We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Gran Sol

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cala Bona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gran Sol
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 week in mid May. We had a room on the side of the hotel with a sea view which had the morning sun and up until about mid day which was fine for us. We did ask about the rooms facing directly out over the sea and were told these were very popular and often requested in advance by e-mailing the hotel. Can't fault the hotel, very clean and food, bar and facilities excellent. Perhaps not the 5 star thomsons claim but certainly 4 star.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clivealtrincham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    107
    27
    4
    0
See reviews for
104
446
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed for 1 week from 30 April-7 May. Find it very hard to find fault. Room and bathroom both fitted out very well, good beds. Good size balcony. Don't worry if you don't get a sea view because the view over the street is fine with good sunshine in late afternoon. Not noisy at night either. The food here is absolutely superb. You will not get bored with it. Trouble is you just wanna keep eating! Alcohol prices in the hotel are also reasonable. The staff are polite, attentive, never in your face but very willing to help. Many people we spoke to have returned which is evident as many staff recognised previous guests with smiles and hugs which was great to see. Could write more but that's enough for now. We loved it and will return.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank IAN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in April 2013 for 10days and had a Sea View room with balcony definitely worth paying for. The hotel staff are wonderful and cannot be faulted - nothing is too much trouble for them. The food is very good and you would find it difficult to complain. The drinks are extremely good value and the House Wine can be recommended. I must add the weather was beautiful too. The lunches we had on the terrace were also amazing and very generous. A really big thank you to everyone for making this holiday wonderful, we will definitely return.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room with balcony on the side of the hotel on the 2nd Floor, the only improvement...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kenbar49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I reviewed the Gran Sol a couple of years ago. This time I returned as a single person and I wondered how I would manage. From the moment I arrived, I knew I was going to be ok. Quite a few staff remembered me from previous visits and helped me along the difficult path of being alone, having previously been with my wife (RIP). I booked B&B. ( Spoilt for choice breakfast and everything cooked to order). I dined in all week, probably because of comfort zone, needless to say the dining experience was very good too. Everyone at the Gran Sol cared for my every need. A special thank you to Sylvia and also Pedro behind the bar. A new experience and remains as my previous review, one of the best hotels I've stayed in.

Room Tip: Must be Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ptrA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

What a lovely hotel. We had a ground floor suite and there were 3 of us in the room, however we didn't feel croweded at all. The patio outside was only yards from the beach, however due to the bad weather we didn't venture down. The hotel staff cannot be faulted, everyone from the receptionists, barmen and cleaners are polite and very very helpfull. Cala Bona itself is not very inspiring, we chose it specifically due to the long flat boulevard for my mothers mobility scooter. Having said that we had a lovely relaxing week in a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armstrong1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here at the in the second week of April.A wonderfully peaceful hotel with excellent service.We had a beautiful room on the beach with full seaview.The breakfasts were excellent!Best fruit we have ever had.Dinner was a little 'hit and miss'!House wine was very good and excellent value.All staff were really lovely.Drinks and lunch on the terrace were very good value and of good quality.
Would definitely return,but would probably go b and b.
The two Thomson reps were fantastic!!
If you want peace,a lovely hotel with excellent service and good value,give it a try!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NickyRNorwichEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks at the end of March / beginning of April. This is a lovely hotel with an excellent location near to the harbour and also Cala Millor in the other direction. Thalassa in the harbour is a lovely place for coffee and our favourite restaurant was Fortys, which is only a 5 minute walk towards Cala Millor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WeLoveToReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
2.1 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#6 of 19 in Cala Bona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
42.8 mi away
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#8 of 19 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
26.2 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
4.5 mi away
Park Hyatt Mallorca
Park Hyatt Mallorca
#1 of 14 in Canyamel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Sol

Property: Gran Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo Cb 4, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Spa Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in front of the sea, in Cala Bona, a fishing village, where fishermen can be seen heading out to sea from its pretty harbour.The totally renovated hotel has all modern commodities available for their client’s enjoyment. A PERFECT PLACE FOR A REST. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gran Sol Cala Bona, Majorca
Gran Sol Hotel Cala Bona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing