We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice time”
Review of Galaxia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Galaxia
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Ca'n Picafort
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“nice time”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on sept 10th for one week.
Went with my mum husband and friend.
After a rocky start going to apartments across the road for one night,we got settled in the next morning.
You have to remember this is a one star hotel.
We stayed on a half board basis ,breakfast was ok but dinner on the first night was pork chops,which were not cooked properly.In fairness to the manager they were removed.
We went out for dinner after this.We didnt mind we had paid a small amount for this hotel.
The pool is small and easily got a bed any time of day, i suspect because it is so near the beach(2 mins walk) plenty of places to eat nearby , plenty of shops,lovely resort.
Disagree with comments the spanish staff are rude .Tom an Pedro were lovely.Very large measures on the drinks .Not forgetting Sophie who was lovely too.
We always had clean towels just put them on the floor and the cleaners did clean the room .
Would consider going back for a week next year but probably just do bed and breakfast.
Thank you to all the staff for a lovely stay.x
Claire,Bruce,Maureen and Julian.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claws67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    102
    42
    27
    27
See reviews for
55
131
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just returned from a stay at The Galaxia and for the money we paid it was beyond what I thought it would be.

My mother and I stayed for 7 nights on a half board basis...we were given a room on the 4th floor so we had a side balcony with a sea view. The room was very basic but the beds were comfy enough.

I’ll get the very few negatives out of the way at the start...

There’s no air conditioning so the rooms get extremely hot, I appreciate that it’s a one star and air conditioning is expensive but a small fan in the room would’ve made the stay much more enjoyable.

The noise was also a right pain, the door did nothing to block it out but then it’s a busy street and that’s the price you pay for staying so close to the beach. It’s not the hotels fault that there’s noise.

The last thing, the balcony light went on at around 8pm and stayed on until 12pm ish...not a huge issue but when sitting on the balcony at night, enjoying the ambience, the harsh light totally ruined it. Not to mention how bright it is coming through the light curtains (see the pic).

BUT...the good points

Cheap.

Clean.

Our bathroom was totally fine, although the shower barely worked but it wasn’t built in to the cupboard that’s for sure.

FREE WIFI ...we were on floor 4 and it was great.

Food: Was pleasantly surprised at the food. After all we paid £107 each per week for the room & half board so wasn’t expecting much.But the breakfasts were lovely and evening meal was just as nice. I think there was one day where there was nothing I really liked but one day out of 7 - you can’t fault that.

Pool: The pool is a real gem, hidden away on the 1st floor it’s quiet, peaceful and great for a good swim to work off dinner the night before.

Overall a good stay for the price and if we ever went back to Ca'n Picafort we'd be sure to go back to the galaxia.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rachp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Myself and three friends arrived at the Galaxia on 14th September staying there for only one week, thank goodness.
We went there knowing that this was only a one star hotel, so we did not expect excellence.
The best thing about the hotel is the location, just a stones throw from the beach, surrounded by shops (which have deliveries at 4 in the morning, so it can be very noisy if you are on the front as we were) there are bus stops and a bank, you can get anything you need whilst you are there.
The room was quite clean, but have to say our towels were only changed twice in a week !! the sheets were never changed at all.
As other people have said the bathrooms are a joke, so small, you have to come out to get dried.
The food is not very good and we are far from fussy. Breakfast was ok. Lunch was dismal, mainly cold chips, bread, lettuce tomatoe and maybe fish fingers , not really any choice for an all inclusive lunch. Dinner was very grim also. I dont think this hotel should call itself all inclusive, beacuse its clearly not. It would have been better to use it as a base and eat elsewhere, which we did often.
the really awful thing about this hotel is that we were meeting a lady of 69 years old, she had travelled alone four days before us. she rang in tears because she had been put into a smelly apartment across the road on the third floor without a lift and no lighting on the stairs for two nights, she had booked this hotel in february 2013, it was not a last minute booking. She should have stayed there for 14 days. We were lucky (well thats debatable) we got a room there, we witnessed at least five couples being taken to other places, causing arguments at the bar, this is so wrong. the place is being overbooked all the time.
We found the Spanish staff to be quite rude, we felt at times that we should not have been there. I really dont think these people like the English !! we felt invisible and could stand at the bar for 5 minutes plus, alone, no queues or anything and would just be ignored ! If a german or french person went to the bar someone would serve them, it wasnt nice. Around 6 oclock ish a young lady called Sophie came to work on the bar, she was the best member of staff there, always helpful and served you with a smile, she is a credit to them.
the beach and the local area are very nice. there is a bar just around the corner that serves lovely food at a good price its the london bar run by a Spanish/english family, they make you very welcome.
We did go there with an open mind, the only good thing really is the location.

NEVER AGAIN

Room Tip: If you do get a room here, ask for a hiugh floor with sea view, some of the room views are grim
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank roverlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ca'n Picafort hotels

edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

on arrival at 12.50am after a 3.5 hour transfer we were then sent by taxi to another hotel as they did not have a room for us (we were not a "last minute booking!!") came back next day and waited another half hour before getting our room, which was a good size with a decent sizes bathroom but facing a main road and on a nite a very noisy bar over the road, room was clean sheets on bed althou freshly laundered (as expected) were quite gray, bed lumpy but i put blankets on matress which helped, had to chase maid nearly everytime we needed clean towels which were again clean but of the same gray colour as sheets lol! food imho was pretty dire, gray (seems to be a theme here lol) looking scrambled egg one day fried the next n bacon, toast, cereal, ham cheese etc for brekkie, evening meal was not great choice of 1each fish or meat dish, pasta, salads cold meats cheese, puddings apple/orange/melon n once there was cake!! definatly would not go back for the food (we ate out a lot) staff a bit hit n miss mostly spanish staff who imho can be a tad rude at times althou the english girl sophie was lovely very pleasent n helpful, the plus side to this hotel is its cheap near the beach, shops, bus stops etc so if you want a cheap break and are not a fussy eater etc its ok, personally i would not return but if you read reviews as we did n go with an open mind its a great base for a beach holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vauxracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just back from hol and have to say after a shaky start[sent by taxi to club tonga at 12.30am without any real info by night porter with v poor english].Next morning returned to hotel check in nice and easy given room 503 sea view and a full size bathroom,nice and clean as was the whole hotel.Only slight issue was the mattress was a bit worn.
Food.we were half board and breakfast was usual continental with the choice of bacon eggs and beans or on alternate days scrambled egg as well,dinner was soup or cold choice with a meat/fish choice for main,only twice though was anything other than melon on offer for a pudding.
Some reviews have mentioned noise from the bar across the road i have to say can picafort was possibly the quietest place we have been,we did'nt have any problems getting to sleep.
Overall we would have no problems returning here and for a cheap holiday would have no problem recomending this hotel,if you want frills and luxury pay more and go elsewhere.]

Room Tip: ask for 5th floor sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank baz48_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Staying at this hotel now, I cannot see why people moan, you get what you pay for, this is an excellent hotel for value. Beds are comfy, room with excellent view. Food always something to choose from. Staff very helpful will always do their best, even when working long hours. I would have no problem staying here again. Cheap holiday, nice relaxed, clean hotel in excellent position, with wonderful staff

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sukie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

After a disastrous break earlier in the year in Egypt ( I won't go there on this review & neither should you ) I booked this hotel as a cheeky little cheapy . The reviews were good the odd moan but largely I was confident that the odd bit of decor faux paus couldn't ruin it for me after all what do you expect paying such low prices and given the star rating . I have just returned today and would return in a heartbeat . We have stayed at some gorgeous hotels with fluffy bathrobes slippers & a la carte food jacuzzi 's etc ! This hotel it's location the staff and the general peacefulness you feel whilst staying there have put this right up there with them. We did stay at as previously referred to in reviews as the " hostel across the road " which is in fact a set of apartments 1 min walk from main hotel and spitting distance from the beach with one of the most amazing views ever . Plus with an oven fridge microwave two bedrooms and double balcony the basic decor and general tired nature did not detract from its benefits. So if you do get taken over the road skip there enjoy the view and leave your flip flops behind few steps barefoot & your on the golden sands . Directly below is a Doctor opposite is a supermarket and you are surrounded by all you will ever need . The staff at the hotel are honest caring and hardworking the food was always plentiful adequate and hot ( cannot understand the complaints on precious reviews ) myself my husband and our young son fell in love with this little gem of a hotel and we will return next year . Go with realistic expectations according to the price you have paid and you will NOT be disappointed . Location is perfect , Staff amazing , Food plentiful and enough to help soak up the alcohol which is incredibly cheap at this hotel and I'm not talking cheap local spirits either . In fact I'm tempted to give it a crap review and put you all off so they don't up their prices when it becomes more popular because it will .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ajanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ca'n Picafort
0.1 mi away
Hotel JS Yate
Hotel JS Yate
#23 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
120 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baulo Mar Apartaments
Baulo Mar Apartaments
#36 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sultan
Hotel Sultan
#25 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Hostal Gami
Hostal Gami
#39 of 58 in Cala Ratjada
50 reviews
24.7 mi away
Citric Hotel Soller
Citric Hotel Soller
#32 of 37 in Soller
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel JS Sol de Ca'n Picafort
Hotel JS Sol de Ca'n Picafort
#32 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxia

Property: Galaxia
Address: Passeig Colom 91, 07458 Ca'n Picafort, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Ca'n Picafort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Galaxia 1*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Galaxia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxia Hotel Ca`n Picafort
Galaxia Ca'n Picafort, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing