's a budget hotel don't expect too much from it. Breakfast is very average. Dinner is not bad if you are a fish lover.
Its located at one of the best locations in Cala Bona and it takes only 15 mins walk to reach the nice beaches of Cala Millor. There is a small swimming pool which is always busy. Don't choose the room on the 3rd floor as it gets too hot in summer. Ask for a room facing the beach.

Room Tip: Don't choose the room on the 3rd floor as it gets too hot in summer. Ask for a room facing the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARamadas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Hotel Moreyo was a lovely place, basic, but clean and right in the centre of Cala Bona. The staff were friendly and there was a great choice on the breakfast buffet. We got a sunbed everyday by the pool it was small but lovely to cool down in.

Would go back again excellent value for money.

Room Tip: If you need anything just ask for it, don't expect 5 star because its not but you wont have paid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala Bona hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#13 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#5 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#6 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Som Llevant Suites
Som Llevant Suites
#14 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#9 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Cap de Mar
Aparthotel Cap de Mar
#17 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moreyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moreyo

Property: Hotel Moreyo
Address: Paseo Maritimo 8, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cala Bona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Moreyo 1*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Moreyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Moreyo Cala Bona, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing