We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fish a gonna cala bona...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2008

stayed at the Bonaire with teenager girl (13) and 4 yr old boy for a week half term. This was the first time we had been to Majorca in at least 10yrs and also the fist time we had taken a 'package' holiday for the same length of time.
We were not disappointed!
All the comments are correct and it rightly deserves the rating it has. This is not taditional/authentic spain, but never the less why would you be coming here if this is what you want. The island itself is big enough for you to find that holiday if you want it.
It was half term for us there was a great mix of people from the bowles trip to the kids/teenagers. Everyone was polite and welcoming.
The hotel is 'british focused' and this goes to the spanish speaking 'british' reception staff to the 'full english' buffet breakfast. and the BBC/ITV TV channels.
We found the 1 bed appt more than adeqaute infact sapcious. We stayed in block 5 room 5303 on the top floor facing the pool. I would ask for this room again or any in this block looking over the pool if you want all afternoon/early evening sun.
We enjoyed all the food and the cook while you wait pancakes/omlettes were great.
All in all this was a real surprise holiday. The hotel was sound the staff friendly the place great for children (and oldies) just out of town but a lovely walk in around the newly pedestrianised harbour.
And dont forget 'fish on the floor Cala Millor, fish a gonna Cala Bona'.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Familie-Thompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,264 - 2,270 of 2,359 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2008

We are keen users of trip advisor and feel a little guilty that we do not add our own comments. That said, we have reurned from the Bonaire today and feel strongly enough to add to the reviews.
The caveat to our comments are that we are a mid thirties couple, without kids who have the fortune of regular travel and quality holidays.
The Bonaire and Cala Bona did not live up to the reviews that we read. Despite the low cost of the week long break, the food broke us. I would love to know what the chef feels about his job but we felt that he had sold his soul producing pile it high food from the cheapest ingredients. The chicken nuggets being a fine example. Honestly, it took two bites to confirm that it was not fish. (I will make an assumption that it was chicken). We cheated on one night and went to a real restaurant. The Bonaire restaurant Manager covered for us on the following night, ticking off our restaurant card to indicate that we were there all along - cheers.
The drinks card was not a big problem as we could never get a seat in the bar during the evening and went elsewhere.
In the interest of being balanced, the apartment style rooms were better than I expected although the "quiet" room above reception gets to enjoy the echo's of the excitable cheers from winning pool players. Not enough to warrant bothering the hotel staff for a room change but worthy of note.
The staff were helpful and friendly when we had cause to speak with them and the hotel was very clean.
The resort was a little..........shut. This would have been a real blow if it was not for the hire car. Majorca is stunning and there are bays after bays around the coast that are beautiful. Cala Bona / Millor not included.
It will probably look better in the summer with all the amenities that it has to offer open. I hope it does as German style ritual towel laying at the Bonaire will prevent any but the earliest birds sitting around the pool.
To conclude, we had a laugh but will not return depite the minimal price tag. Oh, Chef Juan, Chilli con Carne has mince in it - otherwise it is just rice and beans as served on "I'm a Celebrity".

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hairlessbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

Nothing much to add that has'nt already been said.

We went in March 2008. The weather was cold and wet, so not too much to do except laze about and eat

The rooms are nothing fancy, but more than adequate, the drinks are a bit pricey in the bar, but the food and the service from all the staff could not be faulted. Nothing was too much trouble, everything was a service with a smile.

Even in the bad weather there is plenty to do if you want, from indoor swimming, to bowling, gym, tv lounge, etc

The only fault was with the areas around the hotel. We hired a car for the week ( Much, Much cheaper from the airport) but everywhere was like a ghost town.

Would definitely go back to this hotel, but later in the season when the weather is better and the shops, etc, open

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank parickbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2008

this was the third time i had been to the bonaire, all my family love it, nice apartments, all one bedroom. kitchen has two ring cooker, toaster kettle and microwave, didnt use this much as we were half board.bathroom has shower ,bath, hairdryer and sink . balcony and not a bad size lounge which has two sofa beds. bedroom has two single beds wardrobes and 2 bedside tables. all the staff from manager to waiters are very friendly, and cant do enough for you. entertainers are good too ..so a big hello to mark and helen. the only downside from this holiday was they were trying out a new card that you had to put money on to use in bar and dining room, with the smallest amount you could put on was 50 euros up to as much as you want. held up the check in as at this time of year usually quick. took us one and a half hours and there wasnt a lot of people. loads of complaints about it as you kept forgetting how much you had on it, had to go back to reception and ask how much was on it as bar staff didnt know. it caught a few people out , very embarassing asking for a drink handing over the card and getting told there was no money left on it luckily it didnt happen to us, and because of this we went to some different bars at night, then went to the show in the bonaire. by the start of our second week we told them we didnt want it and luckily by that time they were accepting cash, they tell you at start you have got to use the card or your own visa card,its a brilliant hotel but this to be honest was a pain, held up queues for the bar and paying for drinks at dinner as you had to sign a receipt every time which got annoying. just thought id let everyone know what they are trying, whether they keep it we will just have to see.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank cj2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2007

We have just returned from a lovly week at bonaire hotel, there were myself, partner and 16 month girl and we could not fault this holiday. The weather wasn't great but there was something to do for everyone. We went self catering and ate in hotel every morning for breakfast 9 euros each for adult and twice in evening 13 euros each for adult and food was nice, There are some lovly restaurants in harbour we found Janet and Johns and Smithys were very nice and best.
Rooms are kept clean and tidy maid came 6 times. Hotel staff polite and helpful.
My little girl had a great time in the creche (thanks to nat, lou & laura) and i pre booked sessions when booked holiday and you have priority when you get there.
Evening entertainment was good starting with kids disco (which my daughter loved expecially thomson the dog!) then went into presentation for daily activities and then shows which were good and the team work so hard (thanks to them).
I would def go back to this hotel and hi to every1 who was there between 6th and 13th oct. x

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Jena07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2007

I have just spent a week here with two friends and we will not be returning. If you want a quiet and relaxing break in the sun where you can laze by the pool and read a book this hotel is NOT for you. Especially if you have small children and want to get them to sleep at night. We didn't get one good night's sleep in a week due to constant noise disturbance.

Although the hotel itself can not be faulted for location, cleanliness or hotel staff, the whole atmosphere is ruined by excessively loud music blasting out at the pool area and continual shouting by Thomson reps broadcasted over loud speakers.

Food that we tried at the hotel was average, I had a kebab that was made of reconstituted meat and most of the menu was burgers and chips type so if you want typical Spanish food you have to go elsewhere.

If you want hi-di-hi but worse in Mallorca then give it a try.

Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank TaniNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2007

Just back from 2 weeks at The Bonaire and what can I add to the already excellent reviews? We were a couple with no children but I would 100% recommend this Hotel to anyone with young children. There is not much really for pre teens/teens, more for toddlers. Everything a family could wish for is there. The day programme is packed with lots of different activites and the evening entertainment is of very good quality e.g. Tribute bands, magic shows etc. We were on a Self Catering basis which allowed us to eat out and also at the Hotel on a day to day basis as we wanted. The local takeaway Pizza place was excellent too if we wanted to chill on our verandah and take in the views. Book this accommodation with confidence, it won't let you down.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank wanderer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#3 of 19 in Cala Bona
393 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marins Playa
Marins Playa
#11 of 59 in Cala Millor
298 reviews
19.5 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Zafiro Can Picafort
Zafiro Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
1,824 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#10 of 19 in Cala Bona
808 reviews
20.8 mi away
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
#3 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Bonaire Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Bonaire Aparthotel

Address: Ctra Cala Bona-Costa los Pinos s/n, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Price Range: $53 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protur Bonaire Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Protur Bonaire Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel Hotel Cala Bona
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel Cala Bona, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing