We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Credit to Thomson”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2009

Just back from 11 days at the Bonaire. An excellent facility, very difficult to fault the hotel - but I will anyway, we arrived at 11:30am, and couldn't get into our room until 2pm. Not what you need when you've dragged your kids out of bed at 3am for a 4am check in. I heard the receptionist telling another guest that his room wouldn't be free until 7pm!! and it wasn't her fault that the previous occupants had paid for a late checkout!
Our apartment was in Block 3 facing the pool, and the noisy outdoor stage area - Initially I thought about requesting a move, but actually it wasn't in any way an issue, and had its advantages during the day. If our kids had been a bit younger it could have been more of an annoyance (10 & 5). Blocks 4 & 5 facing away from the pool are probably the quietest ones. One small criticism of the rooms - the kitchen area is inadequate for proper self-catering (potentially deliberately I suspect). Other than that, the best quality Spanish apartments I've been in.
Thomson Family Club Holidays are full on - If you don't want to participate in the general atmosphere, then go somewhere else (you will not be able to ignore it, trust me) - If you're game for a bit of a laugh (and more importantly your kids are), then you will not be disappointed here. The energy & enthusiasm of the entertainers is spell-binding (Ravin' Rach & Harry Potter), and every kids club rep I encountered was a credit to Thomson. Very professional, hard-working young people, but still able to relate to the kids of all ages.
Cala Bona itself - nice enough, small, simple, quite pricey - but fine.
The much discussed sunbed issue - a bit depressing to see UK citizens behaving in a manner traditionally associated with our German cousins - but I'm afraid it's almost impossible to sensibly police a ban. In practice their were plenty of sunbeds, so you could always find somewhere to go - but the best spots were all bagged by about 7am.
All in all - a great holiday, and we'll probably be going back at some point. Well done Claire Bear and her team, Well done Protur Hotels. Well done Thomson Holidays.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dosser130967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,305)
There are newer reviews for Protur Bonaire Aparthotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,097 - 2,103 of 2,305 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2009

After deliberating and talking about it with friends, we booked at the Bonaire in Aug 09.

We were not disappointed!! We booked accommodation only through Thomson and requested a pool view - and got one (first time ever a request has been fulfilled!).

There are 5 blocks, with 4 floors in each block all surrounding the large swimming pool. Block 5 (the one we were in) is the block that gets the sun right through to late.

There was enough sunbeds for everyone - despite the usual early (4am?) dash for the best spots. I'm on holiday and I get up when I wake up - I was getting up around 8-9am every day and never struggled to get a sunbed.

The pool is large and has a deep part and shallow - there is a paddling pool separate for the little ones. The whole complex is kept clean and spotless.

There is always plenty to do, if you want - a full kids programme day and night (the Thomson reps work VERY hard for the money) and plenty of adult activities if you want. One thing to try is the Whirlpool in the shallow part if the pool at about 12noon everyday - if you have been, you'll know what I mean. The evening entertainment was generally split into two halves - first the kids stuff, then the main cabaret - some good (Rod Stewart tribute) some dire (Tina Turner!!!!!!!) and some average.

Bar prices and food was slightly cheaper than here in the UK - expect about the same and you won't be disillusioned. (the days of the cheap prices are long gone!). I cannot comment about the food in the restaurant, as being self catering, we ate out every night You can pay for half board or breakfast in advance with reception but for the cost of half board (14 euros a day), it was cheaper to eat out.

There are full English TV channels in the TV in the rooms, if you want it, 2 single beds in the main bedroom and two sofa beds. The kitchen area has a fridge/with icebox, kettle, toaster, microwave and a dining table and 4 chairs. There is air conditioning controlled by your room card.

A few tips to pass on, that we didn't know about/no one informed us:
1. you only get one room card regardless of party size - ask reception for another one and they will oblige
2. you can hire beach towels for the duration of your stay for a small deposit (which I believe you get back)
3. go to reception and create a 'charge card' against your room - they take a pre-authorisation from your credit card up to a value (you choose) and then you can use it charge drinks/ice creams/food to your room. Each time you buy something, you get a slip telling you your balance - you settle up at the end of your stay.

The hotel location is excellent - two minute walk to the start of Cala Bona. Cala Bona is a small resort that leads into Cala Millor - there are restaurants/bars/shops and a small marina. A lovely resort and quiet resort with a good selection of bars/restaurants and several hotels/apartment blocks. Popular with British and Scandanavians. There are no loud groups or fun pubs/discos here.

A ten minute brisk walk will take you to Cala Millor - or take the land train or bus or even a chuckle truck (multi seat bicycles) if you prefer.

There is a small sandy beach - cost of parasols and sun beds I beleive was about 3.50 euros each per day (didn't go to the beach).

All in all, a faultless holiday - we came back on 24th Aug and have already booked to go back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThorntonWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday to Cala Bona, with our kids aged 12 & 8. We stayed in the Bonaire Aparthotel. Before going on holiday we had read mostly excellent reviews of both the resort and the hotel, so we were hoping not to be disappointed - and on the whole we weren't!
The Bonaire is definately not for those looking for a quite haven in which to relax for a couple of weeks. The poolside music starts at 11am and was at times incredibly loud. The choice of music in the morning was mainly the euro-dance type with a thumping base line. It did mellow as the day progressed and the volume also decreased. By mid-afternoon it was very pleasant to lie at the pool with music in the background. There is a full programme of activities every day and these are announced on the hour by the reps over a speaker system. There were times however when we felt we were reliving a Hi-De-Hi moment when the reps announced, for example, "The table tennis tournament is about to start. If all those taking part want to make there way over to stage area.....".
The Bonaire does have a fantastic pool area. There is lots of room at the poolside and there are lots of sunbeds. There were however lots of people who claimed their sunbed before the sun was even up!
Our kids loved the kids' clubs. Our son, at 12 years old, thought he was 'too grown up' for the kids club. But once there, he enjoyed water fights, rounders etc. Just right for his age. Our daughter's group (6 - 8 year olds) had quizzes and crafts which she enjoyed too.
There was a wide variety of evening entertainment. Everything from Flamenco dancers, to rock groups, magicians, tribute acts. There was a different act on every night we were there.
So, would we recommend the Bonaire? - yes, definately.

2  Thank MackatCoDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

Brilliant creche for the littlies-My son went to 4 sessions during our stay and loved it. Quality of care excellent and very caring staff who always wanted to cuddle the kids if they saw them at the evening entertainment when they were off duty. Cala Millor Beach brilliant and safe for babies/toddlers. All external restaurants good food but take reins as the high chairs are very dodgy! Internet cafe locally for teenagers and a safe family resort to let them go out in the evening. Apartment was so clean we could smell the bleach-very reassuring. Swimming pool also amazing. They should remove all the towels if they say they will-people got wise to this but we lay on the grass on towels most of the time until we could see which beds were unmanned and then we moved the towels ourselves and took the beds. (We did have the management on our side in case of hassle) but nobody ever complained. Breakfast at hotel brilliant, evening meal STRANGE. Would go back in a shot!

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EmmaC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Hotel great, Cala Bona is really nice and a really safe place for children. Only downside is the booking af sunbeds, most people were out between 4am and 5am to reserve their place by the pool. So by 6am all the prime slots were gone. I even witness one family take their towels out on a night out and put them on the sun bed when they were read for bed, madness!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1234Ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

We were glad we picked this hotel the entertainers work really hard to keep you happy all day the rooms are basic but all you need, we didnt cook but there were electric rings microwave toaster & kettle (no oven) try for block 4 or 5 non pool facing for the quieter rooms if we go again we will stick to these blocks and also try for a top floor as if you are below someone who pushes the lounge sofas together to make bigger bed area when they come in at night then you hear all the furniture noise then they seperate them before they go out it can be annoying we ate in pool bar when we arrived but kids didnt like the nuggets we didnt try main restaurant we went to the london inn 9 out of 14 nights sunday roasts are fab and chicken bites for kids are real chicken The Smugglers for a breakfast friendly and fab, we tried other places but nothing as good or friendly.Bar staff at hotel work so hard early till late,the shows which are hired are top class,the bar sells slushes and theres a hot popcorn machine,there are 3 computers in reception 1 euro for 10 min we found this a great help as our teenager had msn time before the show started,kids time is 8 till 9 fun with thompson then the days prizes given out a pre show then caberet at 10,the pool is the best we passed lots of hotels on the way not a patch on our pool,there is good kids clubs for all ages but ours just wanted to swim, the sunbeds are reserved early around the pool about 7 am we got up to get 2nd row, there is lots of grass areas and plenty of beds and shaded areas but if you want a parasol about 7am,the kids play area is good also this hotel has lots of areas to sit and chill and never seems to packed you will enjoy this great hotel ps we did the western water park but felt at 136 euros for 2 ad 2 kids it wasnt worth it very dated and lots of queues the food was a rip off and grose with it

Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
Thank s4500uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

We got back a few days ago from staying at this hotel. Had a lovely ten days there, very clean, staff very friendly and lots going on for all ages. We didn't manage to see much of the hotels entertainment each night as both our children were too tired to stay up for it but sounded great! Pool was great design and kids loved it, I even used the gym which was basic but fine. our oldest did the Razmatza theatre school club for 3 days which was brilliant as at the end they put a show on in the evening, worth while doing. The only thing that annoyed us slightly is that our flight was delayed and by the time got to the hotel all the supermarkets were closed and we needed some milk for our youngest 12 months old, the reception staff told us as self catering can't help us which i thought was rude we went to the bar and asked them and they kindly gave us some and some water to tie us over until the morning which was great. The entertainment is packed full and probably a bit too noisey at times but kept everyone entertained. The Thomson reps were brilliant, to the extent that when one of them saw me walking through the foyer with a birthday cake they asked whose birthday it was, i explained it was my dads the next day. When we got back the next day from a day out there was another big chocolate cake, a bottle of champagne and a bottle of whiskey and some cards from Thomson staff and the hotel. What a lovely touch and surprise, one my dad will never forget. The only downside is towel gate as we liked to call it, i was amazed to see the times people will get up to put towels down, one morning at 4am when our son had woken up we looked out and there were 4 people putting towels out then!!! We never did this and we always found a bed no problems so there is no need to do it unless you really don't want to walk an extra 3 ft to the pool, was all so silly. A letter came through saying not to do it and that any towels out there before 8am would be removed but sadly they never did remove them and every morning by 6am all beds closest to the room was gone. With the euro being strong i would recoomend if you are going with small children to take nappies and food and wipes with you, we took enough for half the holiday but when a packet of nappies costs you over £9 for 24 wish we had taken all of them with us! There are plenty places .to eat in the harbour area and all different prices, but is expensive just due to the strength of the Euro. I would reccomend Migurel and Dawns place which is round the back of the harbour as they did great Spainish and English food, and were so friendly and great with the kids, plus you are right in front of the sea perfect place. Sanddancers and London Inn which are all mentioned on here are just like a British pub, which is fine if you like that sort of thing but didn't so stayed away. IBeach at cala Millor is not far at all and is great sandy beach which the kids loved. I would also reccomend going on the Sea odyessy boat trips book them yourselves as cheaper than doing so than doing it via the hotel as great trips. would go back but would probably do half board as probably works out cheaper to do so and maybe when the kids are older so can do more of the activities. Would reccoment it and staff really are great.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TauntonGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
2.6 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#3 of 19 in Cala Bona
345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#7 of 19 in Cala Bona
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel
0.3 mi away
Grupotel Mallorca Mar
Grupotel Mallorca Mar
#12 of 19 in Cala Bona
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Bonaire Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Bonaire Aparthotel

Address: Ctra Cala Bona-Costa los Pinos s/n, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cala Bona
#2 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Price Range: $51 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protur Bonaire Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Protur Bonaire Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel Hotel Cala Bona
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel Cala Bona, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing