We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely views..........as long as.......”
Review of Hotel Cala Bona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cala Bona
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2013

........you make sure you get a 'genuine' sea view. We booked a standard room with balcony and sea view, but ended up with an unsatisfactory position around the side of the building. We certainly had a sea view to the side of us, but directly opposite was the bar restaurant and accommodation above. Plenty of balconies and all looking into our room which incidentally did not have any privacy net curtains.

After the first night we asked for a transfer, and to be fair, they managed to find us a beautiful room in another block which this time had a glorious view over the very picturesque harbour. It was far enough away from the main bar which meant that it was very quiet of an evening. It was spacious and clean, offering all that we needed for a comfortable stay - as long as you like a 'firm' bed!

Staff were excellent and welcoming to their guests who can be described as the older generation. There were plenty of repeat customers, some of whom obviously expected preferential treatment on the strength of it judging by some of the conversations in Reception.

The food was OK but typical of the standard you find with mass catering to meet the needs of holidaying Brits. We enjoyed our lunches away from the hotel to try some of the local cuisine.

Entertainment was of a good standard, with the 4 Seasons and Elvis tribute acts especially enjoyable.

Overall, we thought we got a good deal for our money. Whilst I'm on the subject of money, I wish I'd taken British £s with me rather than euros. Plenty of places in resort up the road at Cala Millor that were offering much better rates than banks/post offices etc.

Room Tip: Check out which building you are in and verify the nature of the 'sea view'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hertsbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

727 - 733 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

We go twice a year this hotel and resort is the best in Mallorca, Lovely family run hotel, all the staff are so friendly and helpfull, lovely selection of food in the restaurant, the waiters and bar staff are second to none so entertaining and fun,and the evening entertainment in the hotel is brilliant first class acts, where you can boogie the night away, or sit outside under the brollys and watch the world go by wonderful. thats why so many people go back year after year,roll on 2014 :D.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davet190786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was our second visit to Cala Bona but our first visit to Hotel Cala Bona. We arrived on the 26th of September, we had booked a superior room on the second floor overlooking the harbour for one week. The room and the views were amazing and exceeded our expectations. The rooms were very clean and spacious, equipped with a kettle and fridge, which is always a welcome bonus. The hotel itself was really nice and had an amazing atmosphere. The Staff could of not been more welcoming and friendly and in my opinion the staff are what make the hotel what it is and keep the customers returning. As a first time visitor myself I could not of felt more welcome by the staff and we will be returning again, so ignore any negative comments regarding the staff. The food was lovely with plenty to choose from, something different each day. The pool area was lovely, pool very cold but was very nice to cool down in after been in the hot sun. The pool staff were always laughing and singing which was lovely to see. The bar had a huge list of drinks and food to choose from. when ordering drinks you were given a free snack with your drink, which I thought was a nice extra touch. the bar staff were very friendly and efficient. We had an amazing holiday so see you next year Hotel cala bona, but this time for two weeks! As a couple in our late 20s we will be the future returning customers to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

On reading some of these reviews I wondered if some people had been to the same hotel as my wife and I. From the moment we checked in we knew we were on holiday, the humour, consideration and professionalism of the staff and management was incredible "Hello Jimmy" from the doorman to the singing, tomfoolery from the poolside waiter made every day one to look forward to. The Hotel is located in Cala Bona a town at the end of the beaten track, therefore not a a place that people stop then move on. The town is idyllic and the Hotel compliments this fabulous fishing harbour. We were there during "Tourist Fiesta" and this was truly wonderful, the Hotel laid on some wonderful events. If you want a break in late Sept/Oct, choose the Cala Bona Hotel, trust me

Room Tip: A sea view room, to enjoy the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DW1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

we have just returned from this hotel and all I can say that it was outstanding!friendly staff everyone of them.clean room.great views over the harbour.shows every night.cant fault it in any way.elizabeth and alan chandler west midlands.also must comment on the beds , memory foam mattresses .what bliss!

Room Tip: dont be afraid to book over bar ,any noise disappears like magic when you shut your door.excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizabethchandler111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This was our 6th Visit to Cala Bona and our 2nd stay in the Hotel Cala Bona. We have booked both stays direct as you can pick exactly which kind of room you want and where etc and save quite a bit of money along the way. Our room was on the 3rd Floor overlooking the harbour on the bar building. The room was lovely size, the rain shower wet room style shower was fabulous. Beds very comfy and the view, well what can you say, simply breathtaking, Ideal for watching a Beautiful Cala Bona Sunrise. The restaurant with your own table allocated for the duration of your stay (I think this is a wonderful idea) was lovely, though pretty crowded as the hotel was pretty full. Sebastian implements the very personal touch and you feel very welcome and special.
The food on the whole was very good, we felt much improved on last year. Although the selection is a little limited, it was all delicious and I found something tasty to eat every night. The breakfasts were great (expecially the poached eggs) but I felt that quite often the trays were left empty after 9am even though breakfast is 8-10am we quite often had to wait for bacon and beans etc being replenished, every morning for bacon tray was empty. Also they only have sausages on every 3 days, what's that all about ?????? Hubby was most disappointed as they're his favourite. We didn't use the pool area as we prefer the beach, but went up one day for a couple of hours and it was perfectly pleasant though a little crowded. The main bar and the seats out in the square are a delight, although you have to be there early for a seat for bingo or the wonderful live entertainment which is always to a very high standard in particular Jukebox Jersey Boys, 70's Rock and Ancora El Divo. Though we missed Duo Isla who weren't there this year and are simply the best, fingers crossed they will be back next year. The waiters, staff and management in this hotel are a delight. The waiters are right characters and keep you chuckling all night long. Special mention to Miguel, his drop glass trick gets us everytime, he's an absolute star. They all work so very hard. The resort itself is delightful which keeps us coming back again and again. Be sure to go along to Port Verd for an afternoon stroll and a drink, the views are simply stunning. Also highly recommend Melis Bar, The Thalassa and L'oliva for fantastic food. L'Oliva has the most delicious tapas, We will return again to Cala Bona next year as we love the resort and can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Make sure you pay extra for a seaview room, its a must as some of the standard rooms have no outlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Totally agree with the previous review we don't think this hotel will not have any clients in 20 years the staff are only paying attention to returning clients and new guests are totally ignored several times we smiled to the staff and tried to get their attention for drinks etc but if we had been coming for twenty years and knew their names then they are happy to serve you !! How about they introduce themselves to you so that you get to know them ??funny how waiter became sociable once they knew it was our last day!! The food was ok but the restaurant is not a dining experience as the tables are so close together ok if you are part of the returning gang and know each other. The usual rush for the sun beds happened every morning with a queue forming at 7am for the door opening at 8am !! And the looks you get if you are in one of the regulars place !! This hotel is great if you are over 70 and look after the staff well but we would love to have felt more welcomed to this hotel we will not be returning but just a suggestion Cala Bona Hotel look after New clients in their 40s as we are your future business !!! We will not be returning !!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the harbour or pool as we were in the back street overlooking the back road wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 930Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala Bona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#8 of 19 in Cala Bona
980 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#6 of 19 in Cala Bona
633 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#10 of 19 in Cala Bona
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#3 of 19 in Cala Bona
369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Som Llevant Suites
Som Llevant Suites
#14 of 19 in Cala Bona
458 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grupotel Mallorca Mar
Grupotel Mallorca Mar
#12 of 19 in Cala Bona
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cala Bona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cala Bona

Address: Passeig del Moll, 7, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cala Bona 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cala Bona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Bona Hotel
Hotel Cala Bona Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing