We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It all hinges on the room you occupy”
Review of Hotel Cala Bona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cala Bona
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed here with my husband last September, we're in our mid fifties so didn't want "lively" and found this hotel just right. We paid no extra but were given a fabulous room, top floor, right in the centre of the hotel overlooking the beach. Just perfect. Rooms were bright, clean and comfortable, but the bed was hard and the liner didn't help very much. wifi, hair dryer, fridge, safe, decent TV with all channels. Tea making facilities with provisions topped up as needed. We didn't like the fancy lighting which took us a week to get to grips with.

We didn't like Cala Bona, it was rather dirty and dreary with the usual nic nac shops and restaurants. The square was nice at night but we found a week would have been enough. The huge Thomson Gold hotel opposite, would have been our worse nightmare. Full of all inclusive chain smoking beer swilling Brits whose idea of good entertainment is quiz nights and bingo. Avoid at all costs.

Restaurant at Cala Bona was lovely and food really good but we got the idea that it was certainly portion control. Staff are friendly and helpful but the public rooms weren't very comfortable.

Pool area is far too small to accommodate the amount of guests. As usual guests were creeping about at 7am reserving sun loungers, which given the size of the pool area, meant a lot of people are left disappointed. When oh when are hotels going to stop this practise? We went to one of the Sensatori hotels in March and guests were not permitted to reserve beds before 10am. Why don't they all do this????? There is a small area where guests leave beach umbrellas and inflatable lilos which saves having to buy them. The beach is shingle and a bit spiteful on your feet, but there are some lovely beaches within walking distance.

Would we return? Only if we could guarantee the same room. If we'd been given a room at the side, or even worse, the front of the hotel, we would have hated it.

Room Tip: Top floor and facing the beach is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank taylormaid1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

845 - 851 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently, early part of April, after booking a VERY last minute deal with Thomson. Not for the faint hearted - more on this later.

As others have said, the hotel is in a lovely spot, overlooking a small harbour. We were told that this area is extremely busy and noisy in high season, with lots going on, so perhaps the sea view rooms may not be to everyone's taste, then. When we were there, there was no street entertainment or kiosks but, enough people and bars, etc. open to give a pleasant atmosphere.

On arrival at Cala Bona (no Thomson rep on either transfer - not good), we were dropped off at the end of a narrow street, with a short walk to the hotel. This didn't concern us as I'd read the hotel's Reception position isn't the best of first sightings, but others seemed put out by this. Perhaps they don't visit TA?

What is strange though, is the hotel's collection of buildings, obviously acquired around the harbour over the years. It's strange because, whilst you would expect and accept this in a resort complex with its own grounds, the Cala Bona hotel isn't like that. In fact, it has only a small area of outside space (apart from the pavement terrace) and that's by the pool, on the first floor. So, if not in the main building, you will have a little stroll through the back streets to your accommodation block. That's all you can call them because, that's all that's in them!

We had paid extra for a sea view room which turned out to be a hanging sideways off the balcony, ignoring the high wall & rusty railings of the building opposite, version. It was extremely small, as in our bags had to go in the bathroom. The lack of view didn't bother us too much but what did was the awful noise from next door, where the constant entertainment was Let's See How Much Noise We Can Make Banging The Doors, Swearing and upping the TV Volume. We discovered, from Reception, that two rooms next to each other were being shared by a family with older children and boy, did they make a noise. The final straw was hearing, through the wall, a stream of f*** offs, so off to Reception to ask for a change of room.

Christina couldn't have been more helpful and understanding and, to our wonderful surprise, we were given an upgraded suite the next day. Thank you very much Cala Bona - it was a very generous offer. The suite overlooked the harbour and was big enough to live in - we decided we'd quite like to do that :-)

The food and entertainment are, as other reviews, very much geared to the UK market. We did notice some other nationalities in the hotel, and particularly in the bar in the evening, but not many. Not sure if it would change in the summer but the hotel knows its market. What it does well, it does extremely well.

The staff, with one noticeable exception, were all friendly and very helpful. The exception was the young man on our morning of departure, who denied we had booked an alarm call, hence our extremely rushed departure. My OH had not only booked it the day before but actually confirmed it with this individual the evening before. Yes, we could have used our phones but, we thought if the hotel took the booking, they would have made the call? It was only pure chance that we woke up in time or we would have missed our transfer, at the very least.

Other areas of the hotel are very good. All is clean and well maintained. We did suggest on their questionnaire, that rooms are carpeted, as it can be very noisy if the High Heeled Elephant is in residence above, but only tongue in cheek. Sebastien, the Restaurant Manager is a joy and runs it well. Although it would have been nice to have more Spanish options, we accept this is a casualty of buffet restaurants and target market. What was nice, though, was the freshly cooked, to order, food, such as pancakes, omelettes, fish and meat.

So, to sum up, a good hotel in a pretty spot on a lovely part of the island. We can recommend the national park on the headland, approx. 30-40 mins walk, great scenery and café by the tower; the small town of Capdepera (? spelling) with its amazing fortified village and tiny backstreets and the lovely coastal villages off the beaten track.

What we're not so sure of is booking late (14 hours before departure) with Thomson as, apparently, the e-ticket and other paperwork isn't acceptable for check in. Computer said 'nah' and we had to wait over an hour for it to update. Funny how it updated my bank account immediately I had paid for the holiday.... We are currently in touch with Thomson over this and the officious member of staff who denied us and sent us away to 'find the ticket desk'. Wish us luck with that one!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms can be hit and miss. Some standard rooms have views of the (very) close balconies opp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choc4basil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed for a quick, cheapy deal mid April.
This hotel caters mainly for Brits. Food, Bingo, Entertainment etc..
Good location on harbour side, boat trips leave from here. Bus stops fairly close.
Clean rooms, friendly staff.
Quiet time of the year in Cala Bona with lots still closed. (til May 1st the locals said).
A sea view room is good as you can people watch as well as boat watch.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thatcherrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Arrived 13 April 2012 for 7 days and soon wished we had booked two weeks. very fresh clean and comfortable hotel which has been operating since the 1940's (although it has changed somewhat since then!) One of the hotels buildings overlooks the harbour with a pavement cafe and lovely lounge for the evenings entertainment. The second building houses the reception, dining area and swimming pool complex. We were in the 2nd building and found it very peaceful in the evenings so sleep quality was good. The food was varied and well presented. staff were very friendly. It was great value for money via Thomsons. We took boat trips to Porto Cristo, Sa Coma, cala Millor and cala Rajada from Cala bona and were pleased to be staying at cala bona. We would definitely return there but no later than end of May as it will begin to get really busy. The weather was beatiful every day and the surrounding countryside was covered in wild flowers. Very pretty and some great walks.

Room Tip: rooms in the same building as the reception are good for sleep quality, however if you like to sit o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judi957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just got back from a fantastic holiday at the Hotel Cala Bona. Everyone so friendly and helpful, especially as my husband had to go to hospital and we stayed longer than we were booked for. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Great choice of food, from salads, roasts & other English food to paella, pasta and more. And plenty of deserts, fresh fruit & cheese and biscuits. Thanks Sebastian. Bar staff great. Cannot really think of anything NOT good. The great weather helped of course! Almost want to say it was not good so no one goes in case we cannot get a booking when we want to go back!
Saw this as a late deal with Thomsons & checked on tripadviser as I wasn`t sure, but comments on here are right!
Had a problem with an upgrade booked through Thomsons but hotel sorted things & rep Gareth did all he could. Just have fingers crossed I can get money back from Thomsons.
Please do not go here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! At least when I want to anyway, don`t want to find they are full!!

Room Tip: Go for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miriam_c27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Lovely Hotel, a bit retro but well maintained and well clean.
Rooms are big and cleaned daily
The breakfast start at 8am. A bit late to my taste. 7 would be nice or,
at least being able to get a coffee early by the pool perhaps for the early birds.
Food is lovely though.
Well recomanded place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frank k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

our 10 day holiday began 2days after my 64th birthday we headed for mallorca the 6th april 2013,
the thomson coach arrived and 40 plus stepped of and headed to the reception desk and handed froms to fill in before the allacation of the room,can you imagine the caiouss forty couples trying to fill in forms,we had room 120,first floor the same floor as the resturant good we thought till we looked at our view from our balcony,one white wall ,a alley and a flat roof of next door,we asked for a another room maybe monday,monday came and went maybe tuesday it also came and went maybe wednesday it also came and went this went on and on,and did not happen until 3days before leaving for home it was sayed mabe friday.it aslso came and went,so my advice would be do not accept rooms 119 or 120,the view seen in the thomson book is a bit miss leading what you see this the hotel,but these rooms are anything but the dearer one for example £4-14 pounds per person per night for us that would mean £80 and that is not a sea view and there is £14 pounds per person per night £280 pounds and that is with a sea view,donot get me wrong great food clean and tidy but a view of a white brick wall for 10 days not for me or you refused rooms 119 and 120,these rooms should not be included in the thomsom book and should not be included.

Room Tip: donot accept rooms 119 or 120 when you go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank firemanjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala Bona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#8 of 19 in Cala Bona
1,009 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#10 of 19 in Cala Bona
808 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#6 of 19 in Cala Bona
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#4 of 19 in Cala Bona
391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Som Llevant Suites Hotel
Som Llevant Suites Hotel
#14 of 19 in Cala Bona
462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residencia Son Floriana
Residencia Son Floriana
#15 of 19 in Cala Bona
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cala Bona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cala Bona

Address: Passeig del Moll, 7, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cala Bona 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cala Bona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Bona Hotel
Hotel Cala Bona Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing