We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sur
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
stockport
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We (family of 3 including our 2 year old daughter) have just returned from a weeks' stay at the Hotel Sur. After reading the reviews I requested a room facing the pool, when we arrived at approximately 11.30 pm, we had been given a room facing the road and the live music from the bar was very loud!!!! I immediately went to reception, they said that we could move rooms in the morning. So, I purchased a bottle of wine from the bar and we enjoyed the music and people watching from our balcony while our daughter went straight to sleep!

In fact, we decided not to move rooms at all. We hired a fan from reception and the whirling of the fan drowned out any outside noise. The live music finishes at 12am, noise never stopped us sleeping but the heat (even with a fan) made some nights uncomfortable. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony late afternoon, it was then in the shade and lovely and cool. We spoke to people who had a pool facing room, they said that these rooms were quiet but they had the sun in the afternoon so were even hotter!

The room was basic and, with 3 beds squeezed in, quite small. The bathroom was small, ours had a small bath with a shower over it. For us, with a toddler who hates showers, the bath was an ideal size. The most important thing was that the rooms were super clean. The maid came in every day (except Monday) and did a great job. We did however discover that a pair of my husband's shorts had been ruined by bleach - must have splashed from the mop? We didn't complain, the maid was so lovely and friendly. The room also had a fridge (free of charge) which was great! Ours was always well stocked up from the SPA shop joined to the hotel (we found the drinks quite a lot cheaper in the shop furthest from the hotel entrance - on the corner). Remember to take a cork screw if you enjoy a glass of wine on the balcony!

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis. We enjoyed the breakfast every day. Eggs (different types each day), bacon, sausages, beans, toast, jams, hams, cheese, rolls, yogurts, dried fruit, cereals, pastries, cakes, different juices - some better than others, tea and coffee. It would have been nice to have some fresh fruit, we took our own in some days.

The pool area was busy but you could usually find a sunbed. We bought an umbrella, there were not many around the pool. The paddling pool was ideal for our daughter, there were lots of other toddlers for her to play with so she loved it. It may be worth noting that the pool has very little shallow area, it slopes quite quickly and it is deep.

The location of the hotel was great, close to the harbour and the shingle / pebble beach. We used the beach at Cala Millor, a pleasant walk past plenty of bars / shops / restaurants.

Considering the location, friendliness, food and cleanliness, this holiday was excellent value for money. If the hotel had air conditioning in the rooms it would be ideal - but obviously this would be reflected in the price you pay!

Room Tip: Hire a fan, take cooling spray, rooms facing the road are cooler but noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stockport_Sweety_Pie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    264
    93
    38
    47
See reviews for
179
325
60
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have just returned from the Hotel Sur on the 19/07/2013. We are a family consisting of six ,children in their 20s.

The first impression of the hotel after arriving in the early hours of the morning was the unwelcoming man present on reception who seemed more occupied using his Blackberry/MacBook rather than welcoming guests, engaging in conversation or offering help to the guests. This was a shame, as we later found out that the rest of the staff/family running the hotel were the opposite and very nice/approachable, particularly the lady receptionists.

The hotel is placed in a fantastic location, situated only two minutes walking distance away from a beach. The beach, although not very sandy was quiet. However I would recommend precaution as the beach is very rocky particularly when in and out of the sea. Sandier beaches can be found a further ten minutes walking distance away from the hotel.

The food in the hotel was on the whole very good, a variety of salad choices, soups, chicken, fish, meat, chips and desserts. The breakfast was equally as impressive with a choice of a full cooked English breakfast or an alternative continental breakfast, both with tea, coffee and fresh juices. No drinks were offered at the evening meals not even water.

We booked three separate rooms, two situated at the back of the hotel overlooking the pool area and one room overlooking the hotel's front. Every room was extremely hot and the hired fans were not that effective in cooling the rooms down due to a lack of power. However it is worth mentioning that the room overlooking the front were slightly cooler. I would highly recommend hiring a air conditioning unit. Hotel rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels always provided.

The resort was very busy and very family/German orientated with plenty of restaurants and bars all along the front from Cala Bona to Cala Miller. We hired bikes to ride along the cycle path which runs right through the two resorts which was great fun.

We would definitely re-visit/return to the resort, however, instead of the coach transfer which took approximately two hours too and from the airport, we would take a taxi or hire a car and incorporate the cost of hiring a air conditioning unit for the rooms.

The rooms overlooking the front were very noisy from the entertainment and noise outside of the resort so difficult to sleep before 2am.
Entertainment provided in Hotel Sur was very good, particularly the talented musicians/band which plays on a Wednesday evening.

Room Tip: All rooms need air conditioning.Rooms overlooking pool very hot even when hiring fans. Rooms at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beverley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Excellent stay at the sur, rooms very clean on arrival and throughout stay.Breakfast English eggs bacon sausage beans etc or cold meats ,fruit,cereals , pastries bread rolls. Fruit juices coffee tea, all you could eat. Lovely bar ,pool clean. Staff outstanding very polite and helpful. Rooms at the front of hotel can hear entertainment until 11.30 ish and no air con. But hotel food and staff make up for that. Should be a higher star rating, would love to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viv A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had booked to stay Hotel Moreyo which is across the road from Sur but on arrival was told that there was no rooms available and we would be staying at there sister hotel across road.

We have stayed at hotel sur once before and found it ok so wasn´t disappointed as some people might have been in this situation.

Like Moreyo it is a one star so don´t expect a top notch hotel but for price you pay it is reasonable hotel.

Rooms are clean and comfortable with some nice views from the balcony if you´re on top floor like we was.

All the staff was very pleasant and friendly.

Food at breakfast and dinner was ok, no different from any 3 star we´ve stopped in with a good choice.

Swimming pool is a bit on small side but they was just about enough sunbeds for everyone.
There´s a tennis court around back of hotel 8 euros for 1 hour.

If it wasn´t for the fact there is no air con, rooms have no tv´s in them and the lift doesn´t go down to the floor with restaurant I think this hotel would be well worthy of 3 stars, so if you can manage without these you shouldn´t have any problems.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor are best for views, lower down on front and you will be facing hotel opposite. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bradowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

this holiday was fab!! the hotel was spotless, and the staff are amazingly friendly and always on board to help!! they absolutley adored my little boy and went to great lengths to show it!! the manager and mangeress are spot on and the bar staff are lovely!! this is suppose to be a 1 star and its shocking how they get to it!! there is no air con and it does get very hot , but we hired a fan which did help a little, but as its value for money we cant moan! theres good entertainment and its situated in a real nice place, loads of bars and shops and the beach and sea is across a little road! i have to say we had a excellent holiday and have no doubt that we will be returning there again some time, cala bona is gorgeous and great for the kids as well as adults! get booking people u wont be dissappointed !!!! thank u hotel sur for a great tiime!!!!

Room Tip: theres no such thing as a good room, there all hot , but for the value u cant have it all!! get a fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jess936s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have just returned from a weeks break at the Sur. I went with my boyfriend and we are in our mid 20's
It's in a really good location. The beach is a stone throw away and the harbour is just down the road with lovely restaurants.
Our room was at the front of the building. It was nice and cool on the balcony in the evening time. The rooms don't have air-con but you can hire a fan from reception. It's 15 euros for the week plus a 5 euro deposit. The rooms were spotless! Cleaned everyday! They also have a mini fridge.
We had breakfast included in our stay...It was ok!
Pool is great! A nice suntrap with no wind! You do have to be up early to get a bed though! Like every hotel...people leave their towels down and wander off!
The bar was good.. Entertainment was ok and it finishes up around 12.
All and all we enjoyed it. We wanted a nice couples relaxing holiday and we got that. I would point out that its NOT suitable for the young and lively. I noticed a few young groups around the area... I wondered myself what they thought of it.. I think their bored faces explained it all. I am 25 and I would of liked to have seen just 1 disco bar with the current chart music playing but there are NONE to be seen. So really this is a family/couples/early night in orientated resort and not for party-goers!
A cheap and cheerful hotel that deserves at least 2 stars if not 3!

Room Tip: Request rooms at front of hotel as they are cooler!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bradandefa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here for 9 days along with my daughter and her husband (30's).
ROOMS: We were both on the front 321 & 320. Yes there was noise from outside until early hours but main noise from entertainment ended at midnight afterwards it was just people. We preferred these rooms as the sun was gone from the balcony just after midday and so they were cooler, especially if there was a breeze and you left the patio windows open. They were smaller than we were used to but still o.k. they were very clean.
FOOD: We were just B&B. breakfast was acceptable, nothing to write home about but served the purpose. Plenty of restaurants around if hungry ( Burger Kings in Cala Millor 15- 20 minutes walk).
STAFF: Reception staff were helpful and happy to see you.
DISABLED FACILITIES: This could be a problem as Dining Room was down steps, a helper could however get your meal and bring it up to the bar area to eat. The lift did go down to the lower floor but as I can manage a short flight of stairs I don't know if there was access to the dining room there (it wasn't apparent). Otherwise no problems, I was using a Shoprider scooter.
POOL: a bit small but always managed to get a lounger even if it was in the morning shady area closer to the hotel but was reached by the sun after midday.
RESORT: Better than the larger Cala Millor. It was becoming a bit fuller and livelier by the time we left (14th. July). Beach a bit small and rough sand? but just up the road to Cala Millor a better beach. plenty of eating and drinking places, prices varied but all were well displayed. We ate mainly in the Rope and Anchor by the harbour and drank in La Fresca (next to the Hotel) we were given free shots every night here while waiting for the bill.
OVERALL: Would we go there again --YES for a week or a fortnight cheap getaway. Excellent value for money. Hotel Moreyo over the road was dearer when we booked and it didn't look much better. Other members of our party stayed in a 3 star in Cala Millor but preferred our hotel.

Room Tip: If you can or need to sleep through moderate noise before midnight choose front facing rooms as they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mickydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
0.3 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#6 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#5 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#8 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Som Llevant Suites
Som Llevant Suites
#14 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cristina Apartments
Cristina Apartments
#6 of 65 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
48.8 mi away
Hotel Golf Beach
Hotel Golf Beach
#17 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sur

Property: Hotel Sur
Address: Paseo Maritimo 25, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cala Bona
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
#14 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Sur 1*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sur Hotel Cala Bona
Sur Cala Bona
Hotel Sur Cala Bona, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing