We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for us”
Review of Hotel Cala Bona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cala Bona
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

A hodge podge of a hotel all over the place different sections all along the harbour.....
Food British and not very good but we did have space around our table and the staff were very good
Pool...far to crowded obviously was built when the hotel was much smaller
Location ...first class vews of the harbour and sea....very noisy from bars and entertainment...
This holiday was a mistake..would not recommend for a relaxing holiday

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jekkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,124)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cala Bona
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

832 - 838 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

Room 204 - a cramped little room at the rear of the hotel with barely enough room to squeeze past the twin beds. Nowhere to sit except on the beds if you want to watch TV. Suitcases had to be stored in the bathroom under the basin because there nowhere else to put them.
But the coup de grace is the balcony. A tiny little opening with just enough room for two people to squeeze on to alongside the forlorn table and two chairs that sit there in the shade wishing for the sun to shine on them - which it never does. To the left is the brick wall of the apartment building opposite and directly ahead are the back yards of the apartments. You can watch enthralled as they hang out their washing, shake their mats, brush their shoes etc, etc. A charming yapping dog lives right across the street. He snarls and yaps at you if you dare to go on to the balcony because he thinks you are invading his territory.
You are directly above the service road to the kitchens etc at the back of the hotel so in the morning you can enjoy the fumes and noise of the trucks as they make their deliveries. We had to keep the door shut in the mornings. We always knew what would be on the menu for dinner though, because we could smell it cooking. Then there was the shouting, laughing etc from the hotel staff who use the road under your window for breaks. Cigarette fumes and smelly old ashtrays just add to the ambience.
When asked if we could be moved the hotel manager/proprietor treated us with contempt saying we had got what we paid for (as a matter of fact we paid £938 for 1 week, including flight & transfers with Cosmos).
Probably the worst hotel we've ever had the misfortune to stay in in Spain, France or Portugal.

One more word of warning - it caters for the old and infirm. Nothing wrong with that in itself - they deserve a holiday as much as the rest of us, but the number of wheelchairs and motability scooters around the place makes you think you are in a care home at times.

Room Tip: Don't go in room 240 at any price! I think most of the other rooms are bigger, better appointed...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank alanandgail49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Reception excellent, standard room as you would expect but very clean, towels changed daily, nothing too much trouble for the staff. Sebastian really cares for his customers. The entertainment was exceptional. The food of a high standard. The guests who return twice yearly speaks for itself.

Room Tip: We ask for a room on the 4th floor overlooking the pool, this gives you shade during the morning and...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

So many people at the hotel have been going there for years and years! They must be doing something right but we won't go back. The original hotel, opened in 1924, is where all the action happens and also has some bedrooms. However, they have acquired four nearby buildings where many guests sleep and then go to the main building for food, the pool and entertainment. This is a pain even though the rooms in the main building are the noisiest. As a large number of guests are elderly, many with frames or mobility scooters this is not ideal. The pool area is not big enough for the number of guests, it gets very cosy. Tables for two in the dining hall are so close to others that couples end up at a table for six or eight. With luck you mighty get on with the others, tough if you don't! We were very fortunate in the people who shared our space. Buy a bottle of wine in the dining hall or a drink at the bar or outside on the public terrace, you must pay cash immediately. The waiter hovers as if terrified you are going to make a run for it. They don't run a tab system.
Food is basic, best comes from their 'show kitchen' but got the feeling the stick to a very tight budget per head. That said they do go to a great deal of effort over special diets even providing a toaster and microwave for the exclusive use of coeliacs, they also provide the bread, cereal and pasta and will cook gluten free pancakes for breakfast. Absolutely first class in an otherwise mediocre hotel.
Staff are without exception fantastic. Friendly and helpful and totally committed to doing whatever they can to make the guests happy. The owner was the only one who seemed to be dismissive of any problems taken to him. This happened to more than one fellow guest and was a disappointing contrast to his staff.
So many guests raved about the hotel , rebooking while they were there. They obviously loved the place, enjoyed the Bingo, ate the food without complaint, made sure their towels were on the sunbeds at sun up and were happy to struggle to watch the entertainment over the heads of the people who had the best seats because they had played Bingo earlier. We didn't get in to see any of the entertainment all week. We really tried to relate to their enthusiasm but just didn't get it, it must be us!

Room Tip: Rooms in main building are noisy and smaller (even superior rooms). Best rooms are sea view otherwis...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank glenys n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our 1st time staying in this wonderful Hotel. Check in was very fast, we booked a superior room on the Bar Building overlooking the Harbour, and the room was fabulous. Comfy beds, bright and airy room with Air Con (although this only goes down to 23 degrees could do with going lower) The bathroom is awesome huge walk in shower with piping hot water. Hairdryer and socket in the bathroom ideal for straighteners etc. Open the Balcony door and the view of Cala Bona Harbour takes your breath away. First Floor rooms a little noisy from below only but entertainment stops at midnight and is First Class so this didnt bother us. The balcony doors are triple glazed so shut out the noise from the harbour completely. Sebastien in the restaurant welcomed us on our First NIght and allocated us our table for our stay, we loved this personal touch and Sebastien and his team are First Class, the food though not a huge variety was delicious and we couldnt fault it really.
The Hotel itself is very friendly the staff team are wonderful Special mention to Mikey who's constant chatter had us in stitches. We made so many friends whilst we were there and were overwhelmed by how friendly everybody is in this hotel.
The Pool is good and the sun terrace is lovely, we never had a problem getting a lounger or a brolley.
The entertainment this year was First Class and Excellent. Special mentions to the Jersey Boys, The Four Tops, and Sebastian & Antonio Duo Isla who are there every Thursday night this year, they are excellent, and not to be missed.
All in all we had a wonderful stay at Hotel Cala Bona, wonderful friendly family run hotel, we've booked for next year already and can't wait to return.
Room tip - definately worth paying for a room with air con and a seaview whether superior or ordinary. Booking direct with the hotel will save you a lot of money, they also have a loyalty card scheme once you get 300 points you receive 2 free nights, we thought this was a marvellous idea.
See you next year hotel Cala Bona, Love from Nicola & Colin xxxx

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room with a seaview and air con. The superior rooms are best.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

For our 25th wedding anniversary we thought we'd try something different from the usual self-catering apartments we have previously stayed in with our family. As it was just the two of us this time, we booked a 'superior room' at the Hotel Cala Bona with Thomson on-line. We were unable to book a sea view via this method so I took a chance and sent an e-mail to the hotel. They replied saying they couldn't guarantee this, but would do their best....for an extra 10 euros a night!

On arrival in the early hours of the morning we were handed a note to say that we could have a seaview, but only for the the first 4 nights (out of 7) - no charge. The room was lovely - modern and clean with everything that you'd want. But I'm not sure whether it's what I'd consider 'superior'. The view was great, above the bar and overlooking the harbour. When we had to move rooms, the reception staff were helpful, offering to transfer our luggage over for us. No need, though, as our new room was directly opposite. Again, a 'superior' room although a little smaller, but the view.........! This was overlooking the main hotel entrance down a narrow street. This meant that everyone (staff and guests) gathered outside to smoke. Neither the sight nor smell were pleasant. Also, directly opposite were other hotel balconies and the restaurant - we couldn't see in but they could sure see us. Both these factors made our balcony a no-go area which was disappointing. Beware when booking and make sure you ask for, and get, a specific type of room!

The hotel restaurant was smart and bright. We were lucky enough to have a table to ourselves, while other couples had to share. It's true that the majority of the clientele were elderly, but that didn't particularly bother us. The food was fine, especially the breakfasts. Dinner was a little hit and miss, so we ate out on quite a few occasions. All the staff were very friendly and helpful with the exception of the women cooking the crepes and omelettes - obviously not a morning person!

The evening entertainment and bingo weren't our thing so we gave them a miss, but it seemed very popular and the bar was packed every night. The reception staff were great - very welcoming and friendly. On our anniversary we had a small bunch of flowers put in our room which was a nice touch. The weather during our week's stay wasn't fantastic so we didn't spend a lot of time around the pool. When we did though, there were plenty of sunbeds available and the pool was a good size.

On the whole, it was a pleasant stay in a smart hotel in an ideal location. Would we stay again? Maybe when we're a bit older!

Room Tip: If you have to choose either a sea view or a superior room, go for the sea view every time. A superi...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JantheFlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

When we arrived at the Hotel Cala Bona my concern was the age of most residents - 60 plus - after a few days I realised why! These people have been coming here for years and I now know why. What a great hotel! Efficient helpful staff, clean rooms, fantastic food and great evening entertainment. Family run with the owner in amongst the guests for dinner most evenings, the lovely Sebastian managing the hotel. Initially un happy with our room but we were moved within 24 hours with no fuss. By the end of our stay we realised there were more people our age at the hotel and made some good friends. The only negative comment would be that the "complex" is made up of 5 separate buildings one of them being a distance from the main hotel, having said that the stroll along the port in good weather is a treat. We will definitely be re visiting the Cala Bona Hotel

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Mandie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala Bona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#7 of 19 in Cala Bona
925 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#6 of 19 in Cala Bona
615 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#11 of 19 in Cala Bona
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#3 of 19 in Cala Bona
345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Som Llevant Suites
Som Llevant Suites
#14 of 19 in Cala Bona
449 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grupotel Mallorca Mar
Grupotel Mallorca Mar
#12 of 19 in Cala Bona
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cala Bona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cala Bona

Address: Passeig del Moll, 7, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cala Bona 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Cala Bona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Bona Hotel
Hotel Cala Bona Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing