We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodation, great location, but doesn't really have a gym”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Protur Floriana Resort
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here self catering. Happy with everything but I did choose this place due to it saying it had a gym. The gym is an old squash court, with an old stepper and an old spin bike and two pieces of weight equipment that doesn't work. Paid for breakfast on our last day due to pick up time and was really disapointed, orientated towards the Germans. Having said all that we would stay again due to apartment and location

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 440 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just back today and we had a super time. Good points are entertainment team, they are very committed and great fun. Evening entertainment was 3.5 out of five from us. The hotel is very clean and it's a super resort. The hotel is five minute walk from spar and the town and ten minutes fRom cheaper BIP shop. Drinks are very 5.20euro for a beer and sangria in hotel, but we went self catering and brought our own. The reception staff are fabulous and work very hard. It is a mixed resort with German, dutch, polish, English, Irish etc....kids did manage to find friends who spoke English and they had a ball. Call bona is lovely...would go back to hotel and resort. Ps...we have two children, eight and ten.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MissLotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed for two weeks at the end of August with my husband and two boys, 15 and 10 for a self catering holiday in block G. The apartments were perfect for us apart from the air conditioning which, when the complex is full, does not work brilliantly. I did mention this to Reception but think it is because the building is quite old and once I was accliamatised did not give me any problems. The cleaners were excellent and came into the apartments 5 days out of 7. We used the local Bip store which is about 10 minutes walk from the apartments and found that it was great for food for breakfast and lunch. Every night we walked into either Cala Bona and Cala Millor where there was a whole range of restaurants to suit everyone. We particularly liked eating in Cala Bona! Did look at eating in one night but reminded me of a canteen and thought that the price wasn't competitive with local restaurants. Maybe if your children were younger it might be worth eating in occasionally. We never went to the entertainment in the evenings so cannot comment on this but when we used the pool in the main area it was full of Germans. Didn't bother me at all but felt more comfortable in the pool by block G and the pool just across the road. My tip would be to take a couple of ping pong bats/balls as played loads and also a couple of tennis racquets as great fun to play in the evening! These can be hired from Reception but a five minute treck just to get to reception. Also, we hired bikes for a couple of days from main reception and cycled round the resort which was great fun.

We found the resort clean and didn't have a problem getting sunbeds. Yes, the pools did seem a bit murky at first but think this was because there were so many people going in without showering first. They were cleaned everyday and the bins emptied regularly.

Wouldn't hesitate to stay again on a self catering holiday as we all enjoyed the resort. Found the holiday good value for money and suited us perfectly. Stayed at the Vista Badia three years ago which is also run by Protur and would definitely stay at Protur establishments in Majorca again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Victoria186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

A clean and tidy hotel but not what we expected and we would not return.For us as self catering guests the food was all buffet at breakfast,lunch and night at a price with no snack menu what so ever.This was ok because we prefer to eat out most nights but during the day by the pool would mean us having to walk down to the front to grab some lunch.
Another major ommission from the tour operator is that the complex is primarily a German based hotel,so forget sunbeds by the pool.Another subject hidden is that there is no complex supermarket with the nearest being a 15 min walk away which is not nice with heavy bags of water etc.The entertainment is set up for Germans as well and we never stayed once in the hotel complex in the evenings as this was a blend of loud european music.If I had young children under the age of 10, I would avoid this hotel like the plague.The location is not exactly true in the brochure as well,as yes you can get to the sea front within 20 mins but you can walk for another 20 mins to get to Calor Millor.The pools are also quite small and crowded with one life guard keeping an eye on all 4 pools.I would not recommend this hotel 100%.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaytsSupreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks at the floriana resort. weve had a lovely time. We were in block G which was much quieter than the others. The apartment was lovely and clean, kitchen area a bit small but managable. the maid service was brill, we were short of a few bits n pieces i.e forks n bowls but rang reception and they were sent straight over, nothing seemed to much bother. The area around the pool was cleaned every morning. Sun beds wernt to difficult to get although lots of them were reserved before 8am. There were lots of German people there , but equally as many English . We wouldnt hesitate to return there and cala bona was a nice place to be.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loretta s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

nice complex well maintained, gardens pools etc, rooms clean 2 uk chanels on TV air con is very poor need toconsider if you are going in july-aug as you will not sleep without it. We used the all inc option, food was as exepected ...School dinners come to mind , though one night they had first class beef on. Good sellection of breakfast cold items and salad and fruit. Drink... disapointing, beer is vey harsh, wine from the self service was undrinkable ,wine from the bar was a bit better. We went to local suprmarket and got our own. Good supply of ice cream and soft drinks24-7 for kids. This place is primarly German , be prepared for q jumping . The reception staff were first rate, I wanted to hire a light aircrft and I ony speak about 5 words of spanish. The girl spent about a hour looking on internet, talking with airport and then drawing me an idiot proof map to get to the strip. Car hire from hotel was cheap and booking water park etc at reception saves queing and gets you in cheaper. My top tip would be not to waste time fighting for sunbeds, walk to local beach and hire sunbed and straw shade for the day , the sea is lush.cleaning, beds, toilet bathroom is faultless.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnbulpin_swansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

we have just come back from a weeks stay. We had booked half board and had a lovely time. After I had booked the holiday i looked on tripadvisor and looking at the reviews was not quite sure how good the holiday was going to be but must admit we had a fab time.
We were in block G we arrived early in the morning but were taken to our room via a golf buggy and the staff were very friendly.
Yes this hotel is geared for Germans but we found no problems looking at earlier reviews i was expecting to maybe not have such a good time but we found them them to be nice, yes some were rude but most that we were with were really nice and friendly trying to make conversation a bit tricky but sign language helped hahahah.
The staff we could not fault infact we noticed that they were more attentive to us than to the other guests maybe because we said "thank you"?
We paid for all of our drinks but the children did get some free drinks when they offered to pay but the staff would not take their money, did not happen when i went to get drinks !!!!
We ate in the large main restaurant and had no complaints the manager was really nice, friendly and nothing was any trouble even to the stage when some nights we got free drinks.
The restaurant staff were lovely yes they did take your plate once you had finished but that was ok we went to get more hahah and they were always polite and friendly. The food was as expected plenty of choice for our family and they have an area where food was cooked as you waited so nice and hot.
Breakfast was again as we expected the same every day but plenty of choice.
The entertainment was mainly geared for the Germans but as there were more of them than english it did not surprise us but again the staff did speak a little english and our children managed to understand the rules of the games, even though hardly any english was known. It was quite funny watching them try to explain to our children but the german children helped to explain as well.
Nightime entertainment again mainly in german with a bit of english in but if you have stayed befor at a spanish hotel you would understand as it was the same as we had seen before just in german and spanish and the staff did put a bit on english in but the shows were in ENGLISH yes they did mime but it was fun and at least you could understand
Not sure about the clubs for small children would think that it could be very difficult for them to understand but go with them and tell the staff your english they really do try their best to make themselves understood and others do help.
The only downside to the holiday was on the second to last day when the pool had to been roped off to be cleaned (lets say no more) but the maintenance man was there once the problem had been spotted and cleaned. he put some solution into the pool. This did spoil the end of the day a bit but what i would say was that it had to be cleaned as a result of an ADULT not a child.
Overall a good holiday beach nice hotel nice staff friendly room good size food plenty of choice and the weather was very very hot .

Room Tip: G block maybe a away from the main entrance but at night time we found it to be very quiet, and it d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemrya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala Bona hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#8 of 19 in Cala Bona
1,007 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#4 of 19 in Cala Bona
388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#10 of 19 in Cala Bona
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Som Llevant Suites Hotel
Som Llevant Suites Hotel
#14 of 19 in Cala Bona
461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Cap de Mar
Aparthotel Cap de Mar
#17 of 19 in Cala Bona
146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#6 of 19 in Cala Bona
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Floriana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Floriana Resort

Address: Calle Ses Joanetes Cb s/n, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
Price Range: $36 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protur Floriana Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Protur Floriana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Floriana Hotel Cala Bona
Floriana Cala Bona
Protur Floriana Cala Bona
Protur Floriana Resort Cala Bona, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing