We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Had an absolute amazing time in Cala bona over the past few weeks staying in this hotel. All the staff are very nice and helpful, the reps and kids club staff are fantastic and could absolutely do with a good few days off as some are working more than 14 hours a day in the boiling heat and manage to have so much energy still at the end of the day!

The Italian restaurant on site has a very poor selection on the menu although the buffet is very good but quite expensive. The pool side bar also does have a full menu choice for lunches and the food and staff there are both very good. Unfortunately though they can sometimes be very slow getting the food waiting 40 mins for two club sandwiches but because of this we did receive a free round of drinks.

The kitchen part of the apartment has only two rings on the cooker so that also meant if we were eating in we couldn't do a whole lot. Also eating in the buffet every night could also get very tiring as they do similar food every night but there is also a very good option as the harbor is just a 2 min walk away and down along the harbor there is numerous places to chose from.

All in all I hope to come back again but before I leave it there I must give a shout out to some of the fantastic reps....

Em N Em is sooooooo kind and she took so much time out for us to make us feel welcomed.

Krazy Kayla is super kind and polite also an extremely good dancer.

Nutty Nathan and Lady Lottie are both very nice both handle the younger kids very well.

Also Victor, Tom and Laura all have to be given shout outs as I found the three of them very kind.

Room Tip: Block 1 has no lift. Block 2 right beside the stage and night time entertainment goes on until 11.3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank escapebadweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,551
    526
    119
    23
    7
See reviews for
1,559
329
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just returned from 11 nights at the Bonaire. Very clean, All staff Fantastic. Not sure i would go back felt the holiday team and holiday club team only catererd for the ages of 2 - 6 . my daughter was eight and got very bored with the kids disco and constant referral to Thomson the dog. Children running around unsupervised. one child fell off the stage and banged his head, thomson reps often having to remind parents to look after the kids, made it very difficult to watch the adult entertainment as children would try to climb on stage. The Bar Staff, Hotel Staff are excellent I feel Thomson let this hotel down. We had a trip to Marineland Fantastic well worth going, the harbour is only a short stroll away very beautiful spent a lot of evenings at the harbour.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicia303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottm
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have just returned from a 10 day stay here and it was amazing. The hotel deserves its number one trip advisor rating.

We opted to get a taxi as we didn’t want an arduous coach journey with 2 young kids. I am glad we did that. It saved us time and hassle and meant we could have a leisurely breakfast on our return day, rather than rushing to catch the coach.

Everything was just brilliant, from the welcome onwards. All the staff (bar one grumpy maid who always wanted to clean our room when the kids were having a nap!) were superb – warm, friendly and professional. I don’t know where they get the energy from but the reps, kids club staff and entertainers constantly gave 100% and seemed to be always on the go. Pools were great, food was marvellous. We started out as self-catering and enjoyed eating out by the sea front. We particularly like the Kashmir restaurant and the Chinese next to it. There are plenty of places to choose from on the sea front and a nearby spa shop too. We decided to go all inclusive for the last four days and the food was excellent in both of the restaurants and the pool bars. We discovered the toasted sandwiches in the splash pool bar on the last day – they are delicious!

Kids entertainment was great, with lots of reps and kids club staff taking part too. Kids club and crèche was great too and it gave us a couple of hours off a day! There is a notice in the room saying no towels on the sunbeds until 7:45 – I often went down around 750 and, whilst there were still some beds left, it was already pretty busy by the main pool. The sunbeds could do with being fixed or replaced as some were broken so you couldn’t sit up on them (only lie down).

I really can’t fault it though – it was an amazing holiday for a family, highly recommended. We would like to go back but school holiday prices are too expensive for us unfortunately.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We came to the Bonaire in March for a family break staying on a half board basis. The apartments were great for a family holiday with young children with a well equipped kitchen. The facilities were fantastic, shame it was a little chilly to use the outdoor swimming pools but the fact they have an indoor pool still allowed us to have some fun in the water.
The quality of the food was good with lots of variety and the Italian restaurant on site was lovely and very quiet, maybe due to the fact you had to book but was included a few times in the week for half board and all inclusive guests.
The staff were always very pleasant and the evening entertainment was good for out of season.
Would certainly come back again, maybe when a little warmer to make full use of the facilities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Witts100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My family which included a child of 4 and 2.6mths stayed here last week in june 2013 and would recommend this aparthotel to everybody what a fantastic week we had in excellant accomadation I can say this is the best we have ever stayed in modern. plenty of room,well equiped for eating and making lunches etc friendly hotel staff whoo do enough for you my daughters shower wasnt working properly we had no sooner put the phone down and the maintenace man came to fix it there and then nothing too much trouble and Thomsons reps all did a fantastic job in keeping everybody happy. Cala Bona itself is spotless with plenty of great eating places with no rip off charges we enjoyed eating @ Smithys, Olivias,John and Josephs the tapas place is also good value not forgetting the places around the corner from John & Josephs wher you can eat by the sea, the ice cream parlor was also a good visit with a lovely english lady called Julie our holiday exceeded all of our expecaions and more we will be back agoin.

Room Tip: we were in block 5 on the end a little shaded but we didnt mind that it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel itself is beautifully maintained, clean, rooms while not opulent are clean and well furnished with excellent amenities. The food is delicious with a good choice at every sitting, we travelled with a group of ten family members aged 4 to 83 so they did a fabulous job to please everyone. Every member of the hotel staff was polite, helpful and couldn't do enough to help you. The bar staff were especially helpful, cleaners always pleasant and the lifeguard always on hand.
The splash pool was fantastic, the main pool great, both lovely temperature. Sunbeds start being reserved at 7,45am, this is also policed, however don't expect to come down after breakfast and find one free!!
You will notice here that I am referring to all of the elements the hotel management look after because these were outstanding.
The only things that let this holiday down for us were the Thomson elements.
Outward flight attendants more interested in posing and cat walking up and down than being of any use.
No help at the airport other than being pointed to the bus which was a ten minute walk. The airport disability service however at Palma was brilliant.
We had no information or person on our coach so stayed on board until the driver called out hotel.
Usual information through the door about the trip selling meeting, sorry welcome meeting.

The evening entertainment was simply put way over the top, it started at 8pm and ended, still for children at midnight. Now we completely got that this was a Thomson family hotel, but really, everyone wants some adult entertainment, out of 7 night we saw 3 professional acts, the rest of the evenings were run by the loud, gregarious and sometimes obnoxious entertainment team, with the exception of Nathan who we thought was superb and always gave 110%
Sorry to be so blunt but we sat some nights at the furthest end of the bar by the pool and could still not have a conversation between ten of us! Really it was that loud!
Does anyone think pretending to break Guinness world records is worthy of a night entertainment, no, should children be called retards by entertainment team members on the microphone at the afternoon pool party, no they absolutely should not and should children be asked to compete to give a man on holiday and an entertainments rep the most kisses in one evenings entertainment game, no, sorry but this is wrong and stupid. As for the West End night frankly it was embarrassing, if you want to see what is good Thomson entertainment go to Sensatori Tenerife, here they have it right and a great mix, at 10pm its adult time and rightly so. Thomson you seriously need to sort out what's cheap and stupid entertainment here and get some proper acts booked.
The bus driver on the return trip was a maniac, the coach was full, people were worried and we actually told the driver to slow down. No person on hand on the return apart from counting us onto the coach.
Flight home was delayed as Palma airport couldn't cope. Again Thomson elements that were poor.
Unfortunately you cannot I believe book this hotel direct. The all inclusive at £9 a day pp when booked in the UK was unbeatable, this was good value, it was 47 euros pp pd when booked in resort.
We had rooms 2117, twin, huge balcony and side view, 2102, twin, pool view, 2114, twin rear view, 2115 twin rear view and 2110, twin rear view.
All in all we had a great holiday, the hotel was fantastic but Thomson you really need to pull your socks up!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EscapeeWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed two weeks at the Bonaire and I have to say this is the best all inclusive hotel we have stayed at. The food is excellent, varied and well presented. You also have waiter service for your drinks which makes dining less stressful when you have a young family. The restaurant was never really busy so was very enjoyable.
We stayed in block 5 which faced over the back. It was very quiet with the sun in the afternoon. The staff are so friendly and the service is first class. The kids really enjoyed the entertainment and kids clubs which makes your holiday better!!
However this is the worst hotel for sunbeds. It's not the hotels fault but the people who put their towels down at 745am and then don't appear until lunchtime!! We only ever took two beds for the four of us as kids never sit down for very long. However if you went to the pool late afternoon you could get a bed.
We would defiantly return back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs-LJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
2.6 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#6 of 19 in Cala Bona
723 reviews
16.3 mi away
Zafiro Can Picafort
Zafiro Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#4 of 19 in Cala Bona
238 reviews
19.5 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,030 reviews
2.7 mi away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Bonaire Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Bonaire Aparthotel

Property: Protur Bonaire Aparthotel
Address: Ctra Cala Bona-Costa los Pinos s/n, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cala Bona
#2 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protur Bonaire Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Protur Bonaire Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel Hotel Cala Bona
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel Cala Bona, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing