We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“trotter from Bolton”
Review of Hotel Atolon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Atolon
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“trotter from Bolton”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Complete rubbish with regard to the food element of this review. My wife and I stayed at this hotel recently and were treated to two, not one but two sumptuous gala dinners at which the wine and champagne flowed freely.Local paella and a whole host of main menu choices were presented delightfully. The dessert options must have numbered at least 15 and the ambiance and friendliness of the hard working staff was a credit to the hotel. We had a problem with a broken case and the reception staff were extremely helpful, Tripadvosr really should look in to some of the incredibly inaccurate posts that have been lodged in the last few months about the Hotel Atolon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank keithka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    189
    70
    26
    19
See reviews for
176
239
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Just returned from hotel Atalon,after reading some reviews about standard of rooms we was very surprised to find our room refurbished with new bathroom fixtures and laminate flooring.Allocated ground floor room on front of annexe which surprisingly was nice and quiet.Pool area good with plenty of sun beds free despite the apartment dwellers turning up daily.Never saw pool area and pool being cleaned all week.
Now to the downside,we've travelled abroad hundreds of times over the years and this is the first time we've had to dine away from the hotel.heres some examples of the culinary delights that await you, smash potatoes,tinned veg & fruit and I can't even describe the small selection of meat and fish concoction that they threw together.
If you do decide to dine out we would highly recommend the tapas bar called La Granada which is next to Nautico on the harbour,absolutely delightful Spanish cuisine served by a friendly couple.
Would we travel to this hotel again yes but only on a bed and breakfast basis.

Room Tip: If you can arrange a room overlooking the pool and sea worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trotter76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotel Atolon is a fantastic base for exploring. Cala bona and cala millor. The food is good plenty of choice the view from the pool is superb, the rooms are of a good size the place it's self
Is very safe for young children and old people alike plenty for kids to do at night with a couple of fun parks will be going back in the near future

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blimpters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We return to Hotel Atolon because it suits our ideas of a seaside break abroad. It's right by the sea in a lovely location between Cala Bona harbour and Cala Millor resort. The staff and MOST of the guests are friendly, & we see people who we know each visit (staff & guests). There is enough going on around and near the hotel for us for most of the time, but a few days car hire allows easy access to other parts of the island.
Reasonable requests are always dealt with, just remember that most of the staff speak quite good english but translation of a request may not be as YOU expected, so check understanding before rushing off back to your sun lounger. Rven we sometimes wonder what we english actually want when asking for something (it's the way we tell 'em, as the irish would say).
Overall a nice hotel to stay at, but remember it is only a 3 star rating, if you want 5 star then you will need to go elsewhere and pay much more.

Room Tip: Ask for, and if necessary, pay for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveGreen95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just got back from 8 nights at the Atolon. The location of the hotel is the best in Cala Bona - with fantastic views if you book a sea view room. This is highly recommended. It really will make all the difference to your stay. The bar and restaurant staff were very friendly and worked really hard. Pedro is a gem - highly entertaining! Decent choice of food at evening meal and I thought the drink prices were reasonable for a hotel bar. Shame you have to pay extra for kettle/ fridge/ safety deposit box etc as it all adds up, but I suppose this is to be expected with the rating of the hotel. Everything was clean and reasonably well maintained. Our room was a good size, as was the bathroom, with a great shower. Beds were rather uncomfortable though. I would go back again. It's not the Levante, but it's cheaper, and it was nice not to have over-exuberant Reps bugging you with quizes and games all day. If you want to relax by the pool in peace, then I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Sea View is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Little_Bear76_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

There is no way this Hotel is 3Star at the very most 2 Star. If you are not lucky enough to get a room on the front of the Hotel there is a very good chance you will be looking at the top of a bar with air conditioning units and ventilation shafts all over the place, and the rear doors to a block of rather grubby looking apartments The bedrooms are very basic and not to comfortable with no TV in them. The Dining Room is very cramped with the food being just about acceptable, Pedro the Head Waiter is a bit of a pain and if you didn't catch his eye you couldn't get a drink in time for your meal. The reception desk is a write off unless the British girl was on, if not they didn't want to know you. The only redeeming feature is the pool area, which is excellent, but be aware of the peace being shattered in the afternoon when small children descend on you screaming and shouting. I've stayed at 4 different Hotels in Cala Bona and this is by far the worst.
less .......Does any1 remember the PASSWORD for the wifi I thought it was hatolon









Regards David

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

There is no way this Hotel is 3Star at the very most 2 Star. If you are not lucky enough to get a room on the front of the Hotel there is a very good chance you will be looking at the top of a bar with air conditioning units and ventilation shafts all over the place, and the rear doors to a block of rather grubby looking apartments
The bedrooms are very basic and not to comfortable with no TV in them. The Dining Room is very cramped with the food being just about acceptable, Pedro the Head Waiter is a bit of a pain and if you didn't catch his eye you couldn't get a drink in time for your meal. The reception desk is a write off unless the British girl was on, if not they didn't want to know you. The only redeeming feature is the pool area, which is excellent, but be aware of the peace being shattered in the afternoon when small children descend on you screaming and shouting. I've stayed at 4 different Hotels in Cala Bona and this is by far the worst.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms look good but at a cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank president52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
0.5 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#6 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#13 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.2 mi away
Som Llevant Suites
Som Llevant Suites
#14 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#5 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marins Playa
Hotel Marins Playa
#13 of 60 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cristina Apartments
Cristina Apartments
#6 of 60 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atolon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atolon

Property: Hotel Atolon
Address: Paseo Maritimo 42, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
#12 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atolon 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Atolon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atolon Hotel Cala Bona
Hotel Atolon Cala Bona, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing