We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of Hotel Atolon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Atolon
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Just back from a week at Atolon Hotel, we were a bit apprehensive after reading some of the comments left , however we found it very clean and comfortable, ok some of the food could have been better, but we never went hungry as there was plenty of different dishes you could take your pick from and always a great selection of salads. Our room 203 was on the ground floor and from the patio you could see the sea. We hired a fridge which was brought to the room within minutes of hiring it, we had taken our own travel kettle, as having read reviews we were aware that one was not provided, as for the fact of no TV we personally don't go away to sit indoors watching the soaps but if that's your thing there's a TV in reception. Found all the staff polite and friendly specially Becky on reception. Didn't have any problem with Pedro, as others seem to have had, he was always pleasant with us. The drinks were cheaper than most of the bars around and the snacks at lunchtime from the pool bar were good too. Lovely sea views from the pool area, plenty of beds though some should be replaced for next year. All in all we had a very good holiday and will no doubt stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeanjeanie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    198
    73
    28
    19
See reviews for
181
256
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Hotel Atolon is a nice hotel in a superb location, the pool area has fantastic sea views and there was plenty of sun beds to go round.

Only a limited number of rooms have a sea view whilst most other rooms face the gardens at the rear of hotel but on plus side these are south facing so plenty of sun for those who like to sit on balcony.

Rooms are basic but clean and plenty big enough, only downside for some might be that rooms do not have a TV.

Food was pretty good with a good choice at breakfast and dinner.

All the staff were nice and friendly including Pedro, I can't understand those who have complained about his service, he's serving drinks on his own at meal times and can't serve everyone at once, he will get round to you eventuallly, he works very hard and is always cheerful, singing and chatting to everyone as he goes.

Room Tip: Worth paying that little bit extra for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bradowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed in this nice clean little hotel from 8th-15th Oct 2013 I thought all the staff including Pedro the Bar man were excellent if you made the effort to have a little bit of banter with them, I thought the drinks prices were very reasonable, and the Entertainment at night was very good on the nights it was on, I think the food could be better, but always found something to get by on, I will certainly go back again when I visit Cala Bona which by the way is a lovely safe holiday resort in my opinion. My other favourite night time bar for a great night out was Sanddancers which is run by the most friendly family you will ever meet, Tracey, Faz & their lovely son, known as little faz always late night drinks on the menu at this fantastic bar.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barneyjohn140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Having just returned after spending a week at this hotel we feel we must warn prospective visitors just what they are letting themselves in for if they book this hotel. We arrived at reception to be given our key with a hand gesture which we gathered meant .... room over the road, we were met with a room which looked like it had been locked away since the 1950's and only just opened, although having said that it was obviously well used due to the filthy (I think blue, but difficult to see) carpet, stained bath, no TV no kettle no fridge although you could pay extra for these things if required..... Oh except for a TV obviously no room or TV points wired to the room, which I do find strange there must have been ONE looking at the number of exposed wires! The view from our room (if you could call it a view) was over some dreadful run down dirty building, we decided the next day to ask if we could be moved, GUESS WHAT! We could be moved to a sea view room but it would cost! We paid! Only to walk into a copy of the same room (minus the carpet I am very pleased to say!) but with a much better view. THE FOOD! What can I say which hasn't t already been said, it's hard to find the words! Please can someone let me know the name of the yellow dessert topped with stale soggy arrowroot biscuits!
BE WARNED WHENEVER YOU ORDER A DRINK FROM THE OUTSIDE BAR NEVER LET THE WAITER TAKE YOUR MONEY YOU GIVE HIM FOR PAYMENT AWAY FROM THE TABLE (unusual as every where else they carry their change bag with them and deal with the payment at the table) OUR WAITER TOOK OUR MONEY THEN CAME BACK WITH TEN EUROS SHORT INSISTING THAT THIS WAS CORRECT, ( we are 100 % sure of the note given) THIS IS OBVIOUSLY SECOND NATURE TO HIM AS HE IS SO BLASÉ WITH HIS ANSWER AND OFF LIKE A SHOT. WE REPORTED TO THE RECEPTION DESK IMMEDIATELY ALONG WITH THE RECEIPT ...... GUESS WHAT ...... THEY COULD NOT CARE LESS. WE NEVER AGAIN HAD A DRINK THERE PREFERRING TO JOIN OUR FRIENDS AT THEIR HOTEL, THUS THE ATOLON MISSING OUT ON A GROUP OF PEOPLE SPENDING THEIR MONEY WITH THEM ON ANY OCCASION ( and let's face it they need the money to do the place up!)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jennie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have just come back from Cala Bona and our stay at the Atolon Hotel. I would mention that we have stayed there several times over the years and we just keep returning.

The Atolon is a family owned and managed hotel in the centre of Cala Bona and it's position is unbeatable, right on the sea front. The ladies on reception are friendly and all speak very good English and we have always found them very welcoming and helpful.

The hotel is in two parts, with lift access in only one part, so if you have mobility problems then I suggest you state this when you make the booking. The rooms are very comfortable and are cleaned and towels replaced every single day. No there isn't a TV in each room but then that is something we are not too bothered about as we come on holiday to get away from the norm. If you really need to watch your favourite 'soap' there is a large tv in the bar next to reception.

I have read some awful reviews regarding the food at the Atolon, I can only give my own opinion which is, that the breakfasts are terrific with everything from a hot cooked breakfast to continenal. What more do you need? There is a lot of choice for the evening meal, from soup, a great salad bar and variety for the main course. There is also a variety of cheeses and biscuits. I can honestly say we always found our evening meals more than satisfactory.

Pedro, the head waiter and all his bar staff are lovely and we spent many evenings in the outside bar. What a perfect position, overlooking the sea, having a drink and listening to the
great entertainment.

The Atolon is a little gem of a hotel and we found our whole experience absolutely wonderful and yes, we shall be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was our second stay at The Atolon, and we loved it. The staff were really friendly, and all working hard to ensure everyone had a good stay. We had a good room, which suited us perfectly. We thought the food was good; lots of different choices every day, and a really good selection for breakfast. The location is fantastic, overlooking the bay, and ideally suited for walking, shopping, and eating and drinking. Overall we think this is really good value for money.

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms in the main building overlooking the sea, but there is a lift in the annexe if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Well well well where do I begin....

We asked for a sea view and got stung quite a hefty amount on top
Of what we had already paid for the privilege, quite handy that they don't tell you this. If only we knew the consequence we wouldn't have bothered!
Upon entering our room I was instantly transported back to a backstreet 1920's Calcutta hotel. The ceiling fan, which I warn you not to put above the speed 2 setting or big dust balls get thrown about the room, is horrific. There is no TV in the room and the wifi will not stretch past the reception desk leaving it impossible to live in the modern world within the room. There is a friendly welcoming card in your room telling you that if you want a fridge it costs extra €'s, if you want a safe it costs extra €'s, and surprise surprise if you want a kettle in your room it costs extra€'s!! The card also wishes you a sorrow less stay... Which is nice... Or a threat... I couldn't decide. Try not to stay in the bathroom too long as you might dehydrate and pass out! No need to set any alarms either due to someone 2 doors away having an alarm which can be heard through the paper thin walls

If you want food on your stay then go somewhere else as I will describe the dinner in the following as nice as I possibly can. You can have salad from the salad bar which is not labelled so you will have no idea what anything is as it's all covered in tuna and all seems to be the same colour. Main meal will consist of some kind of meat in a sauce, a meat covered in breadcrumbs and then some vegetables that have the consistency of out of date baby food. And for desert you can have some kind of multi coloured squidge. This material they call desert is not known to man as of yet but please let me know if you find out. If you like a drink with your meal then again best go elsewhere as the waiter who goes by the name of Pedro will decide when you need a drink. The old English people seem to think he's fantastic! If only they could speak Spanish like us then I don't think they would hold him in such high regard.
If you have any problem with a marble staircase then I would give it miss. On two occasions I witnessed a flying elderly woman which Is quite worrying. No lift or help with getting bags and stuff to your room as I think they rely on people who are using the wifi at reception to do this for them.

Our cleaner took to leaving our door open along with our neighbours too. And after reading some previous reviews this seems quite a worrying trend.

Seems most people who like this place are from the "Blackpool Generation" and like tapping their feet and maybe pushing it to a clap at the atrocious display of entertainment.

You couldn't pay me to go back to this hovel. Not a happy camper!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
0.5 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#6 of 19 in Cala Bona
723 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#11 of 19 in Cala Bona
739 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#4 of 19 in Cala Bona
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Som Llevant Suites
Som Llevant Suites
#14 of 19 in Cala Bona
397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Talayot
Hotel Talayot
#14 of 58 in Cala Millor
590 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marins Playa
Hotel Marins Playa
#11 of 58 in Cala Millor
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atolon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atolon

Property: Hotel Atolon
Address: Paseo Maritimo 42, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
#12 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atolon 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Atolon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atolon Hotel Cala Bona
Hotel Atolon Cala Bona, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing