We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WONDERFULRELAXING BREAK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Protur Alicia Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Hull
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“WONDERFULRELAXING BREAK”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and myself stayed at this lovely hotel from 13th - 20th April. We went for a relaxing break and that is what we got. Check In was very quick and smooth even though nearly a full coach arrived at once. Our room was a Select room with the larger balcony, a lovely big room with a stunning view. The food was good and plentiful, Sergio and his Staff work flat out both Breakfast and Evening Meal to make sure you have everything, Antonia our waitress everynight was very pleasant, thank you. Plenty of Sunbeds around the spacious pool and grass area, plus a Solarium sun bathing area with a Jaccuzi, perfect. The weather was beautiful every day, lovely walks along the front into Cala Millor or Cala Bona. Out front entrance of hotel turn left and past Stanleys Tea Rooms to the Spa Supermarket for the most delicious sandwiches, Eileen and Pedro are the most friendliest couple ever, Pedro has some funny stories to tell. I would definately recommend this hotel and will definately be returning. My only negative is could do to have the Free WiFi in each room not just in the lounge. A big thank you to all the staff for making our holiday perfect.

Room Tip: Select Rooms are just perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pussycat2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    338
    66
    12
    5
See reviews for
270
790
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We visited the Alicia from 6th April to 13th, we had a great week. the rooms are very clean and ours was also very big, we stayed in room 331 fantastic views over looking the sea, but no sun on the balcony after lunch I would say very nice in the summer months but a little cool in April. The pool area is very clean with plenty of sun beds. Breakfast had everything you wanted the only moan was coffee from a machine not so good, but overall really enjoyable with the staff working very hard and friendly nothing too much trouble. Dinner also had everything not a massive choice but never found it difficult to find tasty food. Entertainment was excellent enjoyed every night. Lovely walks along the sea front walk to cala millor could not think of anything missing from this short break, visit a little bar called Forty lovely food and a very friendly Scottish couple who really have got it right! Defiantly not to be missed. So would we return, yes we would no hesitation at all we had a great week!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I was at the Alicia for a half-board week (Tuesday to Tuesday) for a "honeymoon holiday" with my new wife and my three Stepchildren (aged 16, 9 and 7) and had, altogether, a really great week. The rooms were clean, roomy and the ones with sea views really do have the wow factor. The majority of staff at reception were pleasant and helpful, the entertainment was fun, but a little too cheesy sometimes and the food a little hit and miss. The breakfasts were much the same every morning, but there was plenty of choice. The evening meal option ranged from excellent (the fresh fish, for example, was often spectacular) to horrible, but there was, again, plenty of choice so you could always find something you liked a lot and have a truly good meal. The dining room staff, however, were fantastic, so friendly and welcoming. The indoor swimming pool was small, but clean and had a nice atmosphere.

What stops this being a five star review?

1. Having to hire a fridge. 20 Euros per week for something that should be (and is in many hotels) free. It's a little stingy.

2. My 16 year old Stepson had to pay adult prices to be there (well, I paid for him, but still) but they wouldn't let him use the gym on his own, as they didn't class him as an adult. Seems like double standards to me.

3. The tea, coffee and juice at breakfast were simply dreadful. The juice, especially, was way too strong and only tasted OK once it had been 1:1 diluted with water.

4. The bed sheets really should have been changed at least halfway through our stay. It was warm, we perspired, and by the end of our stay, the bed sheets felt a little unclean. The hotel has a "green" policy which I respect, but it shouldn't override customer comfort.

5. The air conditioning unit in our room simply didn't seem to work. It pumped out hot air regardless of what the temperature gauge was set to. Sleeping with the balcony door open was the only way we could keep cool at night. Luckily we were only there in April - I'd hate to have been there without working air conditioning in July or August!

6. Our Thomson rep, Emma, was largely good and was very friendly, but at our departure meeting gave us the wrong departure time for our coach (0745), an hour later than the coach we should have been on (0645, according to the pinned-up schedule). This led to a very stressful coach trip and a hurried passage through Palma airport. We got our plane, but it wasn't exactly comfortable and I was unable to relax the whole way to the airport in fear of missing the check-in deadline.

Gripes over, we really liked the overall feel of the hotel, loved Cala Bona and the surrounding area (even though it was a little too "British" in places), had a fantastic boat trip to Porto Cristo from a catamaran departing at Cala Bona harbour, hired a big family bike and cycled down to Cala Millor, went on a coach trip to do the Orange Blossom Trail and thoroughly enjoyed our time on Mallorca. The outside pool area was very pleasant indeed, the bar was reasonably priced for a hotel, the staff friendly (although a little overstretched during the evening) and the cocktails delicious - although a little weak, alcohol-wise. They will make them stronger for you, though, don't be afraid to ask!

Whilst I can't say that our week at the Alicia was completely perfect, we had a wonderful time and the hotel has much more going for it than against it. Much more.

Room Tip: All of the sea view rooms have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffLynnesBeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We used the Protur Alicia as a base for cycling around Mallorca. Easy to cycle to Petra etc but quite possible to go over to Pollensa or Palma for a day. Recommend Sta Margalida, Maria, Petra etc. Air transfers just £30 c/o Thomson and resort transfers included - good value. Basement secure storage racks for 140 bikes in the hotel with service table and cleaning facilities.
We went half board. Food was very good with a wide variety any night. You could have a few different kinds of fish most nights of the week (barbecued or poached). Various kinds of meat and veg. Hotel very clean and very close to the sea with great views. Pleasant strolls down the sea front to the nature reserve. Entertainment basic. Beds were quite hard and not especially comfortable. Pillows fine.
Weather was excellent: one day of extremely violent downpour but even that was exciting from inside a restaurant; otherwise pretty much wall to wall sunshine. Wind was often quite strong so you'd have to plan long cycle rides accordingly.
Hotel staff were all excellent with very good English but happy to help you improve your Spanish. Noise was not a problem - heard no music from surrounding bars - just the sound of the waves breaking at night.
Would certainly recommend this hotel very strongly (but if they can sort out softer matresses it would be ideal!)

Room Tip: East side (sea) rooms great for sea view and morning sun but lose sun at 3 pm. 1st floor rooms had v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

this i s a very nice hotel with good food, the entertainment not bad could be better,in a good location with sea views from every room, but if you up grade which i dont think you need to. Be aware that the upgrade includes, a wood patio alone and nothing else, you will then have to pay extra for sunbeds at a cost of 7euros a day and if you need the sun shade this also comes at a cost,all of which is not needed as the rooms all have coffee tables and 2 chairs as well as the sea view, the resturant is quite busy and i would imagine in the summer months would be pandermodum,as we went in early april 2013 and were being hussled about,staff all very friendly, not muchfor the younger kids to do had a small play area near by for 2 to 3 year olds, lovely harbour to eat and drink close bye. hotel has a gym and small indoor pool.

Room Tip: all have sea views upgrade is not what you think just a small decked area not very private any way,t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Everything about our recent stay at the Alicia Hotel was ok, pleasant, alright, reasonable and just... ok. It was the beginning of the season and things just seemed to be getting going, however, as we just booked last minute and wanted some spring sunshine, I can't be overly critical. I won't repeat what other reviewers said, although in truth I agree with everything sunshine girl_1970 said and I couldn't really put it better myself. Cala Bona is a nice place to spend a couple of days and there is plenty to do during your time there. The Alicia Hotel is clean and the staff are very affable. Food-wise, think carefully about what time you go to the dining room as I got the impression that the 'regulars' got in early so they could get their usual seat for the 'entertainment'. If you do happen to get caught up in the scrum and have to wait for a table to be cleared, or anything else you might reasonable expect (they did seem VERY short staffed at times!), then do consider leaving it a little later. All in all, if 'all the (average) food you can eat', old-school entertainment-style holiday is your cup of Tetleys, then you'll like it here, but three ok nights was just about enough for me.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have a decent aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tojorising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We booked a half board package at Protur Alicia as a last minute deal and went for it based on good reviews. We knew some of it wouldn't be out cup of tea but felt overall it would be a good base for us to chill out and explore the island from.

You will like this hotel if you appreciate the following:

1. It is clean and rooms are fairly spacious.
2. You are happy with the same food pretty much day in, day out, cooked for a large number of people.
3. A canteen (read: lacking in atmosphere) style restaurant where you have a scrum for food with many other people.
4. Friendly staff throughout.
5. Evening entertainment circa 1970's Butlins including kiddies disco followed by bingo, followed by a 'turn' in a huge open plan bar.
6. You think it is acceptable to have to pay extra for things such as a remote control for the TV in your room, a mini fridge, a safe - all in you room - all cost extra plus many other things that should come as standard. (Guests who had a terrace on the first floor paid extra for the pleasure which is fair enough but then had to pay extra on top for an awning! Outrageous!)
7. You can wait two days for the hotel to track down their ONE iron and ironing board that was borrowed by another guest but no system in place for keeping track of to ensure other guests can use it swiftly after!

My comments above spell out why this hotel wasn't for us-I appreciate it can be just the ticket for older people or those with young children. I'm just surprised more people haven't mentioned having to pay all the extras in their reviews. If we had known it would have made us consider if this was the place for us. That said, it was fine overall and certainly could have been a lot worse and in fairness the sea view from.our room was truly stunning.

Cala Bona is a nice little resort by the way. It was quiet when we were there as it's only the very start of the season but here are some good things to do:

1. Hire a bike and go north along the prom (there are fantastic cycle tracks all over the island). Keep going as far as you can round the headland (you'll reach a.dead end eventually). The Playa Beach Bar is well worth a stop off for lunch or a cool drink-its right on the beach and very chilled.
2. Do one of the glass bottom catamaran trips down.South of the island. We did one where you got off at Porto Cristo and found a lovely spot for lunch hidden away up the hill with the most fantastic views of the cove and harbour-really idyllic.
3. Hire a car for a couple of days-Hiper Cars offered excellent deals but book it online and then pick it up the next day from the local office (booking online is a fraction of the walk- price). We drove to Palma which is around an hours drive and was a welcome change of scenery after a few days. We also drove slightly north to Arta which was lovely- in the hills and lots of good restaurants.
4. We'd had enough of the hotel food after two days and ate out for the rest of the week. There are done cracking places in Cala Bona such as Forty's (fab for lunch in a gorgeous spot by the sea and run by a lovely couple), Stanley's Tea Rooms (lovely for Er, tea, breakfast and lunch), Lemon Grass Thai Kitchen (delicious and lovely view of the Harbour), Paparazzi (fab pizza's!)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshinegirl_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#7 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#6 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
2.0 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.9 mi away
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Hotel Son Matias Beach
#1 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hipotels Cala Millor Park
Hipotels Cala Millor Park
#3 of 60 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#5 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Alicia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Alicia Hotel

Property: Protur Alicia Hotel
Address: C/ Na Llambies 26, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Hotel Class:3 star — Protur Alicia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Protur Alicia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Protur Alicia
Protur Alicia Cala Bona
Hotel Alicia Cala Bona
Protur Alicia Hotel Cala Bona, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing