We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Sur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Sur
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
PAISLEY, SCOTLAND
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband & I holidayed in this hotel from 16th August until 30th August this year. It is a very clean & well run hotel & excellent value for money. We hired a fan on arrival so had no problem with heat in our room. Good variety of food for breakfast & dinner. Remember you only get what you pay for. Staff were so friendly & accommodating. Would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone. Cant wait to return.

Room Tip: Request a top floor at the hotel front & hire a fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JANETTE15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    275
    98
    38
    46
See reviews for
191
349
67
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel should really be a 3 star hotel not 1 star. There is a gym, a bar (with sky tv and pool table), dining/buffet room, lounge and relaxing area, children's play area, tennis court and swimming pool ... what more do you need ? All of the staff from the reception to the catering are all lovely people and speak English and couldn't help enough. The only thing that lets this lovely hotel down is no air con and the showers could do with being up-dated but for the price you pay it is perfect. The hotel is situated very close to the beach and has a large shop right next door. We would go back there again.

Room Tip: Try and get a pool view room as the noise from the front street on the other side of the hotel at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLM594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I love the things people complain about - previous reviews - "The Breakfast was the same every day" - Well, the hotel had a buffet breakfast and had everything, toast with preserves, fruit, various fruit juices, tea, coffee, choc, latte etc cereals, breads, cheese, meat, boiled eggs, fried eggs, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, beans, peas and bacon, tomato. yoghurts, cakes...what else did they want - the hotel to put less on each day so they could vary it? It was a well stocked breakfast with all choices....if you haven't booked breakfast you can buy it for 4 euros, one of the best prices for an all-you-can-eat buffet to set you right up for the day.
Another complaint I read- It was noisy in the rooms at night - Yes, it is, Hotels have entertainment, people like to be entertained on holiday and so you expect music, it stops at midnight every night - with 1 bar with a singer its fine, it did become a bit of a racket with 2 or more competing bars but go sit in one with a drink and enjoy....you are on holiday!! Or choose a Hotel out in the sticks rather than beach-front with dozens of bars and hotels (this can all be found out on the web). A bit of soundproofing wouldnt go amiss however with hotels all around it wouldn't be cost effective.Cala Bona-Cala Millor is a good 90 min trek from Palma Airport but its a nice area, a lot quieter than Palma, Magaluf etc when I went the majority were young families, singles or older couples.
The Reception and staff were great, helped with anything you asked for, quick to do anything and friendly and helpful. The cleaning staff also did an excellent job on the rooms day to day (you can choose fresh towels every day or not), my room was always clean and tidy (and nightie folded!). The bathroom had an old-fashioned shower and a huge shower tray or small bath not sure!! (see pic), but always hot water available, the bedroom was large with plenty of drawers could have been more hanging space with a safe which you can get keys for from reception. Ah yes, I read a complaint about the plug sockets "one above the bed pointless" well no, in a twin room it would sit on the centre cabinet, for a double there is actually a large ledge on the headboard so any charging phone etc can sit on their happily. There was also a socket on the dressing table near the large mirror - ideal! There is a fridge in the room which is a good addition. Each room has a balcony with chairs and table, ideal for sitting out at night with a drink listening to music. The rooms overlooking the Pool have the sun on the balcony in the afternoon, the ones overlooking the main street don't really get the sun.
I had the evening meal three times, it is 8 euro buffet if not booked - different mains each night, a lot of it English (hotel caters for mainly English) chicken, fish, lasagne, cordon bleu, squid, lamb, spaghetti, nuggets with various potato dishes and veg dishes also a soup and 4 or 5 puddings with fruit and icecream each night. Not glitzy and glam, not expensive or chic, Not very Spanish on the whole, but if you've had a busy day and don't want to fight past all the restaurant vendors trying to drag you in - stay in its filling, hot and tasty. There cant be many Health and Safety Law in Majorca, with the amount of piled high plates the catering staff carry back and forth....but it was efficient and tidy. Each time one of the dishes ran low, the chef was re-stocking with freshly cooked food. Breakfast 8-10am, Meal 7-8.30pm.
The Pool was clean, with inflatables available. There were plenty of sunbeds around the pool and on an upper level. There is a reading room (lots of soft sofas, lamps etc) and a Gym.
There is a Bar attached to the Hotel with plenty of choices of beer, juices, cocktails, wines etc with an open terrace, with Satellite TV and Wifi, quick service and reasonable prices.
This hotel is central on the Bona-Millor stretch, nestled in between shops and restaurants which cater for all tastes and requirements,watersports,boat trips, parasailing, bike, quad bike & car hire all within 100 metres as is the Beach a lovely stretch of beach (ps don't pay 4 euro for a bed and 4 for an umbrella per day on the beach...in the shops you can buy an umbrella for 5 euro and a lilo for 3 for the week!!) to the left out of the hotel there is a walk down to the Harbour area with more restaurants and street entertainment. You can walk all along the coast line from the hotel as a central base.
This hotel is much more than I expected from its rating, yes it has its niggles, as mentioned but also no aircon (but speaking to other people a lot of the 1/2 and even some 3 star places didn't have) and No kettle/tea making facilities in the room), the room was basic but generally people are out and about and only want a sleeping place,but it was good value, good food, very good staff, in a good location and I would use it again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PCME1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in August this year as a couple and we was very surprised when we arrived. The staff were very pleasant and welcoming when we arrived. As soon as we got there we hired a fan as we read other reviews before we went, you do need a fan as the room can get very stuffy. It is in a great location as there is lots to do near the hotel. Cala Millor is only a ten minute walk from the hotel which is good because there are lots of bars, restaurants and things for children down there. The beds around the pool were soft which I was shocked about considering the 1* rating.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone considering going plus it is great for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in June this year and was pleasantly surprised. Stayed for 10 nights bed and breakfast with my boyfriend and wasn't expecting anything fancy as we just wanted a cheap getaway and this did the job perfectly. Excellent service by all the staff, very friendly and always happy to help. Rooms were basic but clean, stayed in a double room which was 2 single beds pushed together, no problem with this but the 2 mattresses were completely different which was a bit strange as one was very firm while the other was very soft! Pool area always nice and clean, very annoying that people reserve sunbeds from very early then don't return until the afternoon and this could maybe be looked at by staff as very unfair. Breakfast was very good, excellent selection of hot and cold food, bar area was nice and has entertainment every other night but this stops at midnight, only problem was with the entertainment on the alternate night from the opposite hotel who seemed to only have awful acts which weren't very nice to listen to! Location is excellent, very close to lots of restaurants and the harbour which is lovely to walk around on an evening. Short walk to Callor Millor beach which is excellent. Overall very impressed and had a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spiderhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I recently spent one week at the Sur Hotel in Cala Bona and I got to say it was great! I went to Cala Bona mostly because I didn't want to anywhere near the Magaluf/Palmanova area.
I have to say it was the best decision ever. The place is really nice; the beaches around Cala Bona/Cala Millor (the two are actually attached) area are nice and if you rent a car to go exploring, you'll be impressed by the beauty of this island.
Now about the the Hotel Sur: it's a nice hotel 2 minutes away from a little nice beach. It has a Spar supermarket next door and many restaurant options all around. I actually I have to say the dinner option at this hotel is a must try! I paid €8 for the buffet, eat as much as you like, vast choice and quality too. Strongly recommended to have a go. Same the breakfast if you choose to stay here have it with breakfast; you won't regret it.
Rooms are very basic; yes it's true there are no fan or A/C and it get very hot and also rooms are not very quite if you go on holidays to sleep (I don't mind) but if those are not a big issues to you than at this price you won't find anywhere better.
If people go to a 1* star hotel I don't understand what they can complain about!? It has has a swimming pool and a tennis court. And the bar serves very cheap drinks too.
Finally the best thing about this place: the staff. They are very friendly, always try to help and give you the best customer experience you can imagine. From the owner the people at reception to the guys at the bar, I felt like I had to leave friends when I left instead of an hotel in Mallorca. I would not go back again...I am going back!
Thanks for the great time I had in Cala Bona because of these people.

Room Tip: Try the dinner buffet and the drinks at the bar are generous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Luca I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We've just returned from a week's stay at the Sur and really enjoyed it.

The staff are friendly.

The location is good as it's only a few minutes walk to the beach and 20 mins walk to Cala Millor and there's loads of bars,shops and restaurants. It can get noisy in the evenings but the entertainment finishes at midnight so that wasn't a problem for us.

We stayed half board and the food was good and a wide variety of choice. The only thing didn't like that we had to go to the bar to get a drink before having our evening meal.

Rooms were basic but nice. It would've been nice to have air con in the room as it was roasting hot at night and because of this, we had to have the balcony door open. Cleaning was brilliant and room was always kept clean. The maids don't work Mondays so your towels and room won't get cleaned which we didn't mind.

The pool area was nice and kept well cleaned. There was always plenty of sunbeds and not too noisy. It cost us 4 euros each to hire a sunbed on the beach so after a few days we stayed round the pool.

Overall a very good value holiday and we really enjoyed it :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lozchuckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#6 of 19 in Cala Bona
788 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#4 of 19 in Cala Bona
269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#7 of 19 in Cala Bona
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cala Bona
Hotel Cala Bona
#5 of 19 in Cala Bona
1,079 reviews
0.2 mi away
Som Llevant Suites
Som Llevant Suites
#14 of 19 in Cala Bona
415 reviews
39.3 mi away
Citric Hotel Soller
Citric Hotel Soller
#32 of 37 in Soller
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sur

Property: Hotel Sur
Address: Paseo Maritimo 25, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
#14 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Sur 1*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sur Hotel Cala Bona
Sur Cala Bona
Hotel Sur Cala Bona, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing