We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A rose amongst thorns”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gran Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gran Sol
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, England.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A rose amongst thorns”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stay in a wide variety of hotels for business and pleasure on a regular basis so I can offer comparative view. I have to say this is the best hotel pound for pound I have ever stayed in. It may not be a 5 star all inclusive resort but it punches far far above its weight.

If all hotels benchmarked against this one, they would raise the level significantly. Have seen a few people moaning on here about sunbeds, nothing better to do in my opinion. There probably isn't enough for the whole hotel, but most normal people will venture further than just the hotel during their stay. So the hotel probably account for the excursion and beach people so I guess some days this might be an issue if no one decides to go anywhere. I did not have one issue. If you go don't forget to use the roof terraces and pool, sun last longer into the evening up there as well.

The bar and food is excellent, good value and service excellent, from the minute we arrived at 1am to the minute we left absolutely nothing was too much trouble.

The only downside to this hotel is probably the nearby resort, typical Brit abroad stuff in places and sometimes it's just embarrassing. Luckily I didn't see any evidence in this hotel, probably better to go out of hotel and turn right.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank onthepiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    105
    26
    4
    0
See reviews for
102
438
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here for three nights commencing 24th August. Welcomed with a cool drink whilst checking in. Hotel spotless. Rooms perfect, bowl of fruit, water, dressing gowns and slippers provided. Staff very attentive. Food excellent. Would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Gran Sol is definitely worth a visit if you like lovely hotels. It has recently been refurbished to a high standard and the rooms are fresh and very clean in neutral tones. Bathrooms are good with a high shower pressure and a great hair-dryer so you don't need your own. The rooms have tea and coffee making facilities which are replenished on a daily basis.

There is a satellite television with the advantage of BBC1, BBC2 and ITV, making it easy to keep up with your favourite television programmes while you are away!

The gym is small but has all the key equipment. The jacuzzi, indoor pool and gym have truly beautiful views of the ocean and there is a roof top terrace for sunbathing on the fourth floor also, next to these, which is very pleasant.

The pool area is lovely and the sunbeds are really comfortable with cushioned pads. It is a small pool area so you do have to get up early for a sunbed but the beach is just metres away and there are always available sunbeds there or on the roof terrace. Beautiful pool area but some of it is in the shade for parts of the day so you may prefer the beach if you always like to be in the sun.

Food is amazing - I am a really fussy eater but there was always something to eat at this hotel. Worth going half board. For lunch there is a lovely terrace area and the largest choice of lunchtime snacks I have ever seen - all reasonably priced and lovely.

Staff, are without exception, friendly and helpful.

Cala Bona however is a rather limited resort with a few shops and bars but it isn't glamorous. There is a supermarket for all your needs but there aren't many other shops.

Palma is a 2 hour bus ride away but well worth a visit for more upmarket shopping.

We had a lovely holiday at the Gran Sol and I would recommend it for a relaxing hotel based holiday in the sun, as long as you aren't too bothered about spending lots of time wandering round the resort.

Room Tip: Sea view is worth paying for - it is beautiful. The gym, spa and roof terrace are on the fourth flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveLuxury03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week stay, we stayed first two weeks of August, even though the hotel was full it was so quiet and relaxing, the pool area was so peaceful, no noise. I was worried before we went that there would be problems with getting a sunbed. My husband went out running each morning so put our towels down by the pool at about 8.30 several mornings as other people had put there towels out earlier, there wasn't any problem getting a bed, we always put our towels on the side that got shaded from about 3 pm as the other side was the more popular, there was also beds on the grass area, we only saw one really selfish couple who the first week had put there towels down by the pool early and I only saw the woman turn up at about 4 pm, which of course if very selfish.

Anyway this is the loveliest hotel I have stayed in, the cleanliness is fantastic, the hotel staff from the bar staff, restaurant, chefs, reception to the cleaners are all extremely friendly with a good sense of humour, this hotel cannot do enough for you. There is an excellent selection in the restaurant, breakfast has a good selection of cold continental food, fresh fruit, yoghurts, croissants and the hot food is cooked to order, best eggs and bacon we have ever had, the chefs are friendly and very efficient with the speed of cooking the many breakfast orders. The evening meal again has a good selection, the desserts and homemade chef special cakes are too die for, so delicious but not good for the waist line, I tried not to overeat but still managed to put on 6 lbs.

The hotel rooms are fantastic we had a lovely sea view room, which is nice because by about 3.30 pm the balcony is shaded which is nice as it is lovely and warm to sit out but not too hot. The little touches are nice, fruit basket, fridge, robes and slippers in the room, plus tea/coffee and biscuits which are restocked daily in your room.

It will be hard to find another hotel of such good quality. Just thought of one more good thing, the beds are so comfortable and very spacious.

Only negative, the gym is advertised as an state of the art gym with fantastic views, the views are fantastic but the treadmill is positively dangerous and needs replacing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank holidaymad49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Lovely sea view room with a side balcony, hotel bar and restaurant really good value bearing in mind the prices of many in house restaurants. Breakfast selection was really good. Would recommend the hotel but possibly not the resort itself which is a little bit too commercial for us.

Room Tip: request a sea view but bear in mind many have a side view only
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We have just returned from our 6 th stay in this hotel We love this hotel and would highly recommend it to other disabled guests.
Our sea view room was lovely the view breathtaking. Breakfast and Evening Meal were both fantastic so much choice. You need to start a diet the minute you return home. Nothing is too much troube for all the staff. The waiters Marcelino, John Pedro Angel all o fthem rate so hghly in their helpfulness. On reception Catalina, Maria and Liz are just a few of the staff that will go out of their way for you. Sylvia the assistant manager is always keeping a watchful eye on things and checking you are ok.
As the hotel only has only 50 rooms and very small , the main problem s the lack of loungers and still having to go down early to get them. The delivery of more loungers while we were there helped but didn't improve the situation when other hotel users started coming into the pool area from Levante hotels to get loungers!
As there are only 3 superior rooms not counting one with no balcony you need to check with the hotel when booking.
The only complaint I would make sadly is the beds ! the two single beds were not joined together properly and the was a large gap in the centre also the beds were made up so tightly it was like sleeping in a tight envelope In a superior room we expect a proper double bed.. Also a hole in the curtains surprised me! Other than that the cleanliness in theis hotl is to the highest standard I have ever known the cleaners are constantly cleaning from morning to night! Fresh flowers everywhere i also a lovely touch.
Hard to find any complaints about anything and we love Cala Bona and Cala Millor so much we will be back again very soon.

Room Tip: E mail your requirements if you have specific needs.All rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAVID C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed two weeks in two rooms during July '13. The service, cleansliness and hospitality was of a standard other hotels should strive to achieve. The breakfast selection was wide and good quality. Bar bills were not excessive when considering the lovely beachside patio location. This hotel is right on the beach with plenty of outlets nearby. An excellent hotel and recommended.

As for sunbeds, 70 around the pool area, more on the roof sundeck... how many do we need in a 50 room hotel? Blame the selfish guests who "reserve" beds all day and use them perhaps 50% of the time.

Room Tip: 307 plus are on the seafront
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidnofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
2.1 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#5 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
42.8 mi away
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#7 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
26.2 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
4.5 mi away
Park Hyatt Mallorca
Park Hyatt Mallorca
#1 of 14 in Canyamel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Sol

Property: Gran Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo Cb 4, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in front of the sea, in Cala Bona, a fishing village, where fishermen can be seen heading out to sea from its pretty harbour.The totally renovated hotel has all modern commodities available for their client’s enjoyment. A PERFECT PLACE FOR A REST. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Gran Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Sol Cala Bona, Majorca
Gran Sol Hotel Cala Bona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing