We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, faultless”
Review of Gran Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gran Sol
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed two weeks in two rooms during July '13. The service, cleansliness and hospitality was of a standard other hotels should strive to achieve. The breakfast selection was wide and good quality. Bar bills were not excessive when considering the lovely beachside patio location. This hotel is right on the beach with plenty of outlets nearby. An excellent hotel and recommended.

As for sunbeds, 70 around the pool area, more on the roof sundeck... how many do we need in a 50 room hotel? Blame the selfish guests who "reserve" beds all day and use them perhaps 50% of the time.

Room Tip: 307 plus are on the seafront
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidnofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
There are newer reviews for Gran Sol
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 673 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful week at this fantastic hotel. The room and all areas of the hotel were kept spotless, the service in the restaurant was highly efficient and friendly whilst also unobtrusive, and the food superb - my stomach will testify to that! I find it unbelievable that people keep whinging about not enough sun beds, there's barely room for many more and I bet there isn't a hotel in Majorca that has enough for all its guests to use at the same time! The real problem is people saving sun beds from early morning and then hardly using them, this is the problem that management need to address. All in all a fantastic hotel in a great position - I would not hesitate to return for another holiday.

Room Tip: It doesn't really matter where the room is as long as you have a sea view, depending on which si...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tonybasil10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our room with its full seaview was excellent, staff excellent, food excellent - in fact I have to agree with all that has been written previously about the wonderful Gran Sol.
I have tried hard to remember other minor things which may not have been mentioned recently but may help e.g
1. The food choice is of a high quality and hot food is served HOT. A bottle of wine will be stored for you and served the next day. A different daily cocktail and menu is available at lunch at a reduced price.
2. Quiet effective airconditioning which operates all the time and does not need you to have your room key in its slot.
3. You can open an account and then sign for everything and settle at the end of the holiday.
4.No deposit or charge for pool towels which can be changed as often as wished and bar service around the pool.
5. Each room has tea/coffee, biscuits, fruit-bowl, sweets and water provided at the start of the holiday and bathroom towels changed daily.
A first class hotel - we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: There is a fantastic view from the seaview rooms, with sun in the morning and shade from lunchtime o...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twopats064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Returned from Gran Sol on 13th July after what I can only describe as outstanding.Having upgraded to a superior room with bed and breakfast,we were greeted on arrival with a ground floor room,with its own terrace,complete with table,chairs,parasol and sunbeds.The view was picture postcard.The room was well set out with its own minibar,fruitbowl and his and hers robes and slippers.The bathroom was spotlessly clean with an array of shampoos,conditioners and shower gels.The staff were polite,helpful and always smiling.The variety on offer at breakfast was vast,ranging from fresh fruit,cereals,croissants to the full English where the bacon and eggs were freshly cooked to order.And the view from the restaurant,mesmerising.The quieter Cala Bona,with its fabulous restaurants and beautiful harbour,is in stark contrast to the more lively Cala Millor.Lauren,the Thomson rep,was very knowledgeable about the island and really good at her job.The only downside to the hotel is the "reservation" of sunbeds by the pool as seems to be the norm all over the island.Dont be put off though as the beach is only 30 metres away.The highlight of the holiday was the Orange Blossom excursion,guided by the brilliant Celia.A must day out.This is a 5 star hotel at a 5 star resort on a 5 star holi.day.Definitely returning for another holiday to remember.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room with seaview and balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 368calabona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My 4th time to this hotel Fantastic as ever. The rooms are cleaned to a very high standard every day. food is top notch and always freshly cooked in front of you.The location is spot on 5 minute walk from the little harbour and the square. What more is there to say "a little gem" .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just returned from a two week stay at the Gran Sol. A fantastic hotel with a great location on the beach. 58 bedrooms only so the service you receive is very personal and the staff get to know your requirements - nothing is too much trouble, they are efficient, friendly and the service is brilliant. Breakfast and evening meal meats and fish cooked to order, plenty of choice, in fact the best hotel food we have ever had, we had only booked b and b but after trying on our 4th night we decided to stay their for our meals. Yes the sunbeds are all taken with towels by 7am but they did deliver another 20 while we were there - if there is no space go on the roof top as the sun is there all day and you get lovely views. You will have a great time and it certainly beats the big hotels with their endless pool entertainment - the problem will be finding another hotel as small and as good.

Room Tip: better to request a room on 2nd or 3rd floor and not a side room
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ardnas23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Gran Sol. The hotel is everything you could wish for - clean, good service, friendly staff, nothing too much trouble. The food was to a very high standard with ample choice at both breakfast and for evening meal. Perfect for a relaxing holiday but within easy reach of something more lively if you wish. Will definitely return. Thanks Gran Sol for a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: All the rooms at the side and back have a sea view - but if you want the evening sun the front is th...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan1959Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
0.3 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#7 of 19 in Cala Bona
929 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#6 of 19 in Cala Bona
617 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#3 of 19 in Cala Bona
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#11 of 19 in Cala Bona
798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Som Llevant Suites
Som Llevant Suites
#14 of 19 in Cala Bona
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Sol

Address: Paseo Maritimo Cb 4, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Spa Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in front of the sea, in Cala Bona, a fishing village, where fishermen can be seen heading out to sea from its pretty harbour.The totally renovated hotel has all modern commodities available for their client’s enjoyment. A PERFECT PLACE FOR A REST. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Gran Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Sol Cala Bona, Majorca
Gran Sol Hotel Cala Bona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing