We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Relaxing Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gran Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gran Sol
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Beautiful Relaxing Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

We have just returned from this hotel where we stayed last week. This was the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in for a resort holiday. The service and staff were excellent as well as the cleanliness of the hotel.

The choice of food in the restaurant both at breakfast and evening meal was superb. The restaurant had a lovely relaxing feel and you could sit for a couple of hours with a bottle of wine and feel like you were eating out in a nice restaurant and not in the normal hotel canteen environment.

We upgraded to a superior seaview room and the little extra touches made the room extra special i.e. bathrobes, slippers, fruit basket, tea and coffee making facilities, reasonably priced minibar. The drinks and food in the hotel were a good price and each day they offered a special cocktail, lunch item and dessert at a special price.

The whole holiday was superb

Room Tip: upgrade to seaview room or superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank holidaymad49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    105
    26
    4
    0
See reviews for
102
438
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sande
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

Had the pleasure to stay 4 nights at Gran Sol.
I especially liked that the hotel faced the beach directly; there is no rods and traffic between the hotel, garden and the sea. Even the front of the hotel is quiet; the street is not for cars. There are two small pools, one outside in the garden, with sunbeds, and one inside on the roof, with sunbeds outside on the roof. Very relaxing and friendly place.
Quiet, clean hotel with nice staff. Rooms are modern and well equipped, bathroom spacious and clean.
Restaurant is fronting the beach and is basic, but clean and not to crowdie. I only eat breakfast at the hotel, and this was ok. The dinner the first day, did not give a good first impression, so we went outside and found good food for a lower price, within 300 m. Because off that, I can´t review the food, but there was a lot of guests for every meal.
Reception and lobby bar friendly and accommodating, drinks, beer and coffee are very good, and there are a lot of sitting groups inside and outside.
I will absolutely go back, if I can get a room, all rooms besides two are pre-ordered.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jcsyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Just returned from cala bona having stayed at the gran sol.My husband and i found this hotel lovely, well positioned for walking to the harbour in cala bona or along the front to cala millor.
We upgraded to a junior suite as this was a treat.Although very nice we were a little disappointed with the size not having stayed in any hotels with suites before, we were expecting a little more.In essence all it means is a seperate area with a sofa & tv.
A WORD OF WARNING ALTHOUGH NOT A PRUDE THE DOOR ON THE LOO HAS NO LOCK BECAUSE ITS GLASS EVERYBODY NEEDS A LITTLE PRIVACY AT SOMETIME !!!!!!!!!!!!
may be this was just in the suites i don't know just be prepared.the food in hotel was good only had breakfast but very enjoyable.staff very friendly, a lovely clean hotel

Room Tip: ask for a room without a glass door
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rea1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

As a hotel which seems to only be available as part of a Thomson package, it really is very good. It's not one of those vast, impersonal blocks of concrete so you do recognise most of the guests and get chatting. Rooms are light, modern, with tea / coffee kettle, dressing-gowns, slippers, etc. There is a good sized patio area and pool, and if it's not too warm and a bit breezy, the sun decks on the 4th floor are sheltered with a great sea view.

The food is very good for a package buffet, although it does get a bit repetitive after a few days. Rather than go half board I would recommend B&B, as the cost of eating in the restaurant is practically the same as Thomson charge for the package, so this would give you the choice of eating in the hotel or trying some of the many restaurants around. As others have noted, the staff are very friendly and efficient.

Niggles? Well one, why spoil things by asking for €2 per day to use the in-room safe? This is petty as many hotels don't charge for this now. And, also, when they refurbished the hotel, why on earth did they replace simple, reliable, cost-effective light switches with electronic buttons which require a page in the welcome pack to explain? And many of the surrounds were falling off.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are really that, particularly on the 2nd and 3rd flloors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andy Bernard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

We have just returned from a week at this wonderful Hotel. From the moment we arrived and checked in we could not fault this Hotel. We were handed a cocktail as our bags were taken to our room. The room was very clean modern and spacious, with robes and slippers and beach towels all provided. The restaurant and bar staff were all very polite and friendly. Food was really nice with plenty of choice and fresh meat and fish was cooked to order every night. On the day we checked out we had to,leave our room at 12 noon and our transfer was not until 4.30, but a lovely room was provided for us to shower and change.We have already recommended this hotel to friends and family and would definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: Request a room above the restaurant to get a full sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lesdenbandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhoughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
344 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012 via mobile

I am currently staying here and from the moment I arrived was blown away. The reception drink was very welcome and a nice touch.

The staff are polite, friendly, helpful and happy :)
The rooms are spacious, light, very clean, very well equipped with all the essentials Nd a few nice extra touches such as bath robes, slippers, toiletries, a mini bar that you can afford, we also have a great sea view. Tea/coffee facilties and a supply of bisuits re stocked daily along with a fruit basket and a complimentary bottle of water. Also equipped with free wifi throughout and a cable was provided for the room, very quick broadband.

Outside and the overall hotel. immaculate bar and pool area, free pool towels provided as and when required along with being told you can take them to the beach. The beach is directly off the garden areA.

The hotel looks fab and the entrance is very modern and chic, the chandeliers look very much in place. The dining room has great views over the sea and is elegant inside, the cutlery shines and against he waiting team are nothing but excellent at their jobs. The quiet games room is a nice place to sit int he evening if you are not interested in what's on the tv (I.e. football when the brits are in town)

The food: WOW, I could not ask for better, a superb choice and lots of it, variety each night whilst keeping a generic fab selection. Desserts amazing, salads fabulous and everything presented beautifully. Oh and then there is the home made marmalades.....

Drinks and lunch: the hotel is not expensive so much so that you can stay here all day and afford the sangria, cocktails and lunches. Different specials each day and a cocktail of the day at special rates.

I can honestly say nothing bad about the Gran Sol and can't wait to come back, which I will.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
18 Thank lisajlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a weeks holiday in the Gran Sol Cala Bona. It was amazing. We have stayed in many 4/5 star hotels all over the world and the Gran Sol takes some beating. The standard of service, the quality of the food and the resort itself is fantastic. The hotel has only 58 rooms and as a consequence you feel that you are getting one-to-one attention all the time. Nothing is too much trouble. The food is of the highest quality and varies each evening, with meat and fish main courses cooked to order. Although there is no entertainment provided, the sister hotel next door provides activities and evening entertainment every day. We are already planning to return later in the year.

Ann & Barry - Lancashire

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank unimanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
2.1 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#5 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
42.8 mi away
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#7 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
26.2 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
4.5 mi away
Park Hyatt Mallorca
Park Hyatt Mallorca
#1 of 14 in Canyamel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Sol

Property: Gran Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo Cb 4, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Spa Hotel in Cala Bona
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in front of the sea, in Cala Bona, a fishing village, where fishermen can be seen heading out to sea from its pretty harbour.The totally renovated hotel has all modern commodities available for their client’s enjoyment. A PERFECT PLACE FOR A REST. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Gran Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Sol Cala Bona, Majorca
Gran Sol Hotel Cala Bona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing