We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Family Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Hotel”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have just returned from a holiday at this beautiful hotel. The hotel staff and thomson reps all worked extremely hard to give that extra personal touch making sure that everyone was kept happy and entertained during there stay. Everyone who we talked to said that they returned year after year to this hotel and we can understand why.
They rooms are a good size, very comfortable and tastefully decorated. ( a home from home ).
There were ample sun lounges around the pool and pirate ship splash pool.( The Hotel insist that no towels can be left on the sun lounges before 7:45 am if you do want to reserve a particular spot).
The outdoor entertainment area is very well designed, it is teared so that everybody can see the stage area. The Thomson entertainment staff were incredible they kept everybody in high spirits and entertained throughout their holidays, everyday was fun filled.
The food although there was a good selection we found there was always pasta and chips ,but never mashed or boiled potatoes, but still plenty of choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubbleboo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,570
    547
    123
    26
    7
See reviews for
1,606
329
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (700)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Cannot fault it clean hotel, nice rooms, the food was excellent with plenty of choice and the Thomson reps where absolutely fantastic the best I have ever seen. We have booked for next year the weekend we returned!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I went with my Daughters, Son in laws and Grandchildren. The children loved it. They are kept entertained from morning to night. Cannot praise the entertainment staff enough. We didnt go all inclusive as we like to eat out. Go. You will not be dissapointed

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank murphyworcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at the Protur Bonaire for two weeks, 12 - 26 August (2 adults and our six year old son). I booked it after lots of Trip Advisor research having stayed at Playa Mar, Puerto Pollensa, last year and wanted to try somewhere different. I have to agree to some extent with a previous reviewer who says that the absolute out and out rave reviews of this hotel are a little bit over the top. The hotel, in our experience, was spotlessly clean, the manager was always visible and friendly as were all of his staff. The pool is large and although crowded (as you would expect in peak season) not unpleasant. The splash pool was a bit of a let down for us. My six year old was too big to use it. Just a trickle of water comes down each slide meaning he got stuck! It really is only suitable for very tiny tots. The Thompson entertainment team were excellent. Nutty Nathan and Krazy Kayla were SO good. Because the kids love them so much you'd go back just to see them again (but unfortunately they all move onto a different resort next year so not possible!). The food was also a sticking point for us. They seem to cater for the stereotypical 'Brit Abroad'. Chips are available 24/7! There was always a choice of grilled fish or meat and some Mediterranean vegetables but the majority of the offerings were spaghetti bolognese, chicken curry, beef in honey (!?) and that kind of fayre. The kids food was sometimes terrible. The kids lasagne, chicken legs, pork kebabs all good....any form of nugget or fish finger...BAD. Very cheap. If you have a fussy eater who may not be adventurous enough to try 'pork in gipsy sauce'!? you would die to see a decent fish finger. The desserts all looked great but tended to be the same cake moulded into a different shape with a different swirl of cream on top. As said in previous reviews a lot of the sun des are broken, which is annoying. The pros of this hotel far outweigh the cons but two weeks all inclusive is a bit much when the food is only average.

Cala Bona was not our favourite resort. The walk from the hotel to the harbour is pleasant enough but then you are faced with the plethora of British owned eating establishments catering for British tastes. It just feels as though the Spanish part is being lost. We visited the beach at Cala Millor which was nice but we felt the better beach was a 10 Euro cab ride away is Sa Coma. Although, this is another ultra British resort once away from the beach itself.

In summary. You will love the Bonaire is you want full on entertainment for the kids, love the pool scene and don't mind a bit of riotous noise! It is a great hotel and you can always make a meal from the buffet - even though it might be a mad combo! The staff are great here. However, if you want picture postcard pretty and a bit more of a classy feel head for Puerto Pollensa instead. The Pine Walk wins hands down for scenery!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate_Nick_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We returned back on 19th August after a two week family holiday self catering with our 7 year old daughter and 17 year old son and had an absolutely amazing time.

I cannot understand how someone can give this place a 2 star rating, they obviously haven't done their homework and booked the wrong place. It doesn't deserve a poor rating.

The hotel itself is spotless along with the rooms and there are always staff cleaning the place from early in the morning in the gardens to late at night around the pool area and reception.

The rooms are newly refurbished and are cleaned 5 times a week and linen changed twice a week to a fantastic standard. It says this in the brochure. Also the kitchenette had everything you needed to make breakfast or lunch. Don't expect a 3 course meal from it as its not designed for that. You would hire a villa for that.

There were a few sunbeds broken but certainly no where near 80%. But it wasn't really that much of a problem. You do need to get up early if you want a sunbed by the pool side but this is no different to any hotel abroad. The pool itself is huge and kept clean and caters for all ages.

The entertainment staff are what made the holiday. Nutty Nathan, Lady Lottie and Krazy Kayla worked themselves into the ground providing entertainment during the day from 11am to 5pm then entertainment all evening every evening. Their energy was fantastic and they deserve massive praise for their enthusiasm and commitment. They even managed to get my 17 year old boy involved which was no mean feat. The rest of the thomson team were also fantistic from the reps on reception to the kids club staff and couldn't do enough for you.

We cannot comment on the food as we were self catering, however I did go in and have a look at both the main restaurant and the Italian restaurant and both looked fine. We prefer self catering as we like to eat out at different places.

This brings me on to the bar and hotel food. The place is a snack bar and does what it says on the tin. It offers a good range of food and is always served quickly. We ate hear quite a few times as it was convenient but was always good food. The bar staff were excellent and the same bar staff would work in the evening when the place was packed for the evenings entertainment and were fantastic, welcoming and 2nd to none at their jobs. Excellent!!!

The drinks were slightly more expensive in the hotel than local bars but that's to be expected. It's a hotel. It's the same everywhere in the world.

Cala Bona itself was a lovely picturesque place with a lovely harbour and some lovely restaurants with fantastic views and was always a good atmosphere around the harbour in the evenings. The promenade was also very very clean. Personal favourites of ours was L'Olivia and Panetosto. There was a great variety of restaurants serving Spanish and English food. We managed to have a Paella and Tapas and both were excellent.

We hired a car for a week during the middle of the holiday as we like to travel out and explore. We did this through the thomsons reps who are arranged everything for us including the car seat. They use europecar and cannot be faulted. I was picked up from the hotel taken to the car and then handed the keys back to the Bonaire reception at the end of the week. No hidden charges also.

Overall we had a fantastic time here and can see why people come back for further visits. As typical Brits we will be one of the families returning next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. If you are worried about noise then ask for a room non pool facing. We were in b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart_spurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We are very much in the minority but we found this hotel too loud, noisy and would not consider it to be a four star. We even paid to come home early!! We had a very badly placed room in block two overlooking the pool which is right beside the stage area. We asked for block four but were told this block was fully booked. We should have asked to be moved but we don't like to complain or make a fuss.

The noise started at 8ish with either the lawn mower or the motorised cleaning machine and then the extremely loud music started at 10 am and went on until 11.30 pm. Unfortunately the location of our room meant that no peace could be got and trying to get the kids to rest through the day was impossible.

On top of the noise, the beds were extremely uncomfortable, so hard and maybe if we had managed to get a decent nights sleep then the noise thing may not have been as much of an issue.

With regard to the hotel standards, we stayed in a first choice premier four star last year (which was a fantastic holiday) and this was of much lower standard than that. They cleaned five times per week at the Bonaire compared to seven last year. I can't understand why they couldn't clean every day however the cleaning was ok but not very thorough. The glass on the balcony was not cleaned and marks in bath not cleaned away. Last year these would have been cleaned every day.

The smell around the main pool especially near the barbecue area coming from the drain was horrid. On our last day the kids wanted beds around the main pool instead of the splash pool, the only ones left at about 8 am were near this horrible drain.

You could get a sunbed most time of the day, but if you wanted a specific place or a umbrella then you have to be up extremely early. I saw people lying on sunbeds just after 6 am even though the hotel asks for towels not to be put on until 7.45 am. We even saw one family have three umbrellas! At the splash pool the majority of the sunbeds were broken, which is not what I would expect from a four star hotel.

It was after our son didn't feel well one evening that we decided to come home as we were all exhausted. No rest bite from the noise could be got and it was not the relaxing holiday we had intended.

Don't get us wrong i can see why people like this hotel and go back time and again, the staff were lovely and the Thomson entertainment and kids club staff were very good and hard working. The setting for the hotel was perfect, great location in Cala Bona which was such a lovely resort.

Our Cyprus holiday last year set a high bench mark but we wanted something closer to home. We are just sorry to say that for us, we will never again go to a Thomson family resort again if this is a prime example.

Room Tip: If you like it quieter block 2 is not for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Bonaire Aparthotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that your holiday did not live up to your expectations and we will certaininly look into the matters that you have raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have just returned from our third visit to The Bonaire. We had said that it would be our last but have already booked to return in 2014. Our boys are 9 and 7 and this hotel really caters for theses age groups. Our 7 year old in particular loved all of the entertainment. This isn't the holiday for you if you just want peace and quiet as it is pretty full on entertainment wise. This is great for us as there was always something on offer to keep the children entertained and happy. I can imagine that as your children become teenages they would need something more to entertain them. That being said, there were alot of older children around this year and they all seemed to hang out together.
Our boys have said this was the best year so far.I think this was partly down to the quality of the reps. You can't review this hotel without giving them a mention. the main reps were Nutty Nathan, Krazy Kayler and Lady Lottie. I really hope Nutty Nathan is at The Bonaire next year as he was amazing. He had boundless energy, was in and out of the pool constantly and always had children hanging off him! There was a lot of rep lead evening entertainment, particlularly game shows and I personally would like that to be mixed up a bit. Thomson should not get complacent that alot of perople return again and again to this hotel and think cut backs are acceptable. If we pay more to go we expect to get more or in the very least the same and definatley NOT less.
The hotel staff are fab, you cant beat the personal friendly service from the bar staff. the manager is always around and chatting to people.
We prefer to go self catering as Cala Bona itself has some lovely restaurants that you really should try when you are there. The harbour is a small walk from the hotel and in the evening their is generally a lovely breeze. There is lots of street entertainment by the harbour and you should take the time to watch the man with the bubble cart. The invisible man deserves a mention too.
Cala Millor is roughly a 20 minute walk away and has some good restaurants too. This is where the main beach is too.We stopped there for a paddle which was lovely but it was packed!
Word of asvise if you are unfortunate enough to get an ear infection ( there is a lot of it around) before you call out the DR and get charge 90 Euro's pop along to the pharmacy. We did this for our son, we were given drops over the counter - 5 Euros, sorted.

See you next year Bonaire.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
2.6 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#7 of 19 in Cala Bona
861 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#4 of 19 in Cala Bona
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
19.5 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,093 reviews
16.3 mi away
Zafiro Can Picafort
Zafiro Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Bonaire Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Bonaire Aparthotel

Property: Protur Bonaire Aparthotel
Address: Ctra Cala Bona-Costa los Pinos s/n, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cala Bona
#2 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protur Bonaire Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Protur Bonaire Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel Hotel Cala Bona
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel Cala Bona, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing