We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional hotel in many ways!”
Review of Gran Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gran Sol
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
edinburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Exceptional hotel in many ways!”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed at Gran Sol Hotel, Cala Bona on 21st till 28th April 2012 & were very pleased that all the reviews we had read on trip advisor were true. An 'adult only' contemporary modern hotel, Easily worthy of 4 stars! We found it hard to find fault.
We had a seaview room (315) which was lovely, we liked to listen & watch the ever changing sea. Everything was modern & clean, the beds were comfortable, the shower was powerful and there was a flat screen TV.
The only hidden extra was the cost to hire the safe everything else was provided for an excellent holiday.
All areas of the hotel were cleaned & maintained to an exceptional standard.
The staff were fabulous, Miguele in the restaurant & all the staff were attentive & made dining a highly enjoyable experience. The highlight was every morning Angeles cooked a fabulous fresh breakfast whilst each guest waited.
We liked the location close to Cala Bona harbour, the option to use the facilities in the Levante Hotel next door, the ease of using public transport to visit other towns.
We would have liked coffee & water to be included with dinner although there was tea/coffee making facilities in our room.
Worth a visit you will not be disappointed if you are looking for an 'Adult Only' Boutique style Hotel.

Room Tip: We were in room 315 which was a full seaview other rooms are side sea view or street view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shaz63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    109
    28
    5
    0
See reviews for
105
455
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

Just got back today and 10 wonderful days. Stayed in Junior suite. Beautiful room with a fantastic view. Walls very thick so you can't hear the room next door.

Food and staff were excellent and would help with any request.

Tips for anyone.
1) safe in room costs 2 euros per day
2) you dont need to take a towel
3) hotel prices very reasonable
4) book exchange has over 100 books so don't take loads
5) sunbathe on roof
6) tv has itv and BBC
7) free wi-fi
8) get 2 room keys

Only negative I found was the gym. The equipment is broken, dirty and bloody useless.

Hope this helps. It is a wonderful hotel and I will be going back.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank placy818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We have just returned from this hotel where we stayed last week. This was the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in for a resort holiday. The service and staff were excellent as well as the cleanliness of the hotel.

The choice of food in the restaurant both at breakfast and evening meal was superb. The restaurant had a lovely relaxing feel and you could sit for a couple of hours with a bottle of wine and feel like you were eating out in a nice restaurant and not in the normal hotel canteen environment.

We upgraded to a superior seaview room and the little extra touches made the room extra special i.e. bathrobes, slippers, fruit basket, tea and coffee making facilities, reasonably priced minibar. The drinks and food in the hotel were a good price and each day they offered a special cocktail, lunch item and dessert at a special price.

The whole holiday was superb

Room Tip: upgrade to seaview room or superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank holidaymad49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sande
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Had the pleasure to stay 4 nights at Gran Sol.
I especially liked that the hotel faced the beach directly; there is no rods and traffic between the hotel, garden and the sea. Even the front of the hotel is quiet; the street is not for cars. There are two small pools, one outside in the garden, with sunbeds, and one inside on the roof, with sunbeds outside on the roof. Very relaxing and friendly place.
Quiet, clean hotel with nice staff. Rooms are modern and well equipped, bathroom spacious and clean.
Restaurant is fronting the beach and is basic, but clean and not to crowdie. I only eat breakfast at the hotel, and this was ok. The dinner the first day, did not give a good first impression, so we went outside and found good food for a lower price, within 300 m. Because off that, I can´t review the food, but there was a lot of guests for every meal.
Reception and lobby bar friendly and accommodating, drinks, beer and coffee are very good, and there are a lot of sitting groups inside and outside.
I will absolutely go back, if I can get a room, all rooms besides two are pre-ordered.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jcsyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Just returned from cala bona having stayed at the gran sol.My husband and i found this hotel lovely, well positioned for walking to the harbour in cala bona or along the front to cala millor.
We upgraded to a junior suite as this was a treat.Although very nice we were a little disappointed with the size not having stayed in any hotels with suites before, we were expecting a little more.In essence all it means is a seperate area with a sofa & tv.
A WORD OF WARNING ALTHOUGH NOT A PRUDE THE DOOR ON THE LOO HAS NO LOCK BECAUSE ITS GLASS EVERYBODY NEEDS A LITTLE PRIVACY AT SOMETIME !!!!!!!!!!!!
may be this was just in the suites i don't know just be prepared.the food in hotel was good only had breakfast but very enjoyable.staff very friendly, a lovely clean hotel

Room Tip: ask for a room without a glass door
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rea1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

As a hotel which seems to only be available as part of a Thomson package, it really is very good. It's not one of those vast, impersonal blocks of concrete so you do recognise most of the guests and get chatting. Rooms are light, modern, with tea / coffee kettle, dressing-gowns, slippers, etc. There is a good sized patio area and pool, and if it's not too warm and a bit breezy, the sun decks on the 4th floor are sheltered with a great sea view.

The food is very good for a package buffet, although it does get a bit repetitive after a few days. Rather than go half board I would recommend B&B, as the cost of eating in the restaurant is practically the same as Thomson charge for the package, so this would give you the choice of eating in the hotel or trying some of the many restaurants around. As others have noted, the staff are very friendly and efficient.

Niggles? Well one, why spoil things by asking for €2 per day to use the in-room safe? This is petty as many hotels don't charge for this now. And, also, when they refurbished the hotel, why on earth did they replace simple, reliable, cost-effective light switches with electronic buttons which require a page in the welcome pack to explain? And many of the surrounds were falling off.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are really that, particularly on the 2nd and 3rd flloors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andy Bernard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We have just returned from a week at this wonderful Hotel. From the moment we arrived and checked in we could not fault this Hotel. We were handed a cocktail as our bags were taken to our room. The room was very clean modern and spacious, with robes and slippers and beach towels all provided. The restaurant and bar staff were all very polite and friendly. Food was really nice with plenty of choice and fresh meat and fish was cooked to order every night. On the day we checked out we had to,leave our room at 12 noon and our transfer was not until 4.30, but a lovely room was provided for us to shower and change.We have already recommended this hotel to friends and family and would definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: Request a room above the restaurant to get a full sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lesdenbandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#6 of 19 in Cala Bona
723 reviews
2.1 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#7 of 19 in Cala Bona
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.8 mi away
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#11 of 19 in Cala Bona
740 reviews
0.1 mi away
Som Llevant Suites
Som Llevant Suites
#14 of 19 in Cala Bona
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Sol

Property: Gran Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo Cb 4, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Spa Hotel in Cala Bona
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in front of the sea, in Cala Bona, a fishing village, where fishermen can be seen heading out to sea from its pretty harbour.The totally renovated hotel has all modern commodities available for their client’s enjoyment. A PERFECT PLACE FOR A REST. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Gran Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Sol Cala Bona, Majorca
Gran Sol Hotel Cala Bona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing