We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gran Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gran Sol
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
york
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just returned from a two week stay at the Gran Sol. A fantastic hotel with a great location on the beach. 58 bedrooms only so the service you receive is very personal and the staff get to know your requirements - nothing is too much trouble, they are efficient, friendly and the service is brilliant. Breakfast and evening meal meats and fish cooked to order, plenty of choice, in fact the best hotel food we have ever had, we had only booked b and b but after trying on our 4th night we decided to stay their for our meals. Yes the sunbeds are all taken with towels by 7am but they did deliver another 20 while we were there - if there is no space go on the roof top as the sun is there all day and you get lovely views. You will have a great time and it certainly beats the big hotels with their endless pool entertainment - the problem will be finding another hotel as small and as good.

Room Tip: better to request a room on 2nd or 3rd floor and not a side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ardnas23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    105
    26
    4
    0
See reviews for
102
438
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Gran Sol. The hotel is everything you could wish for - clean, good service, friendly staff, nothing too much trouble. The food was to a very high standard with ample choice at both breakfast and for evening meal. Perfect for a relaxing holiday but within easy reach of something more lively if you wish. Will definitely return. Thanks Gran Sol for a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: All the rooms at the side and back have a sea view - but if you want the evening sun the front is th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan1959Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Returned to this lovely hotel, which has very modern rooms, great food and excellent service. One key down side is there are not enough sunbeds to go round. Why, they know how many rooms they have and that people want to sunbathe?! If you want a sunbed it means getting up at 6am, earlier than going to work and you are on holiday. Unlikely now to return as prices increasing to platinum next year, not good if you can't get a sunbed. Real as otherwise great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Treacle1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at the Gran sol from 25th June to 2nd July 2013. A lovely hotel with friendly staff.
We had room 208 a superior room with a sea view absolutely superb.
All the good points are well documented breakfast excellent. drinks reasonably priced evening meal a bit of a let down!
The hotel caters for approximately 100 guests but the pool area has less than 50 sun beds
early morning calls booked at reception are not for early leavers but for the sun bed brigade with all beds taken by 6.30 management does nothing to address this situation.
The sunbeds on the gritty man made beach cost 12 euros/day 2 beds and an umbrella.
The hotel should block book enough beds to allow for their shortfall and add the cost to the overall price of the hotel per customer.
All in all a good hotel with some shortfalls.

Room Tip: book a superior sea view with a verandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at the Gran Sol, two weeks ago and the hotel is very clean, with nice furnishing,
hotel staff are excellent nothing to much trouble for them.the food was to a very good standard and we had booked B&B but we ended up eating there every night,the chef was excellent and food cooked in front of you to your requirements,
the only negative points are that the sunbeds seem to be reserved with towels every day,and most of them were not sat on for hours, we ended up going to the beach every day and paying 4 euro each.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martin stevo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a good hotel with excellent food and generally good service. Having said this there were two niggles.

We had paid for a balcony with a sea view which we got but it was at the side of the hotel at the end of a corridor which did over look a beach and was not front facing. We requested if we could be moved to a room at the front of the hotel which directly overlooked the sea. We were told that we would go on a list and would be informed when one became available. A few days later we went back to reception and asked about the room. We were told that the hotel was full and that they did not know when a room would be available, which we thought was strange since we thought they would know when and who was arriving. We subsequently saw people leaving a room which we would have liked, therefore we assumed that they had no intention of moving us to a front facing room.

The other niggle was the WiFi which was not available in our room since the signal strength was too poor. Other hotels WiFi could be picked up in our room which was a bit irritating. Maybe this would not have been a problem if our room was not at the end of a corridor. On the patio next to the reception, the WiFi had very low strength, a better strength signal was available from a neighbouring hotel. The speed was generally good when it worked, generally 5 Mbps download and 1 Mbps upload.

Having mentioned the above, like I said in the introduction, the Gran Sol is a good hotel with some of the best food in any hotel that I've been in. For me, improving the WiFi signal so that it was accessible in all rooms would make this a truly great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BE1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel is really nice and I am happy almost with everything. Dont understand why but sometimes we did not have enough shower gel in the bathroom and on the last day I had to use my own shampoo instead of soap.
Agree that there is a problem with sun beds and not only because people were putting towels at 6 am every day buy simply because it is not enough to have only around 20 sun beds in the hotel with 50 rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sasha84_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
2.1 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#5 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
42.8 mi away
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#6 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
26.2 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
4.5 mi away
Park Hyatt Mallorca
Park Hyatt Mallorca
#1 of 14 in Canyamel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Sol

Property: Gran Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo Cb 4, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Spa Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in front of the sea, in Cala Bona, a fishing village, where fishermen can be seen heading out to sea from its pretty harbour.The totally renovated hotel has all modern commodities available for their client’s enjoyment. A PERFECT PLACE FOR A REST. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Gran Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Sol Cala Bona, Majorca
Gran Sol Hotel Cala Bona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing