We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel!”
Review of Gran Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gran Sol
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love this hotel!”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Visited hotel in August for my mums 60th birthday. Asked for a seaview room and got it - seen some reviews complaining about being a side sea view, but we actually liked this because (being nosy types!) we could watch people come and go! Loved getting a glass of fruit juice on arrival, and getting suitcases delivered to room. Room was lovely - so clean and airy. Pool area was nice, and outside seats were lovely to sit at for lunch. Food was amazing - don't think I've ever eaten so well. I'm not normally a bit eater, but had 3 courses every night in the Gran Sol. Traditionally on holiday, we'd eat out once or twice, but this didn't happen, since the food was so lovely and changed every night. Staff were all brilliant. Mum got a surprise bottle of champage and chocolates for birthday, and when she went to thank the manager, she knew our name straight away, which I thought was nice! Already planning next years trip back to the Gran Sol!

Room Tip: Think some ground floor rooms lack a balcony/terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HMG87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    110
    28
    5
    0
See reviews for
106
466
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed in the Gran Sol for tourist week and it was superb to say the least. From the cocktail when you arrive, to the friendly atmosphere it was excellent. The bars staff Christian, Raul. Javi and Santi are great.Sylvia the manager and Miguel from the dining room and his staff are also second to none. If you like a quiet, tastful and pleasant 4 star hotel, look no further. The food was of a high class and was always hot and many items cooked to order. Because we arrived for the tourist week all guest were given a little present which was left outside your room door in a little gold mesh bag, inside was a Sex in the City perfume set for ladies and a Jean Paul Gaultier perfume and a John Paul Galtier aftershave which was a great surprise and a nice gesture from the hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Our visit to this wonderful hotel in September was a most enjoyable experience, and this must be one of the best hotels we have stayed in during our many trips throughout Europe. I’m pretty sure it would be very difficult to find fault with anything. It is a small hotel, beautifully but simply furnished with style, and all areas were immaculate. We had e-mailed the hotel before we travelled and requested a room with full sea view – and we were given a beautiful room on the 3rd floor with a lovely view of the beach which is immediately in front of the hotel. The bottled water and fresh fruit in the room was a nice touch – as was the cocktail given to us as we were checking in! Pool towels were provided and toiletries topped-up as and when required. It is also very nice to have tea/coffee-making facilities provided – something sadly lacking in most continental hotels!

The staff were very friendly and helpful – both in the dining room and in the bar and reception area. The choice and quality of food is superb – always a vast choice with much of it cooked in front of you. Although we had booked half-board, it is possible to take bed and breakfast and then pay for dinner if you decide to eat in on some evenings, and I can’t imagine you would find a better meal anywhere for the 15 euros per person charge! We also had a very nice lunch on some of the days.

The pool area is very nice, and there is even a hoist to help the less mobile into the pool! Unfortunately the area around the pool is quite small, so there was always a scramble for sun beds. However, it was good to see that the hotel did not just cram in lots of extra beds, and there was always lots of space around each sun bed. Perhaps in the future the hotel could think of using some of the grassy area in front of the hotel to supplement the sun beds on offer. There is a lovely terraced area with comfortable sofas and chairs where guests can sit in the shade and read or enjoy a drink.

We spoke to quite a number of guests who frequently return to the hotel - and I am pretty sure that we will too!!

Room Tip: Although most rooms have a sea view, some have a side sea view only. There are also some rooms look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank holtog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Ahhhhhh, what fond memories I have! You are treated like royalty! Greeted with drinks, personal service, clean modern rooms, happy staff falling over themselves to help you, local advice, stunning views - Luxury!! I loved it! We had a fabulous time. Food is AMAZING and service is so prompt!! I can't praise the place enough. The resort itself is just a typical holiday resort but we hired a car (helped of course by the wonderful reception staff!!!) and enjoyed the whole of Majorca. I would advise to turn right out of the hotel for classier bars/restaurants as, if you turn left, you walk after about a mile into the next resort, which is ok but just not as nice. Do not hesitate - book it now!!!!

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the beach if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MissB30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

This Hotel is one of the best.The staff are efficient and very friendly and help to make your holiday special.From Reception staff,Bar staff and Restaurant staff with a special mention for Miguel and Laura who always ensured we were well looked after in the Dining Room which provided a vast choice of good quality food both at Breakfast and Dinner. The show cooking was excellent which included top class bacon at breakfast as well as steak or fish at Dinner.One minor issue in the Restaurant was the close proximity of the tables which could seem as if you were almost sharing a table with others. The public areas were spotless as were the bedrooms.The rooms overlooking the pedestrianised area over the Hotel entrance were very sunny and quiet but some adjoining rooms could be a problem resulting in overhearing conversations through the two doors.The outside area around the swimming pool and the lawned area ajoining the bar area is immaculate and the lunches served are good and well presented and it was a joy to sit and enjoy the sea view.The Cala Bona is a special hotel with excellent staff, well presented in all areas.Well recommended for a quality, relaxing, quiet stay.

Room Tip: All rooms will be of the same high quality.Book early as many visitors are paying return visits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susieBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton-on-Trent
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Our October holiday was the second to the Gran Sol in Cala Bona this year. An early start, 04:35 for the Thomson East Midlands flight, with lots of cost for extras, poor reception at Palma airport, no direction to the coach and no Rep on the coach and this was the second time the air conditioning hadn't worked on the coach transfer. The hotel reception was first class and following an Email from me, they met our request for one of the four, fourth floor rooms. The difference from the June holiday was the suns position, in June sun rose on the balcony at 04:00 and left at 19:30, in October 07:50 and left at 2:30, the hotel facing South East is a lot less sunny in the Autumn. This was our second visit to the hotel and the staff at reception, in the dining room and the bar remembered us and were very welcoming and attentive. We made a re-acquaintance with two guests who were at the hotel in June as many guests are returners, the new acquittance's we made were friendly but not apprehensive. The rooms and public areas were clean and pleasant, the pool, not being heated was far cooler than the sea, two of the sun loungers were broken. We had a number of problems with the room, however these were remedied quickly and included; a detached waste pipe on the wash basin, the toilet flush button vanished into the wall, twice we were not left the full compliment of towels, the toilet seat and the shower bracket were lose. The food was even better than in June, the quality of the breakfast, cooked to order, the fresh and smoked salmon, mussels, prawns and crab were enhanced by the freshest salads. Plenty of other choices included a Chinese selection and a gala night. Cala Bona in October was very quite with a lot less visitors, however we found live entertainment on every evening at no cost, including one nights entertainment in our hotel. The harbour, the traffic free promenade with cycle hire readily available, the atmosphere was one of it being completely safe to wander out at midnight. We went on a Thomson trip to the North of the Island, we had a great guide but expensive for a two stop trip to Pollenca and Port de Pollenca for £24/head. Plenty of trips were available on the glass bottomed Cat boats at reasonable cost from the Harbour. The transfer back to the airport required an early start, 07:25, with only a light continental breakfast, in an unattended dining room. The June holiday was our first to Majorca since 1978 and we enjoyed the June holiday so much we took the October holiday, the weather was perfect with temperatures in the upper 20's, low 30's with just one windy day. We will return to the hotel next year, all being well.

Room Tip: The 4th floor is the top floor with and the four rooms over look the beach and the traffic free road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 190GAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

what can i say, this hotel is perfect, very clean, excellent food,modern, proffesional staff very polite and friendly. the area has everything we wanted the shops and resturants close by and far enough away from the hotel as to not spoil it. The hotel being practically on the beach is stunning and the pool area is small and quite...perfect. we went to this hotel 1st for a week, and just had to go back again last year for 2weeks. And plan to go again next year. truely it was such a pleasant and enjoyable and relaxing place that i intend to return to time after time after time.

Room Tip: i wouldnt want a room at the front of the hotel go for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
0.3 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#6 of 19 in Cala Bona
790 reviews
2.1 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#7 of 19 in Cala Bona
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#12 of 19 in Cala Bona
750 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#4 of 19 in Cala Bona
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Som Llevant Suites
Som Llevant Suites
#14 of 19 in Cala Bona
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Sol

Property: Gran Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo Cb 4, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Spa Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in front of the sea, in Cala Bona, a fishing village, where fishermen can be seen heading out to sea from its pretty harbour.The totally renovated hotel has all modern commodities available for their client’s enjoyment. A PERFECT PLACE FOR A REST. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Gran Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Sol Cala Bona, Majorca
Gran Sol Hotel Cala Bona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing