We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cala Bona Hotel....never disappoints!!”
Review of Hotel Cala Bona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cala Bona
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cala Bona Hotel....never disappoints!!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I have been going back to Cala Bona for 12 years now, and there are not many hotels we have not stayed at in the town.

The Cala Bona is amongst the best, the staff are friendly, the rooms are very good and the food (although sometimes quite repetitious) is good quality and tasty. The restaurant manager (Sebastian) keeps a tight ship, although there are some disrespectful guests who ignore the "long trouser" rule for evening meal ....we just put it down to their ignorance, it's a small price to pay even though one is on holidays. I just adhered to the rule and changed into shorts later...."SIMPLES!!" as the Meerkat says.

You are guaranteed quality entertainment every evening, but get there early for a good seat.....beware of the "Bingo-ites". The waiters are fantastic fun.... especially Miguel (Michael); he'll have you in raptures!!
Be sure to visit the Rope and Anchor ... you'll get a great welcome from Lee, Lois and their "Super-waitress" Claire....she never stops working!!! Food quality is excellent, and cooked in that "British way".

Another location where you will get an excellent welcome is the Argos British Bar just to the right of the harbour, in the front street. Lorraine and family are great, good food and an excellent pint of Guinness, for those gentlemen who like a glass of the "black stuff"
.
Looking forward to 2014 already ....this years' two weeks in June/July went sooooo quick!!

But, as Arnie said..... "I'll (we'll) be back!!!!"

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillyn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    327
    107
    38
    17
See reviews for
235
611
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Returned home today from Cala Bona Hotel. Had a room in the Pergola block overlooking the swimming pool. Large room, kept spotlessly clean. Breakfast selection was excellent, evening meal choices got a little boring. They cater for the British but you will not go hungary. Excellent location on the harbour with plenty of outside seating in the evening. Different act each evening, some good some ok. The staff are very pleasant and we found them helpful. We have been to the Cala Bona Hotel a few times and would return.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happytravellers84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Had a fantastic holiday in this hotel. We booked a superior room with a sea view so it was a room at the front of the hotel. Rooms were very modern, all blue and white. Air con was set at 23c which was cool on returning to our room and cool enough to sleep at night. Beds were really comfy and the maid did a great job at keeping our room clean . The food in the restaurant was varied every night and there were chefs carving meats every night too. The entertainment was good most nights and the bar staff friendly and attentive.. The pool area was always clean and we never had a problem getting sun beds even though it was peak season. Mostly older couples holidaying here so there were not many children and the pool area was always peaceful and relaxing. The location of this hotel is fantastic being the centre of the harbour and there was a great atmosphere in the hotel and on the terraces outside. I would definitely return to this hotel after having a lovely holiday there!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank allysonh593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Just returned from Cala Bona Hotel thank goodness as I could not have stood another night in our room. We booked a superior room which was ok but the air conditioning was not on and as it was very hot outside you needed it to be cool when you returned to your room. I complained to reception a few times but nothing was done. It seems the refurbished rooms air con was controlled by reception, unlike the standard rooms which you could control yourself. At night it was impossible to sleep because it was like being in an oven and the memory foam mattress did not help either. I was not the only person to complain, it seems quite a few people in the superior rooms complained. If I had wanted a room without air con I could have got a cheaper hotel and saved some money. Such a shame, I hope they have put it on now.

Room Tip: Avoid superior rooms, as ours was a furnished oven!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GreenySandbach81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Holidayed at the Hotel Cala Bona on a family recommendation and we weren't disappointed. Food was good and the staff very friendly. Sadly our room was a disappointment as one bed was so close to the wardrobe you could select your clothes whilst lying down and the space at the foot of the bed was only a mere 18 inches to the wall. However you only sleep their and the holiday is all about the weather, local area and beaches. Some great walks down through Cala Millor and on to Sa Coma and easy transport links to Palma, Porto Christo and Cala Ratjada. The hotel is situated by the harbour and there are some good cafes in the area as well.
We liked it and will use again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MartinWW1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake district
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Not really sure if 'jkinning' (review below) actually stayed at the same hotel, as i can only comment on my experience, the hotel is in a fantastic location, food was really good plenty of choice and always hot, the bar/lounge was fantastic, very vibrant and modern always excellent entertainment and prices not to bad at all. Never once saw the waiters drinking half empty glasses !!!!
Pool bar was again good, nice and clean serving a good selection of drinks and good food which came up from the main kitchen.
The staff were always pleeasant and helpful speaking excellent English.
My only tip is get a sea view room as the other have no/very limited veiws, and in peak season if you don't like queuing for a sun bed go to the beach as imagine there probably is not enough sun beds to accommadate all the guests.
Would i stay again....certainly will be going back, there were a lot and i mean a lot of people we spoke to go every year and have been for a long time, one couple had been going for 40yrs yep 40yrs, i think that speaks volumes.

Room Tip: sea veiw is essential, but not in the main block as they are directly over the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mijsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Very pleasantly surprised by a weeks stay at the Hotel Cala Bona which we recently had .The hotel was spotless throughout as was the Azul annexe in which we stayed.Our room was superb and cleaned every day, had flatscreen TV with a number of English channels ,the beds were comfortable and the sea view from our balcony was lovely.We found the food available at breakfast was very good whilst for evening meal was better than we have had at some higher rated hotels in the balearics but could still be improved upon The pool area was also very nice if a little crammed at times and the bar staff at the pool bar,one man inparticular ,really do have to concentrate a bit more on the job in hand it could and usually was utter chaos All in all though a great hotel that just needs a couple of improvements

Room Tip: Sea view in azul annexe Lovely views and quieter than main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Markr1962_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala Bona hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#6 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#8 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#13 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#5 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Som Llevant Suites
Som Llevant Suites
#14 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residencia Son Floriana
Residencia Son Floriana
#15 of 20 in Cala Bona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cala Bona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cala Bona

Property: Hotel Cala Bona
Address: Paseo Moll 7, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cala Bona 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cala Bona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Bona Hotel
Hotel Cala Bona Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing