We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Protur Bonamar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cala Bona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Protur Bonamar
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just back from a brilliant week's holiday at the Bonamar, already booked to go back next Year! All the below positive reviews are correct, especially regarding Natalie, she's a gem. The negative comments? Well at some point we've all met the people that moan for the sake of moaning!
Yes the rooms are a tad small but if you keep it tidy and store everything out of the way it really isn't a problem. we were in 221, great view and away from the pool and entertainment area.
Make sure you catch Graham Powell, singer/comedian on a Friday night, he's really entertaining.
To Sharon,John,Anita and Colin hope to see you again,same place, same time next year. Karen & Steve x

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsQPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (758)
There are newer reviews for Protur Bonamar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 758 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

Mom and I stayed at the Bonamar in first week June. Our room was next to lift, so didn't get a wink of sleep. day 2 we paid the extra for a sea view room, well worth it. the hotel was spotless, the food was hot and tasty and the staff really friendly. We loved the area, ideal for mom who can't walk too far. I think we sat on every bench from Cala Bona to Cala Millor. So all said it was a perfect holiday.

Room Tip: we had 210 but any on 2nd or higher number 209 - 216 are best for sea view are quiet rooms
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ELAINEMORRIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have stayed at the Bonamar twice now and are returning this year. It's a very well run hotel, clean and the staff are friendly. There are organised activities around the pool area every day but there is no pressure to take part if you don't want to. The food is good with a reasonable choice each evening. The rooms are kept spotlessly clean and the reception staff are more than helpful. We found the receptionists far more helpful than our first rep, she didn't seem to know much about the area and was only interested in selling excursions. However, she was replaced just a few days into our holiday and the replacement seemed to know her stuff. The public bus service is excellent and very cheap but don't assume you will get a seat, they do like to pack them on tightly! We didn't stay in the hotel much after dinner in the evenings as there are plenty of bars on the doorstep and most a lot cheaper than the hotel bar's prices. Hiring cycles is a brilliant way to get around the resort, and further, if you like, as there are cycle lanes all along the seafront. This hotel is excellent value for money and, for the price we paid, an absolute bargain. As with all holidays there are things that irritate but unless you say at the time they can't be put right. We asked for a room change on the first morning there as our "partial sea view" was exactly that, partial. The receptionist then gave us two rooms to choose from without any quibble so we ended up with a much better sea view on a side of the hotel that had the late afternoon sun. Lovely to come back to your room before dinner and have a drink on the sun soaked balcony. As I said, the staff are more than happy to help.
Excellent holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dotto103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed here August 2012 and it was a nice hotel and all staff were very helpful and friendly.
It's nice and close to the beach and restaurants and only a few minutes walk to Cala Millor and Cala Bona.
However we did feel that the rooms were slightly on the small side but all of the rooms and public areas are clean and well maintained. And a good choice of food in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the lift
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nai55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for a week in may weather awful but hotel great rooms are small but apart from that spot on in every other area.
Staff are so sincere and lovely Natalie exceptional. Some of the entertainment good other evening not quite so good, but lots of bars with entertainment on we found the area and hotel quite cheap for bar prices! Restaurant busy but food quite good
No qualms about recommending this hotel you can see why they have lots of repeat customers. Yates bar across the road pleasant, fun and very cheap during happy hour!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank teacake_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Bonamar is a smart well maintained hotel in an ideal position overlooking the sea.There is no beach but it is only a short stroll to a small one at Cala Bona or a big one at Cala Millor.If you prefer to stay round the pool, there are of plenty new sunbeds , plenty of umbrellas and an attractive pool bar. The hotel and pool area are spotlessly clean.Facilities for disabled visitors are good although people with limited mobility need to go through a staff service corridor to get to the dining room.The bedrooms are small but well maintained .Full seaview rooms overlooking the pool are best, but at a supplement.
The bar area is pleasant but not ideal for evening shows due to many pillars obstructing the view.(Not much dance space.If you want to dance visit the nearby Talayot Hotel). There are shows on alternate evenings with the other evenings and daytime activities organised by Natalie, the excellent hotel host.These are focussed on the older age group that this hotel attracts. All the staff are friendly and helpful.
The one downside is the food. Breakfast is fine with all you would expect, but dinner is a disappointment.Soups are consistently watery an tasteless, a few of the main dishes are good but some of the meats and fish are of poor quality. The desserts are boring with a predominance of cream cakes. blancmange in varying colours , jelly and ice cream every night.
Overall, a good 3* hotel that with better food could be 4*

Room Tip: -09 to -13 on floor 2 upwards are best seaview
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Just returned from our 3rd visit to the Bonamar, the welcome from the staff was lovely.
Great location, beautifully clean, great food, I could go on and on but if you are looking for a friendly clean hotel in a great location (flat promenade where you can walk as far as you want in either direction and choose from as many shops and bars as you like) you will not better the Bonamar.
Thank you to all the lovely staff who made our holiday perfect, we will be back in October.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pauline_jones21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
0.6 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#7 of 19 in Cala Bona
934 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#6 of 19 in Cala Bona
622 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#3 of 19 in Cala Bona
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Talayot
Hotel Talayot
#14 of 58 in Cala Millor
638 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#10 of 19 in Cala Bona
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Bonamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Bonamar

Address: Calle de Comellar Fondo, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Hotel Class:3 star — Protur Bonamar 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Also Known As:
Protur Bonamar Cala Bona, Majorca
Protur Bonamar Hotel Cala Bona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing