We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (746)
Filter reviews
746 results
Traveler rating
585
125
30
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
585
125
30
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small hotel sea view duty manager lovely hotel mini bar lighting system bathrobes and slippers proper bacon roof terrace dining room booked a junior suite welcome drink bowl of fruit small gym pool area half board cooked fresh
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 746 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

There were so many little touches at this hotel which we haven't found in other places and which really enhanced our stay: the welcome drink on arrival; fresh fruit and flowers in our room; tea and coffee making facilities; BBC on TV(I didn't miss Strictly!); Robes and slippers; sun loungers as well as chairs and a parasol on our terrace.
Many reviews have commented on the older clientele but as an active couple in our fifties we thought the location was perfect for a range of energetic activities.There is a bike hire shop directly opposite and we spent a day on hired bikes cycling on the completely traffic free path to the Via Verde route to Arta where we had a superb lunch .We also enjoyed swimming every evening in the beautiful lagoon directly in front of the hotel.There are so many varied walks directly from the door.We walked 12 miles there and back to Canyamel one day, calling at Bar Playa for lunch( about 45 mins walk from hotel- great atmosphere) and also to the fort on the hill beyond Cala Millor another day. Can also recommend the boat trips to Cala Rajada and Porto Cristo which can be taken from the harbour only five minutes walk away.
As others have said the food is excellent and the hotel is spotlessly clean.The service is professional and very friendly- special thanks to Sissi and Miguel who were especially lovely.
We loved watching the beautiful sunrises on our terrace ( room 8) every morning and thought that Cala Bona was a very pretty place.Overall had a great holiday and felt we were well looked after at this lovely little hotel.

Stayed: October 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived to a lovely warm welcome. The lovely receptionist directed us to room 8. I had read a review that this room was not nice. BUT Wow we loved it. A little terrace right by the sea. A very comfortable double bed. A powerful shower. Everything we could hope for. The dining room was upstairs and the food was really nice. All the staff were cheerful and welcoming every day. The indoor pool and gym was great and my husband used these facilities every day. We had never been to Cala Bona before. And we loved the area. We walked miles every day. And enjoyed getting back to room 8 for a rest on our loungers. Our room was cleaned every day to a high standard. Thank you everyone at Gran Sol who made our stay so relaxing. We are hoping to return next year.

  • Stayed: October 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank nicola c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018

TUI at its best .we got exactly what we booked and that is unusual these days . Disabled assistance for our parents at Exeter and Palma airports were first class. The private transfers were on time and comfortable . The hotel , the rooms , the food and its position were superb , but don’t forget the staff , that’s what made it .Could not find fault with anything ,( if really picky , towels are very small for the quality of hotel and sort your Wi-fi out , if any holiday maker was relying on it to do a bit of work while away they may struggle ) A great holiday and not often we say this but we will be back .

Room Tip: Sea view room
Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
6  Thank Golf95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

We have just had a lovely week at the Gran Sol with our 3month old baby. The food was really good at breakfast & dinner with gluten free options available which made it even better for me and others trying to avoid gluten.
We had a couple of lunches at the hotel - the chicken salad which was huge, club sandwich also huge & some nachos which were yummy!
Maria & her team were fabulous with our little one & general service. He certainly got plenty of attention from the lovely restaurant staff & other guests.
Alexandra in the restaurant even got him a little T-shirt as a gift which was very unexpected but thoughtful.
Most of the guests when we stayed (first week in October) were older than us (we’re in our 30’s) which we really liked. Everyone we spoke to was very friendly & the hotel was always quiet & relaxed.
The room was fine for us at the side of the hotel although would have liked a full sea view with sun during the day - wish we’d asked to move!
We didn’t use the outdoor pool but did go in the inside one. It was a shame the jacuzzi was in the main pool so cold water.
It is also on a timer so you can’t turn it on when you want it!
The pool was just about warm enough to take baby for his first swim & most days we took him for a quick splash about before rinsing him & rushing back to the room to get him dressed as their wasn’t any facility to change him by the pool.
Food & drinks were reasonably priced compared to a lot of hotels we’ve stayed in.
We walked to Cala Millor & the whole walk has lots of shops, restaurants & bars. It took about 40mins to get to Lidl & Mercadona. A taxi back with shopping was 7 euros.
The weather was hit & miss first week of October, guess that is to be expected at the end of the season! It was windy most of the time, 2 days we had gales!
Saw a bit of rain but otherwise a pleasant temperature between 22-24c most days.
We requested a cot & tub (for sterilising bottles) in advance & they were in the room for when we arrived.
The hotels sister the Levante was next door - this was much bigger & had entertainment that we heard a few times. We could have used the facilities (pool etc) if we had wanted but didn’t really need to on this holiday. If our little one had been older it could have been useful!
Overall a nice quiet break away with good food & lovely staff :-)
Thank you!

Stayed: October 2018, traveled with family
4  Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

We stayed the last week in September at the Gran Sol and it was fab! Lovely little oasis in Cala Bona in a great position. The food, staff and rooms were very good and being a smaller hotel had a much more personal feel to it. It has a wonderful terrace with a couple of steps down to the beach and a glorious view. We loved it.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank CherrySummerill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews