We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Booked this hotel through Thomson as its their family resort and we travelled with our 5 yr old. It was our first stay at the hotel and we will definitely return. The hotel is very clean and the apartments are spacious and nicely decorated. There are four pools on site. The large main pool, a toodler pool, an indoor pool (open in off season) and the most amazing splash pool. We have just returned home so the main pool was pretty cold being October but the kids still used the splash pool without getting cold. We had no problems with sun beds even though we travelled during half term. Thomson provide their own kids club and entertainment on site. We went self catering so cant comment on the food. The hotel is only a few minutes from the sea but the beach is a bit further away. You will find several restaurants within walking distance incase you go self catering. The harbour in Cala Bona is beautiful. Very happy with our stay.

Room Tip: If you like a quiet room ask for a room that is facing away from the main pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanna j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,564
    535
    121
    24
    7
See reviews for
1,584
329
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We spent a week here in the middle of September and we had a great holiday,
this is the 4th time we have been. All the staff that work here are very helpful and always happy to help. We went all inclusive and the food was great like every other year. Hotel is always clean too. Our Daughter (2 years old) had such good fun on this holiday.
Would defiantly return again.

Room Tip: Block 4 and 5 are the best if you want an early night as you wont be able to hear the entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

This was our first family holiday with our 17 month old daughter. We stayed for 2 weeks from 5 October until 19 October. Our room was in block 4 on the second floor overlooking the main pool.

We were self catering and our room had everything we needed. There was a deposit needed for the tv remote. And a charge for the safe.

For our baby, a cot was put at the end of our bed in our room and we hired a highchair for the duration of our stay.

The hotel staff were excellent and very good with our baby. They were friendly, had fantastic English and always made you feel special. Joanna, Natalie and the rest of the reception staff were lovely.

The bar staff were also very nice, Dani the bar man would always help with getting our babies food heated or give her some milk whilst we were watching the evening entertainment.

The Thompson staff were also 1st class. The reps Emma and Gareth were always on hand and very friendly and Nutty Nathan and the entertainment reps worked so hard throughout the day and we especially loved the nighttime entertainment, our daughter always had a dance to Thompson the Dog song. On a couple of occasions (for a bit of extra sunbathing time!) the Thompson crèche team looked after our daughter, she adored Mermaid Amy, Zippy Zoe and Hannah Banana. And after her crèche sessions, the crèche team gave us a little pack of things our daughter had made for us to keep.

The resort of Cala Bona was quiet but perfect for a young family, it was also nearing the end of the season so that accounted for some of the quietness. Two recommendations of places to eat were the Indian restaurant and Panetosto pizzeria, excellent food at both. And for a drink and a bit of karaoke, you have got to go to Sanddancers (opposite BIP the mini market).

We walked to the next resort of Cala Millor a few times for the nice sandy beach and a few more shops, it only took about 20 minutes to walk.

This hotel was immaculate and fantastic, I suppose the only thing that would have made it even better would be warmer pools, in 2 weeks, I could only take my daughter in the main pool once and splash pool twice as it was sooooo cold and she was shivering after 5 minutes. There was an indoor pool that wasn't as cold.

Also there was a soft play area next to the table tennis table that our daughter played in. It was a little tired looking but still a nice touch to provide a soft play area.

Overall, fantastic and we hope to go again next year.

Thank you Protur Bonaire, we love you, Leonora, Jerry and Cupcake x

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fourcheeses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bucks
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Can honestly say this was one of the best holidays! Perfect for children/babies/toddlers. Apartment was spotless and spacious. Food was varied, abundant and tasty. Everyone was very friendly and the hotel and grounds were constantly being cleaned/ grass mowed etc. Can't wait to go again!

Room Tip: We had rooms 3207 and 3208 on the end (larger?) at the front overlooking quiet street - probably the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SouthBucksHyacinth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Just got home after spending a week 17th to 24th October 2013. I read all the reviews on here before we went and ignore any of the negative reviews, there is only a few but don't let them put you off. We have always done long haul holidays so we wasn't expecting much. Very impressed. We went self catering as we don't like being on a time scale when out and about exploring the area having to get back for evening meals etc and being able to eat wherever we fancied. Our apartment was better than we expected and bigger. There was myself and my husband and 2 children aged 7 and 5 and this was more than big enough. The kitchenette had an electric 2 ring hob, decent size fridge, can and bottle opener, blender, juicer, tea pot, pots and pans, microwave, toaster, kettle, tea towel. Air con was good and the bedroom had a seperate digital control so you could adjust the temp in there without the kids getting too cold/warm. In the bedroom there was our own wardrobe with shelves and a safe. Dressing table and 2 bedside tables. The main living area had 2 sofa beds which were big enough for adults to sleep on, dining table and chairs and a flat screen tv. There is no remote for the tv when you arrive to your room but you pay €10 at reception as a deposit and then at the end of your stay you take it back and then get your €10 back. At a guess people have knicked them in the past. Our room was in block 5 and room 5005 on the ground floor looking out onto the main pool and was an excellent location. The room looks very modern and I would guess only been revamped within the last 10 or so months and spotless. We never at at the hotel but speaking to others around the pool it seemed very reasonably priced. Kids has slush which was €1.85 and a beer was €3. On the harbour you would pay between €2 and €3 for a beer so for a hotel we didn't think it was too bad. Thomson reps were excellent and did loads for the kids as well as the adults and were always around it you needed anything, 10/10 for their hard work. Hotel staff excellent and very helpful too. Bar staff excellent and very hard workers, so friendly and never seem to expect a tip but when you do leave them one they are extremely grateful an even if you left 50 cents they can't thank you enough. The splash pool for the kids was great, my two thought it was the best thing ever with lots of water slides and the water was very shallow too. The water did seem very cold when you started paddling but once you was in it was fine and being October you would expect this. There was a indoor pool but we was happy to be outside. If you are thinking of eating out then try The Rope & Anchor a British pub and the food is excellent value for money, approx €30 for the four of us with drinks too. Down the road from the hotel is a BIP supermarket selling all british brands as well as local food and fresh bread baked daily. This is cheaper than the Spar shops. Even cheaper is Eroski in Calla Millor but if you are not into walking far then if you get the local open top city bus from near BIP this will take you into Calla Millor for €1.85. Where the bus stops cross the road and turn left at the T junction and you will see Eroski on your left. You can get a sliced loaf of bread there for 65cents and BIP will cost you €1.80. The orange sight seeing train is ok but going to calla millor you dont get to sightsee as it goes along the same route as the bus snd will cost you more than double. €10 for the four of us, kids enjoyec it but a bit of a rip off. Hope my review helps you and we will most definately stay at Bonaire again very soon I hope.

Room Tip: I would choose block 5 room 5005 again and again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GavKez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We are a retired couple in our sixties and just returned from a week's holiday at this Aparthotel.
We found the hotel to be very clean throughout and the grounds and areas surrounding the pool complexes very neat and tidy. We found all the staff extremely pleasant, cleaning staff, ground staff, restaurant staff and reception, nothing was too much trouble and our apartment was spotlessly clean and pleasantly furnished with modern fittings.A lot of people have complained in previous reviews about having to pay a deposit (returnable) for TV remote and pool towels etc. As these are refundable I do not understand what the problem is. There is a small charge if you wish to make use of the safe in room, but we felt it was worthwhile for peace of mind etc. All in all everything within apartment excellent, fridge, ceramic hob with 2 burners, microwave, toaster,kettle and adequate crockery and cutlery and utensils if you wished to self cater. We had chosen half board option which suits us best. We have slept on more comfortable beds, but they were ok and clean and the linen was changed twice in the week. The food was good with a large choice and quite honestly even the fussiest eater would have no problem finding something they liked. Sometimes the food could have been hotter, but this is always a problem with buffet restaurant, you cannot really compare to having food cooked to order. Desserts were excellent with a large choice. There is a separate children's buffet section.The restaurant is very child friendly, and we would be more than happy to go there with our small grandsons. There is plenty for children to do - swimming pools, entertainment in kids club etc, however, this did not affect us. We asked for a room in a quieter area of the complex if possible and our wishes were granted. We were in room 4309 which is in block 4, there are 5 blocks in all. This room was at the back of the complex over looking countryside and hills and a sport court where children and often dads were having fun kicking balls about etc.
The bus stop is about 5 minutes walk from hotel and you can go just about anywhere from there.This was our first visit to Majorca and we loved it, the temperature was around 26 degrees every day.
Now for the negative - the transfer from the airport to the hotel, we knew the time involved, that was not a problem, however, the coach provided was not one of the modern Thomson Holidays coaches, but was a tatty old white coach with air con that did not work, many people on the coach were uncomfortably hot due to the poor air con in the coach, we arrived feeling very hot and tired. However, the return coach transfer from hotel to airport was excellent, a nice modern air conditioned coach, if only we had that one for the incoming transfer! Apart from that everything excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a quiet location away from the lifts, we had apartment 4309 which was at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 125Angie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

First impressions are of a very clean & well managed hotel. The room was well equipped & furnished. Only criticisms we had were, it was on the first floor above the restaurant, and cooking odours were common, along with quite a lot of noise from the chair dragging clog dancers in the room above. Also the balcony was overlooked by many opposite & didn't get the sun until late afternoon. If we return we would certainly request a high floor to avoid these problems. That aside, the place was kept spotless with room cleaning done almost every day.

Cala Bona is a lovely small harbour with many good bars & restaurants however, to find a decent beach, it is around a 30 minute walk to neighbouring Cala Millor. The promenade between the two resorts is mostly pedestrianised but divided by a cycle lane which can be hazardous. Some cyclists treat it as a race track & it gets very busy!

Room Tip: Unless you have toddlers likely to climb over the balcony, request a high floor for more privacy &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exburtonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
2.6 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#6 of 19 in Cala Bona
788 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#4 of 19 in Cala Bona
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Zafiro Can Picafort
Zafiro Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
1,700 reviews
19.5 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,059 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cala Bona
Hotel Cala Bona
#5 of 19 in Cala Bona
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Bonaire Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Bonaire Aparthotel

Property: Protur Bonaire Aparthotel
Address: Ctra Cala Bona-Costa los Pinos s/n, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cala Bona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
#2 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protur Bonaire Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Protur Bonaire Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel Hotel Cala Bona
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel Cala Bona, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing