We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel with very good, friendly staff.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protur Alicia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Protur Alicia Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
sthelens
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel with very good, friendly staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

We have never heard of Protur Hotels before but would certainly use them again, or preferably Protur Apartments (we prefer an apartment). Lovely location, food very good and varied, staff very friendly and helpful, the whole place was very, very clean. While in Cala Bona we were able to look at two other Protur Hotels, Bonaire Aparthotel and the 5* Biotherm Hotel and both looked very good. The room was on the small side but adequate. We were very close the sea and the whole view was wonderful. Although we prefer the 'freedom' of an apartment we would stay at the Alicia again.

Room Tip: Can hear the sea pounding against rocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SthelensLasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Alicia Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and also took the time to visit other Protur accommodation. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    321
    64
    12
    5
See reviews for
267
739
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

The food here is great every possible thing you could want for breakfast & evening meal,the rooms are cleaned to a high standard and an uneccessary change of all towels every day,packed to the rafters with the older generation.One thing about the rooms everything works what a treat ! unlike some other hotels in the world.Reception staff are superb at their job and always friendly and very helpful.On the downside it is a crappy resort and not much to see or do.Full marks to bar around the corner if you search who will serve you a pint for 1.70 and a decent size wine for a euro!!Find them worth their weight in gold!

Room Tip: Check Promenade prices u will get ripped off!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank felixLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Alicia Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Thank you for your comments we will pass on kind words to the staff. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

stayed at the alicia in may what a lovely hotel very clean and view over sea lovely food very good best english breakfast i have had in any hotel and i have been in a lot over the years also met friends there lynn alan had good holiday

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgetat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Alicia Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed in the Hotel Alicia for one week at the beginning of April. As there were three of us we were put in a spacious triple room at the side of the hotel on the third floor. This turned out to be a good floor for us as, although I am sure the views from the 4th and 5th floors were even better, it wasn't too much effort to walk down to the restaurant on the 1st floor and back again to our room which we did after every meal without having to resort to the lift. Thanks to Trip Adviser and Thomsons, we found a perfect hotel again. There is a pedestrianised area between the hotel and the sea with a long cycle path which goes on to Cala Millor and beyond to Porto Cristo; one can hire bicycles or fun cycles for two, three or more people.

The food was excellent, varied and, being buffet, one had a hard time not eating too much. The restaurant manager, whose name I didn't find out, seemed to be very hard working and helpful There were no tables allocated so every day one can sit anywhere, even outside..

Unusually for us, we took two of the Thomson trips and went on the free blanket trip because it included a visit to Porto Pollensa which is absolutely beautiful. We always choose Portland or Thomson holidays when we can as we have never had a bad experience. I thought that the Thomson rep, Ray, was the best rep that we have had, probably because he has lived in Pollensa for many years. He seems to know everything about Majorca and gave us some very helpful tips.

We also hired a car for one day from the hotel to visit Valdemossa, which is well worth visiting. Normally we find that car hire rates are cheaper outside the hotels we are staying in, but this time we found the hotel's prices no more expensive than other car hire companies and it was so nice and easy to have the car delivered straight to the hotel.

After dinner we generally strolled along the promenade instead of watching the entertainment, so this hotel caters for everyone. It helped that we had beautiful weather every day and Majorca is such an attractive island. The Thomson trip to Puerto de Soller and Soller was excellent. We actually hopped on the tram at Puerto de Soller and enjoyed sitting in a cafe in Soller watching the trams come past. I had originally booked in March, but I am very glad I changed my booking to a week in April as the trains and trams don't start operating until April. The tourist season doesn't start until the beginning of May so we were lucky enough to have lovely weather without crowds. Cala Millor, with its long wide sandy beach, is more frequented by German tourists whereas Cala Bona, which has a pretty harbour, has more Majorcans living there. You can tell when you have got to Cala Millor as the paving slabs have fish on them. Although we have visited many caves with stalactites and stalagmites, we found the Caves of Drach amazing. One can go independently by taking a number 1 bus which goes there directly from a stop near the hotel. After visiting the caves it is only a very short walk to Porto Cristo which is most attractive. The best little shop I found in Majorca was in the row of shops facing the Port Cristo harbour.

Room Tip: Sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amazingsunsetbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Alicia Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are sure that the information you give will be useful to others who visit us. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

me my husband and three children ages 9 18 20 have just spent the last week at this hotel .and we all enjoyed our stay hear . bedrooms are a very good size , cleaned everyday and always fresh towels etc, bed linen, the breakfast was very nice and a relaxing atmosphere. found the evening menu was ok but not varied enough, ie more spanish food would of been appreciated. staff were the hotel trump card without question, very friendly and a mention to sergio in the restaurant a very pleasant man with much attention to detail. we had the most awfull weather this week ie rain wind dull and occasional sun, so a credit to this hotel to keep me and my family busy again through there indoor pool area and gym as without them we would of been rather stuck not being able to sunbath etc. my younger sun enjoyed the entertainment programme which chris who has a varied programme kept him busy well done to him , now as for cala bona/millor as a family we wernt keen on the beach area but that is our opinion. once again a thank you to the staff at the alicia. you deserve all the praise as you are doing a very good job of keeping holiday makers very happy . we had a fantastic night out at come fly with me which you can book through thompson rep well worth the trip its situated in magaluff. also we took the local bus to visit cala ratjarda it has a beautiful harbour and plenty of restaurants . only 30 mins from hotel if you visit on a saturday they have a local market on .

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beau11111111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Alicia Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased that you had a good stay - despite the weather! We will pass on your best wishes to the staff. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlisle
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

We booked directly with Protur and flew with jet2.com got a great deal for this time of year, excellent room with sea view and large balcony - great for kids. So happy with everything!
The staff at the hotel are without exception friendly and helpful and the service in the bar and restaurant is very good indeed, swift and discreet. Very clean and modern lounge area. Special thanks are due to Antonio (hola! La la) and Vanessa in the restaurant who made such an effort with our kids and made everything so easy and comfortable. Food is great, good selection of tastes and cuisines, always plentiful and fresh. Wine is cheap and good too at 6 euros a bottle which can be saved for a following night. Chris in entertainment is brilliant too, non-stop energy and enthusiasm. Can get on with everyone and is very welcoming, also brilliant with our kids. Thanks Chris! (and Natalie)
Location of the hotel is very good, between the port at Cala Bona and Cala Millor. Best beach is Cala Millor, very clean and hiring bikes is fun and cheap. Found great frozen yoghurt place called llao llao off the main drag. Highly recommended for healthy treats!
I cannot recommend this hotel enough and will be back asap!

Room Tip: Make use of the indoor pool, lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davrosspringsteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Alicia Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Thank you for your comments. Glad to hear that you had such a good time. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

This review is a long time overdue!! I went to this hotel last year (August 2010) with my sister; we are both in our 30s.

On arrival, we had already seen other holiday makers being dropped off to their hotels from our Thomson bus. I must say, my sister and I were quite relieved when we saw our hotel. It definitely seemed to be one of the best hotels on first impressions.... and that impression did not leave us throughout the entire holiday.

Our (sea view) rooms were clean and functional, with a nice balcony and small table and chairs outside (I would definitely recommend paying a little extra for a sea view room as the view is absolutely STUNNING). The bathroom was fine with a reasonably powered shower over the bath.

As I believe the hotel is booked through Thomson pretty much exclusively, it is predominantly British tourists who stay there. The hotel is family friendly but there was a lovely mix of young children, teenagers, younger couples and older couples. We may have been lucky but it was just right for a lively yet relaxed atmosphere.

The hotel is situated in a relatively quiet area. There is a strip along the seafront with plenty of Spar shops, tourist shops, cafes and a few bars. This is also a cycle path and there are bikes of all different shapes and sizes (including pedalo type bikes which are really fun and can be big enough for a whole family) to hire nearby. As there are is quite a good network of cycle paths, this is a lovely way to get around the island if you're feeling as energetic as we were!

The hotel is situated in a quiet part of the island. If you turn left from walking along the seafront (after facing the sea), you will quickly reach a small harbour, and a place offering various boat tours. If you walk further still, you will come to some beautiful quiet beaches (these were by some hotels full of predominantly German speaking guests and although we saw no signs, we thought the beaches may possibly be private) but it's certainly worth having a look. If you walk to the right along the seafront (from facing the sea), you will come to Calla Millor (roughly a 10mins walk), which is much more lively, with more mainstream shops, bars and clubs. We took an evening stroll there once, but quickly realised how lucky we were to be staying in a simple, calm and peaceful place like Cala Bona!

The closest beach to the hotel was alright, but the sea was quite murky there and there were plenty of large hidden rocks underfoot. After hitting our toes and shins a few times, we got a bit scared that we would really hurt ourselves, so opted to walk a little further (towards Cala Millor) to the much busier, but clearer and less rocky beaches. This suited us much better!

The food at the hotel was pretty much what you would expect for half-board hotels. It was not amazing but certainly good enough, with plenty of hot, cold, healthy and naughty options available. Not always labelled very well so expect some surprises (the big bowl of whipped cream with coloured sprinkles on offer as a desert is a good example). The hotel very much caters for British tastes so if it's traditional regional food you're after, you may be disappointed. The occasional Spanish dish (I remember Spanish Omelette and Paella) is available, but I personally would go to a Spanish restaurant to get the 'Real Mac oy'. That said, I don't want to put you off - it was perfectly acceptable with something to suit everyone... and plenty of it!

Every guest was presented with an invite to the a la carte restaurant for a given evening of their stay. This offered a more intimate dining experience in a room set aside from the main dining room, with waiter service. If you're lucky, there are also a few tables outside on a small balcony overlooking the sea. Personally, my sister and I preferred the hustle and bustle of the main dining room and whilst the food was delicious and of an impressive standard, there were a few too many courses for us and we ended up getting a little embarrassed at not being able to eat it all!! However, I know that it would be a nice treat for most people - particularly couples.

The entertainment is what really made the holiday special for us. When we first arrived, we didn't think we'd be interested at all, but Chris our entertainer was so utterly genius that we found ourselves getting more and more involved. Every day there was a wide range of activities which included skittles, darts, pool, (hilarious) aqua-aerobics, water polo, discos for little'uns and teenagers, bingo, quizzes, game-show mock-ups, and visiting singing/dance acts. I don't know what magic Chris possesses, but he treats everyone as individuals, is amazing with the children and just makes everyone giggle and really have fun. I'm so pleased to see from other reviews that he's still there this year as we're going back in a few months!!

All the staff were lovely to us and went out of their way to help and make our stay as special as possible.

Other things to note: For a small deposit, the hotel will loan you towels which can be exchanged for clean ones as and when needed. Down side - it's difficult to locate your sunbeds when lots of people have the same type of towel as you! For a small fee, you can get a safe for your valuables. These are located inside your rooms. There is a handy 'pay-as-you-go' type of card available for the hotel i.e. you give the money to the reception desk BEFOREHAND and they will transfer it to the card. Whenever you want to buy drinks or snacks in the hotel you can use your card, instead of risking taking your purse or wallet. Your remaining balance is written on the receipts and we found it helped us to keep a good track on what we had spent. Any unspent balance will be given back to you when you hand back the card.

For a relaxing beach/pool holiday, I would recommend this hotel to families and couples (or brothers/sisters etc.!) of any age. I would not recommend it to 18-30s candidates (or anyone wanting great nightlife in clubs etc.), or anyone expecting to sample true Spanish food and culture.

Overall, this was a SUPERB holiday for us and we loved it so much, we've just booked to go again this year. We spent many an hour looking at plenty of other hotels, but kept comparing them to this one and decided we just had to go back!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caerleongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Alicia Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
We thank you for having taken the time and trouble to write such a detailed review that we are sure will be very useful to other holidaymakers. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#6 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#5 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
2.0 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hipotels Cala Millor Park
Hipotels Cala Millor Park
#3 of 65 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
45.9 mi away
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Hotel Son Matias Beach
#1 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Som Llevant Suites
Som Llevant Suites
#14 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Alicia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Alicia Hotel

Property: Protur Alicia Hotel
Address: C/ Na Llambies 26, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Hotel Class:3 star — Protur Alicia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Also Known As:
Hotel Protur Alicia
Protur Alicia Cala Bona
Hotel Alicia Cala Bona
Protur Alicia Hotel Cala Bona, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing