We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, tidy and great pool!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Viva Mallorca & Spa
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Ca'n Picafort
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Clean, tidy and great pool!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

We travelled here in September 2010 with our three daughters, all under 4. Apartments are spacious and very clean. Great pool which is set in a clean well laid out area. Kids pool with mini slides etc.

About 1/2 mile to the beech and main resort. Resort was a bit small and seemed predominantly German. We tended to drive to Alcudia most nights which is only a few miles away.

Hotel is quite pricey during peak season but end of Sept/October there are some great deals direct.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barthez6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    191
    42
    14
    4
See reviews for
438
34
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at Viva Mallorca in october. The room were clean and spacious with seperate bedroom for adult and children and had a kitchen where we prepared our breakfast and lunch. We had booked the cheapest room available with street view but were upgraded to pool view, free of charge. We stayed 9 days with 2 children at 13 and 10. There is a large pool area including a child zone with minislides and a adult zone for 18+. The wonderful beach is only a 10 min. walk away. Because of the late season the hotel were about to close for the winter and therefore the entertainment were a little low budget. But we don't travel to get entertained, we travel to feel and see the world, so that was not a problem for us. Overall this is a very good hotel with friendly staff and we recommend it to families with children.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank bonon68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

We went here in the end of October, but the weather was really nice. We've booked through Booking.com and asked for an upgrade to a privilege apartment. This upgrade means you get a ground floor poolside apartment with a private garden and two very luxurious sunbeds. The upgrade cost 25 euro a day and was worth the money.

The apartment was spacious and very clean, but it had somehow a damp smell inside. We complained about this and the reception staff said the damp smell was caused by not using the apartment during a week. After activation of the airconditioning and heating the smell disappeared, but the mattresses were not completely fresh. There was a connecting door in our apartment (nr. 1003)

The kids liked the shallow swimmingpool with pirateship and slides a lot, but they could not play long in the water because the water was very cold. The biggest pool in the complex was very shallow ( 70 cm, 90 cm and 120 cm deep) and very cold. Adults can swim in a pool 1.50 m deep in the adult-only area with four-poster beds. There is free wifi near the reception but it is troublesome.

I think the complex will be very crowded in high season because there are 200 apartments and the complex to attract only families with small children. During our stay there were lots of German guests and Dutch guests (It was a Dutch schoolholiday).


The apartments are not near the beach. Can Picafort is a seventies resort, but you can walk nicely on the Son Serra grounds. At the Rancho Can Picafort you can make a 3 hour horseridingtrip ( 40 euro) on the Son Serra grounds with a stop in San Serra the Marina, in our case with a native speaking instructor.

The multilingual miniclub was good with about 4 hours entertainment per day. The adult entertainment was average.

Room Tip: Consider a privilege apartment with private garden and luxurious sunloungers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank memberHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Stayed at the Viva Mallorca for 4 nights with my partner and our 2 year old son. We chose to stay half board in a 1 bed apartment.

On arrival, I was disappointed that we had to take our own luggage to our room which was at the far end of the resort. For a 4* hotel, this wasn't good, and I have to say didn't make the best first impression.

However, once we got to our room, I was pleased. It was a good size, nice and clean, with a useful small kitchen area.

The facilities in the hotel were good - the playground for the kids was great and my son loved playing there. The pools were also lovely, albeit freezing - I have to admit to only braving it in a couple of times. My son found them too cold and refused to get in the bigger pool with me - there were quite a lot of other children in the pool looking quite blue and teeth chattering!

The entertainment was okay, not too intrusive but there for you to get involved with if you wanted to. The kids disco in the evening was very popular.

The food was pretty average - nothing wrong with it exactly just not the best. When you're catering for the volume of people they do, I know it must be hard to produce quality food, however I have experienced far better food at large AI hotels before so its definitely possible. The salads and deserts were nice, but the main meals a bit hit or miss. Breakfast also wasn't great - the sausages were radioactive, the beans horrid, and the bacon clearly the cheapest nastiest bacon around (and I don't think I'm fussy at all - I love bacon!).

As others have said, the resort mainly has German guests. Whilst it wasn't really an issue, it did mean that it was hard to get chatting to people round the pool or at dinner etc and also that most things were focused on them (e.g. entertainment, language abilities of staff etc).

The hotel is very much a family hotel, and I definitely wouldn't have wanted to have stayed there just as part of a couple. I'm also pleased we stayed there slightly out of high season, as it was still quite busy but I can imagine at full capacity it would've been a bit too much.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay at the Viva Mallorca, there were just small things that could've been better which would've made a big difference - and made it great.

I would stay there again however, I don't think we'll be rushing back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bloggs047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

We did have a problem with the air conditioning as it was stuck at 18 degrees so slept with blankets, bedspread, socks and cardi until they eventually believed us and agreed that it was broken!!(after 3 days)
the food lacks in variety at times but its nice and plenty of it
it was my first time in can picafort and i thougt it was good its abit quiet but if you want night life theres not much but there is skau, the red lion and a bar called charlies the best places to go but they are atleast a 20min walk or 4euro in taxi well worth it. hotel great carlene was excellent and the kids reps well done
the food is good, but not excellent. Good variety of salads and puddings, but the main meals are a bit samey.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Luc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

this is an amazing hotel for a family holiday. We have two and half year old twins and although too young for the kids club the staff would always involve them and were apsolutely brilliant. Although it attracks alots of germans everyone got on well and a wonderful atmosphere.

The walk into town is 10 mins to a wonderful clean beach very child friendly and shallow. Evening entertainment is very funny however the hotel works hard on keeping you happy and well staffed. Little shop on site with bits to keep you going when you first arrive however expensive. Supper market is a ten min walk away so worth stocking up.

Rooms very clean and well stocked with utensils and electric hob, microwave, toaster. Cleaners worked hard on rooms and we found t hem all very nice. Can picafort is a lovely town and very child friendly and a great place for the kids. I hope to go back next year.

Room Tip: garden rooms looking out to pool are lovely however for small children you need to be careful as no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sharonf208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed here in a big family group with 3 kids and grandparents. The pools were great for young kids with large safe shallow areas and fun watersides. The apartments were well laid out and clean. My reservations... Ca'n picafort has a nice sandy beach with views of mountains and was probably lovely in about 1975 before Germans built high rise concrete apartment buildings for budget holidays. Its not rowdy or unpleasant but in an island full of beauty spots...this is not one of them. The hotel is too crowded in august, very geared up to Germans, sun beds at dawn, and in it's attitude/atmosphere did not feel very 4 star. I enjoyed our holiday but won't go again. That said small kids LOVE it!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mrspalatine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ca'n Picafort
0.4 mi away
Viva Can Picafort
Viva Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
3.0 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
1.5 mi away
Exagon Park
Exagon Park
#3 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Viva Bahia
Hotel Viva Bahia
#7 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tonga Tower Design Hotel & Suites
3.0 mi away
Prinsotel La Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada
#5 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Mallorca & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Mallorca & Spa

Property: Viva Mallorca & Spa
Address: Avda. Santa Eulalia, s/n, 07458 Ca'n Picafort, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Ca'n Picafort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#2 Family Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Viva Mallorca & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location, services, facilities and gastronomy are the features which make the Viva Mallorca hotel the ideal accommodation for some unforgettable holidays with your family or couple in Can Picafort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viva Mallorca & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Mallorca Hotel Ca`n Picafort
Viva Mallorca Aparthotel Hotel
Viva Mallorca & Spa Ca'n Picafort, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing