We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice and safe”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Atolon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Atolon
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
wigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really nice and safe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotel Atolon is a fantastic base for exploring. Cala bona and cala millor. The food is good plenty of choice the view from the pool is superb, the rooms are of a good size the place it's self
Is very safe for young children and old people alike plenty for kids to do at night with a couple of fun parks will be going back in the near future

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blimpters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    187
    69
    27
    19
See reviews for
174
237
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We return to Hotel Atolon because it suits our ideas of a seaside break abroad. It's right by the sea in a lovely location between Cala Bona harbour and Cala Millor resort. The staff and MOST of the guests are friendly, & we see people who we know each visit (staff & guests). There is enough going on around and near the hotel for us for most of the time, but a few days car hire allows easy access to other parts of the island.
Reasonable requests are always dealt with, just remember that most of the staff speak quite good english but translation of a request may not be as YOU expected, so check understanding before rushing off back to your sun lounger. Rven we sometimes wonder what we english actually want when asking for something (it's the way we tell 'em, as the irish would say).
Overall a nice hotel to stay at, but remember it is only a 3 star rating, if you want 5 star then you will need to go elsewhere and pay much more.

Room Tip: Ask for, and if necessary, pay for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveGreen95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just got back from 8 nights at the Atolon. The location of the hotel is the best in Cala Bona - with fantastic views if you book a sea view room. This is highly recommended. It really will make all the difference to your stay. The bar and restaurant staff were very friendly and worked really hard. Pedro is a gem - highly entertaining! Decent choice of food at evening meal and I thought the drink prices were reasonable for a hotel bar. Shame you have to pay extra for kettle/ fridge/ safety deposit box etc as it all adds up, but I suppose this is to be expected with the rating of the hotel. Everything was clean and reasonably well maintained. Our room was a good size, as was the bathroom, with a great shower. Beds were rather uncomfortable though. I would go back again. It's not the Levante, but it's cheaper, and it was nice not to have over-exuberant Reps bugging you with quizes and games all day. If you want to relax by the pool in peace, then I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Sea View is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Little_Bear76_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

There is no way this Hotel is 3Star at the very most 2 Star. If you are not lucky enough to get a room on the front of the Hotel there is a very good chance you will be looking at the top of a bar with air conditioning units and ventilation shafts all over the place, and the rear doors to a block of rather grubby looking apartments The bedrooms are very basic and not to comfortable with no TV in them. The Dining Room is very cramped with the food being just about acceptable, Pedro the Head Waiter is a bit of a pain and if you didn't catch his eye you couldn't get a drink in time for your meal. The reception desk is a write off unless the British girl was on, if not they didn't want to know you. The only redeeming feature is the pool area, which is excellent, but be aware of the peace being shattered in the afternoon when small children descend on you screaming and shouting. I've stayed at 4 different Hotels in Cala Bona and this is by far the worst.
less .......Does any1 remember the PASSWORD for the wifi I thought it was hatolon









Regards David

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

There is no way this Hotel is 3Star at the very most 2 Star. If you are not lucky enough to get a room on the front of the Hotel there is a very good chance you will be looking at the top of a bar with air conditioning units and ventilation shafts all over the place, and the rear doors to a block of rather grubby looking apartments
The bedrooms are very basic and not to comfortable with no TV in them. The Dining Room is very cramped with the food being just about acceptable, Pedro the Head Waiter is a bit of a pain and if you didn't catch his eye you couldn't get a drink in time for your meal. The reception desk is a write off unless the British girl was on, if not they didn't want to know you. The only redeeming feature is the pool area, which is excellent, but be aware of the peace being shattered in the afternoon when small children descend on you screaming and shouting. I've stayed at 4 different Hotels in Cala Bona and this is by far the worst.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms look good but at a cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank president52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Started badly, our 5.15 a.m. arrival being greeted by an extremely surly night porter. Day reception staff were cool, but fairly helpful. But things got better - clean, quiet room, quiet A/C, lovely (and very hardworking) restaurant staff, a good atmosphere in the dining room, wifi in lounge, and a surprisingly early end to the noise and entertainment each night. Ideal for those amongst us who aren't interested in clubbing or energetic night life! A good mix of ages.

Food was plentiful, if a little strange - little or no choice of mains for vegetarians, and a peculiar range of highly-coloured desserts. We hired a car, which gave us freedom to explore beyond the resort, with Mark from the wonderful Stanley's Tearooms (next door) giving very useful ideas about where to go off the beaten track. Driving is very easy, and roads are excellent.

Thomson reps are at the Levante nearby, and were superb when our hired car failed to turn up - thank you to Claire for her persistence, and to Sue for the map and suggestions of what to see.

Noticed that many people returned to the Atolon several times, and can understand why. If reception staff had been a little more friendly, I would have increased this rating to Very Good, but first impressions do count....

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask; but noise tended to die down completely around 11.30 pm anyway. Late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachel449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights after moving from another hotel in the resort (1* Sur Hotel which turned out to be excellent) - thought we were doing the right thing moving to a 3 star.
The greeting at reception was, well how can I put it, downright rude. The woman looked me up and down several times and spoke to us as if we had asked for a flight to the moon rather than to check into the hotel. No 'hello', no welcome, no have a nice stay and more importantly no smile - miserable or what!! So our first impression (and one of the most important ones) not good. However, we got our key and checked in to our room. We had hired a fridge at 3 euros a day, which packed up the next day, pouring water all over our suitcase and books. Had to ask twice at reception to get this fixed. Sat the first evening in the outside bar area to watch the entertainment and we would just like to say a huge thank you to Pedro (the miserable of miserable head barman) for making this one of the cheapest nights out we have ever had - on account of the fact that we couldnt get served!! My husband stood at the bar for half an hour and still he wouldnt serve him - in the end I went up to my husband and just said 'sit down and we'll just watch the free entertainment' - which we did and then had a lovely bottle of wine at the bar next door - so thanks Pedro for a really cheap night (not sure your boss will appreciate just how much money you are losing this hotel though). If the management of this hotel read these reviews they really must act to ensure that the staff at reception and in the bar/resaurant (with the exception of the 2 very nice, smiley waitresses) have a customer service lesson and quick - they must be losing this hotel such a lot of business by their miserable, rude attitude.
Because of this everything else was marred, which was a shame as the hotel is in a really nice spot and the bedrooms, although old and dated, were fine.
Cleaning staff I have to say were excellent, the only people who said 'hello' to us each day. The 2 waitresses in the restaurant were also very pleasant its just a real shame that the hotels reputation is being marred by such sour faced, miserable front desk staff and the head barman Pedro. It would be refreshingly nice to see the management respond to the feelings of Tripadvisor users in a positive way, but I have a sneaky feeling that they dont actually give a damn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank firebirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
0.5 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#5 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#13 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Som Llevant Suites
Som Llevant Suites
#14 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#9 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marins Playa
Hotel Marins Playa
#13 of 65 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cristina Apartments
Cristina Apartments
#7 of 65 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atolon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atolon

Property: Hotel Atolon
Address: Paseo Maritimo 42, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
#12 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atolon 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Atolon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atolon Hotel Cala Bona
Hotel Atolon Cala Bona, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing