We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vell Mari Hotel & Resort
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Ca'n Picafort
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We booked this hotel and took advantage of the all-inclusive package. This was a family holiday and we were travelling with our 3 children (15, 7 and 3yrs). Service was fantastic and staff couldn't do enough to help if it was needed. The selection of food was brilliant including for the children. We especially enjoyed the fact that we could see some of the food selection being cooked on the griddle. Our room was ample for our needs and comfortable, cleaned everyday and clean towels given beds changed everyday if we required. Really is a fantastic hotel. The only complaint I have is that it is being sold to a private owner and there for will no longer be iberostar................. I would worry that the hotel will become a little less appealing and not the 4 star standard it currently is! :-(

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
1 Thank emiliemeeten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    296
    122
    48
    42
See reviews for
505
131
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We have just got back from this hotel me my husband and 4 children stayed here and had a great time, only slight grumble was the food it was vey nice but it seemed to be the same thing over and over again and not really much for the children to eat, staff very friendly and helpful the rooms and hotel very clean, the cot wasn't in our room on arrival I rang and within 5 mins it was brought to us the light switch wasn't working and I informed them at 7.30pm and by the time we got back to our room by 10 it was fixed, the kids mini disco was very good Michelle is fab with the kids my children thought she was very funny, there isn't much around the hotel at all in walking distance but there's a little train you can get to the beach and the kids loved it, would recommend this hotel to anyone especially families.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room and was behind the pool and bar was perfect couldn't have chosen bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Vell Mari Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Amanda,

We highly value the time you spent to share your experience and suggestions about our IBEROSTAR Vell Marí hotel, being fully aware that listening to our guests' feedback is the way to go to guarantee wonderful vacation memories to all our guests.

We took good note of your comment related to our buffet offer and we commit to improve the variety of our menus so that no wishes are left open in the future, on the other hand we thank you for pointing out the quality of the dishes as the gastronomy is one of the prime pillars of our company and we wish to offer enriching dining experiences to all our guests.

Moreover, we greatly appreciate your kind words towards our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being our hotel's main strength we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us and for their prompt intervention when contacting our reception.

We also thank you for your praising comments on the Mini Club team, we are glad to read that your kids had such a nice time during their holidays in our hotel.

Once more, thank you for your visit and kind recommendation to Tripadvisor’s readers, we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our IBEROSTAR hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Vell Marí
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnyrigg, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We have had a lovely holiday, the hotel was good. Rooms/ apartments were a good size, very clean, a little dated but that didn't bother us in any way. The grounds were lovely and well kept, super pool and a very calm atmosphere all around. The food was okay, but a lot of the same things every night. The hotel should focus on quality not on quantity. The Thomas Cook kids and the hotels kids club were fantastic. Great teams.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
Thank Anneliesc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Vell Mari Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to advise of your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Vell Marí hotel. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests.

We took good note of your comment related to our buffet offer and lament reading that you felt a lack of variety; we wish that our gastronomy remains one of the best value added aspect of our guests’ holiday, this is why we will pass on your comment to our head of department in order to revise and improve.

On the other hand we are glad to read that overall you had a pleasant stay and that you could appreciate the friendliness of our staff, the well-kept outdoor grounds and the comfort of your accommodation.

Thank you again for choosing IBEROSTAR for your holidays in Majorca; we would be enchanted to accommodate you again in the future in our hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide and offer you another pleasant holiday among us.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Vell Marí
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We took our daughter,son in law and 3yr old grandson on their first all inclusive holiday, we couldn't have chosen a better hotel. great for adults and children. Food and rooms were outstanding. Entertainment for adults great fun and grandson loved the kids club.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
1 Thank pam_j_daniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Vell Mari Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Pam,

Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions on your stay at our IBEROSTAR Vell Marì hotel, it is always rewarding to read that our guests have enjoyed their holidays among us.


We also appreciate your praising comments on our gastronomy offer as in IBEROSTAR we know that meals are a very important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience, this is why our professional Chefs strive on a daily basis to prepare a wide variety of typical local dishes as well as the best international delights in order to please all palates, it is very enjoyable to read that we could conquer yours.

Moreover, we are glad to read your satisfaction with the room we accommodated you in, since they are designed to offer maximum comfort to our guests.

We also want to thank you for your nice comments towards our animation staff, their enthusiasm is contagious and they strive to offer a wide variety of leisure and sport activities throughout the day as well as entertaining evening shows for the amusement of our guest, we are glad to hear that your grandchild as well enjoyed his holidays among us, we will definitely congratulate the staff for their contribution to your family’s wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Once again, thank you for your praising comments, we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our IBEROSTAR hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide ensuring you in advance of our utmost commitment to offer you another unforgettable holiday among us.

Warmest Regards,

Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Vell Marì
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were moved here by Thomas Cook due to our original hotel's kids world being cancelled. The rooms were spotless although could be doing with a freshening up/modernising. Food was excellent, with always something for everyone to eat. Pool was great and loungers were plentiful although we did go out of high season. The kids club was great and our boys loved Sophie and Lauren. the hotel run evening entertainment for the children was good. All staff were always polite and had a smile on their faces.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillMcN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Vell Mari Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Jill,

Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions on your stay at our IBEROSTAR Vell Marì hotel, we are pleased to read that overall you had an enjoyable time among us.

We are also grateful for your positive mention on your room, as we want to offer spotless and comfortable accommodations to our guests and ensure an excellent and relaxing rest during their holiday among us.

We also appreciate your praising comments on our gastronomy offer as in IBEROSTAR we know that meals are a very important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience, this is why our professional Chefs strive on a daily basis to prepare a wide variety of typical local dishes as well as the best international delights in order to please all palates, it is very enjoyable to read that we could conquer yours.

Last but not least, we thank you for your kind words towards our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being our hotel's main strength we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Once again, thank you for your praising comments, we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our IBEROSTAR hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide.

Friendly Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Vell Marì
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 10 days and loved everything. The room was dated but very clean as there was maid service everyday. The staff were superb really friendly. We had room only but bought breakfast and dinner for 48 euros for 2. If you buy 4 days you get the 5th free. Good value as we didn't want to eat in the hotel everyday. The food was varied but note to chef way too much salt. I saw a chef grab a handful of salt to put in a onelette way too much. The entertainment was cheesy but fun. If walk straight ahead from the roundabout for 10 mins there is a large supermarket very handy. It is about a 20 minutes walk to the main section of the beach but we loved to walk.
Try the vinnicis restaurant at the beginning of the boulevard. Lovely tapas and big plates of food plus free wireless. Talking of wireless you do get 30 minutes free at reception. We paid 20 euros for the duration although at times were slow.

We had a fabulous time well worth a visit!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CillaA_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Vell Mari Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate the time you spent to share your feedback; we are pleased to read that overall you had an enjoyable time among us and would like to thank you for your kind recommendation to Tripadvisor's readers.

We also thank you for your kind suggestion on the show cooking stand and passed it to our head of department.

On the other hand we are grateful for your highlight on the cleanliness of our installations and the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff; in IBEROSTAR we strive to deliver an excellent and personalized service to all our guests, and we lay high value on our personnel being guest orientated and welcoming at all times.

Once again, thank you for your visit and your kind comments on your stay; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our IBEROSTAR hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide ensuring you in advance another enjoyable holiday among us.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Vell Marì
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menorca, Spain
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for the weekend, staff were friendly (especially Juli on reception), rooms were spotless, we'd asked for a quiet room and felt we got that. We were located on the top floor of building 4, room 4312.

The pool area seems very small for the amount of guests that this hotel could accommodate when at full capacity, we were there in low season and the pool, even though freezing, was fairly busy, dread to think what it could be like in the height of season. The buffet was not to the usual high standard that we have encountered in other Iberostar resorts. Very small in comparison to other places and the food choices were limited when it came to freshly cooked meat and fish. Fideua and Paella were good though, as was breakfast. Although please can they change the sausages from frankfurters to something edible!!

Gardens were good, kids liked the park, tennis and the evening entertainment.

I heard from a member of staff that Iberostar are coming to the end of their contract with the owner of this resort, so they will be closing this hotel at the end of the season (end Oct). It will then be reopened by a german company, unconfirmed at this time.

I would not hesitate to use Iberostar hotels again, looking forward to the next trip, however I wouldn't return to this resort as it's just too small for the capacity.

(legal jargon disclaimer: please note that my views are my own and are not associated with Wyndham Vacations, my employer)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
Thank Raff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Vell Mari Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Raff,

We highly value the time you spent to share your experience and suggestions about the hotel IBEROSTAR Vell Marì, being fully aware that listening to our guests' feedback is the way to go to guarantee wonderful vacation memories to all our guests.

We took good note of your comments on the variety of our gastronomy offer and commit to revise on this point in order to please all palates, on the other hand we thank you for pointing out the good quality of our dishes especially the Paellas and the typical local Fideuà.

We also appreciate your kind words towards our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being our hotel's main strength we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us, especially Juli.

Once more, thank you for your visit; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and to have the pleasure of serving you again in our IBEROSTAR hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Vell Marì
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ca'n Picafort
0.4 mi away
Exagon Park
Exagon Park
#2 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
633 reviews
0.7 mi away
Viva Can Picafort
Viva Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
1,614 reviews
1.1 mi away
Viva Mallorca & Spa
Viva Mallorca & Spa
#3 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Blau Punta Reina Resort
Blau Punta Reina Resort
#6 of 11 in Porto Cristo
1,627 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tonga Tower Design Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
#5 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vell Mari Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vell Mari Hotel & Resort

Property: Vell Mari Hotel & Resort
Address: Carretera Arta Alcudia 127 | Urb Son Bauló, 07458 Ca'n Picafort, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Iberostar Vell Mari )
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Ca'n Picafort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vell Mari Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vell Mari Hotel&Resort is located in Ca'n Picafort in the north of Majorca, just 700 meters from the beach of San Baulo with protected white sand of 17 km in length and has an excellent Mediterranean weather almost all year. The Hotel offers its guests a free shuttle to the beach. Over 30,000 m2 of facilities make Vell Mari spectacular Resort for family travel or sports enthusiasts. This Hotel is recommended for fans of Cycling and Golf. Vell Mari puts at the disposal of its clients agreements with the major Golf Courses and clubs of cycling. In addition account with 4 paddle courts, 1 tennis court, 1 minifootball field, mini gym, spa and massage area. This resort consists of 211 apartments of different categories with beautiful views of the lake 2 swimming pools surrounded by full nature. Spacious apartments in small buildings of 3 floors with facilities for handicapped people and private parking for their customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vell Mari Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Vell Mari Hotel Ca`n Picafort
Iberostar Sa Coma
Iberostar Hotel Vell Mari
Vell Mari Hotel & Resort Ca'n Picafort, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing