We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and stay!!”
Review of Gran Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gran Sol
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Lovely hotel on the beach small and quiet hotel for relaxing high standards, clean rooms and lovely staff. Highly recommend this hotel, ideal location walk to the Marina and lots shops, bars and restaurants as you step out the hotel all flat and can walk for miles along the front or hire a bike! Lovely stay free WIFI in reception which was fast breakfast great choice cooked fresh bacon, sausage and black pudding at your request.

Room Tip: we stayed on the ground floor it was perfect for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jo19831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (685)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 685 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

My wife and I along with another couple stayed here in September 2013. The Hotel reception staff were friendly and helpful on arrival and we were very impressed on taking occupancy of our rooms. Clean, bright and exactly as we had hoped. The outside sea facing dining area is a lovely location to eat, drink and relax and the pool area is ok (not the best and there was some towel-on-bed mentality!). The dining room was very nice and the food excellent. The breakfast was superb (there is a young lady who cooks everything fresh and has to be seen to be believed for her multi-tasking). The only negative was, that on 2 occasions we had to wait to be seated and there was nowhere to sit whilst waiting, other than to go down the stairs to the Lounge. Evening entertainment is limited and not provided every evening.
All in all a very relaxing stay and we would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea-facing room. Our balcony was overlooking the busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wyn4latics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The first thing to say about this hotel is that you cannot book it direct. It is a modern hotel exclusive to Thomson Holidays UK or Tui, Germany. I get the impression that this causes problems in as much as once you are in the hotel the staff cannot be very helpful in changing your room or anything else with your deal because to do that they need permission from Thomson Holidays.
We went the last week in October and in some ways this was unfortunate because everything in Cala Bona closes on 30th October and so we found ourselves for the last couple of days with nothing much to do and we were the last guests in the hotel.
The hotel itself is nice although the lighting system confuses even the staff who are prepared to go the extra mile to be friendly and helpful. The restaurant food is good and varied.
The hotel overlooks, on one side, a beautiful bay and so a sea view is a must. The other side of the hotel overlooks the shops and pedestrian walkway and is probably quite noisy during busy season. It's close to the bus stops and the staff are only too happy to explain how to get around.
TV was also good in as much as you could access BBC1, BBC2 and ITV

Room Tip: Choose a sea view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank clangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We've now been to this hotel three times, the last time was during the first week of October. We have no hesitation in recommending it. It's relatively new having been completely refitted some five years ago.

The staff are excellent throughout. We stayed bed and breakfast but had evening meal in the hotel twice during the week. There was little or no formality in doing this - you simply go to the restaurant, no need to book, and either pay on leaving or have the cost added to your room account. From memory, the cost was 12 Euros each. The cost of any drinks needs to be added to the overall cost. It's very good value and there is a large selection on offer on the buffet. The main courses change daily. These menus can be viewed on the television in ones room.

I'm surprised that the hotel closes over the winter from the end of October to early March. I'm sure they could fill it if Thomson were to provide flights. Granted, it would be quiet with the rest of the resort in close-down mode. January in Majorca does seem more attractive than battling with the snow here in the UK.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed a week for half term end of October on a package with Thomson Tours. The Gran Sol is the best in Cala Bona. Rooms are clean, nice, sea views are amazing. Restaurant staff really focussed on customer service, Miguel and Alicia in particular were fab. Would have preferred an option for room service instead of having to wear trousers to the restaurant for a buffet. My wife did not like the frosted glass in the bathroom, she prefers more privacy and doesn't want to see her son or husband on the toilet through frosted glass. We rented the quad bikes from the place across the road twice and rode down to Cala Millor and around the Cala Bona Harbor. Ate at Tasca twice to get something different from the hotel and the British pub food. Only bad thing was we were there late Oct and the resort area of Cala Bona started shutting down on the Monday, fewer restaurant choices, convenience stores closed up, and less to do so we moved to Palma for our last day/night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mauka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The hotel is in a great location. Its is of a high standard with excellent food with a wide choice very well presented. The staff are very friendly and efficient.

The harbour is only short walk away with many restaurants..

The baths have a wide tiled edge which can be difficult for the less mobile but the hotel will provide bath mats for extra safety.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernardSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

A stayed in the Grand Sol in august for one week a very quiet and comfortable the staff were pleasant the room was spacious with a view of the beach although the hotel was full it was totally silent in the room even the aircon.
i would recommend it to anyone who wants a total chillout holiday the roof pool is small but no afternoon shadows.
I booked through Thompson and would recommend that you check the flight times, leaving the room at midday and not flying until three am is not exceptable .
Cala Bona is very pleasant resort with many bars it is traffic free by the harbour a very nice spot in the evening overall a very good holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank redmg72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
0.3 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#8 of 19 in Cala Bona
1,008 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#4 of 19 in Cala Bona
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Som Llevant Suites Hotel
Som Llevant Suites Hotel
#14 of 19 in Cala Bona
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#6 of 19 in Cala Bona
642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#10 of 19 in Cala Bona
808 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marins Playa
Marins Playa
#11 of 60 in Cala Millor
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Sol

Address: Paseo Maritimo Cb 4, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Spa Hotel in Cala Bona
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in front of the sea, in Cala Bona, a fishing village, where fishermen can be seen heading out to sea from its pretty harbour.The totally renovated hotel has all modern commodities available for their client’s enjoyment. A PERFECT PLACE FOR A REST. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Gran Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Sol Cala Bona, Majorca
Gran Sol Hotel Cala Bona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing