We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don`t` miss out Don Juans” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stil Bonsai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stil Bonsai Hotel
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Ca'n Picafort
Certificate of Excellence
lancs
Level Contributor
111 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Don`t` miss out Don Juans”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2009

We stayed in apartments around the corner from this hotel last year. Spending some of most nights in the hotel bar Don Juan recently taken over by Raphael. Upon speaking to some of the residents we decided to give it a go this year.

We have just returned and we were not disappointed.

I travel a lot in my job and believe me the food at this hotel is fine. They post a menu on the notice board daily so if you don`t` fancy any of the choices for that evening then you can eat out from 10 euros per couple.
We missed twice but only because we ate out with friends.
Last year we were recommended Molinas (as mentioned in a previous post) Its O.K. if you don`t` mind eating in almost total darkness surrounded by the local wild cat population. We had 2 steaks that almost halved there weight in fat and were served only with bread and a bowl of lettuce and tomatoes between 2.
I am told their speciality is the rabbit.

Don Juans bar is very good. A warm welcome always extended by Sandra, Rapha and Nadal. Very clean and a relaxing atmosphere.
They have an afternoon snack menu which is very tasty and good value.

We enjoyed it so much we booked to return this year before we even left.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Overnyter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    60
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
25
129
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2008

After a cramped flight with Thomsons it was a quick coach ride to The Bonsai and what a relief. A great little Hotel and the staff were all very friendly and helpful in every way.Nothing was to much trouble for them and the Hotel was spotless even in the last week of the season.This has been the smallest Hotel we have stayed in and we think it has put us off the large complexes, as it was so homely. Really close to the beach, only about a minute walk and over the road to the small parade of shops and restaurants which were good for lunch. The terrace was a sun trap and some days just the two of us were there. Bus stop right outside the Hotel to take you to Palma and the northern coast resorts and cheap as well. (how do they keep the cost down?). The indoor pool was great and the Sauna was cosy as well. The bedroom was a good size and we were lucky to see the sea from the balcony. The only minor fault was the food but there was always 3 choices but not to hot. Breakfast was almost the same every day but has not put us off as we hope to go back in May 2009. We would thoroughly recommend this Hotel, but not Thomson cattle planes, they are even more cramped and unfriendly.

  • Liked — Small and very Friendly
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trucker53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2008

me and my husband have been staying at this hotel for the past seven years,reason for returning,we love the atmosphere,the staff are great,and as for the food,it always fills us up every nite,it is that good we book twice a year and stay there,as for people saying the food is rubbish,i suggest they dont no what they are talking about.

  • Liked — it was like going home.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank maximus2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2008

My wife & I along with two friends have just spent a wonderful week at the Bonsai.The warm friendly reception on arrival was very refreshing you were a person not a room number. on arrival our room was not quite ready so Alison on reception took us through to the bar and gave us a complimentary drink whilst our room was made ready.Well what can I say next,the heated indoor pool was just like having your own private pool had it to ourselves most mornings between 7-8o'clock which set us up nicely for breakast,ah yes the food,why do people who book 3* accomodation expect 5 star food!! dont make sense to me nothing wrong with the food good choice for three star,no need to go to local pubs for PIE & CHIPS like some people did! My friend has a very good appetite and always after every meal said he was stuffed! Toni the waiter was a hoot always greeted you with a smile and his Manuel impression of 'GOOD MORNING HOW ARE YOU TODAY'mind you I dont think it was an impresion!
Getting about was easy bus stop outside hotel,however buses were a little overcrowded to say the least but very reasonbly priced.If I had one critisism of the hotel it was lack of entertainment it was non existant.Overall however it was a fabulous break and I would reccommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice ,friendly hotel for a quite holiday!!!

  • Liked — friendly - clean - loacation - food
  • Disliked — lack of entertainment
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank polemanHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
At home
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2008

Just got back from a 10 night stay at the Bonsai and I have to say it was excellent and did everything it said on the tin......small and friendly, very friendly!!!!. The staff were superb all round, from the maids who cleaned your room every day, through to the friendly night porter who always greeted you with a smile and had your key ready before you got to the counter, one of the good points about this hotel. All the staff got to know you and had the time for a chat and Tony who runs the restaurant really sums everything up about this hotel. He always met you with a smile and a cheery 'hello' and was always on hand to clear your plates away so as you're not left sitting there, waiting, before you can go for your next course with a cheery 'thank you' which brings me on to the food. We went to the Bonsai on recomendation from family and it was my wifes first time abroad and there was a slight fear on how she would be with the food, we've all heard horror stories and we have to say the food was excellent, it really was, neither of us had upset stomachs and I have been known to have what can only be described as a healthy appetite and I went out there completely stuffed every night, yes, we had fish fingers one night, but what the previous reviewer failed to mention, unfairly so, was that there was also another 4 hot dishes to go at as well, and salad. There was ice cream, cake, fresh fruit, jelly, creme caramel, dates and other desserts, so plenty of choice there and the soup was always tasty. The breakfasts consisted of the usual bacon, sausage, beans, eggs, mushrooms, toast , fruit, cereals and the usual array of cold stuff as well, pretty much everything you could need to start the day off, I have to wonder what some people have to eat to be able to moan about the food at this hotel, it really isn't justified.
There's a sun terrace with plenty of beds and brollies and an indoor pool to cool off in, although that is on the ground floor, but still very welcome when you get hot.

The location of the hotel was as said before, just a short stroll to a lovely clean beach which cost 8 1/2 euros for 2 beds and a shade for the day. The main resort of Ca'n Picafort is a gentle 15 minute stroll away with bars to stop off in for a cold beer.

This hotel is advertised as a 3 star hotel and it's certainly well worth the rating and to be honest, the staff make it more than that.
We're already looking to book to go back next year, we enjoyed it that much, it's nice and quiet with a slightly older guest staying there, we're in our early 40's but everyone was friendly and with it being slightly older, you don't get noisy, drunken idiiots staying there, so you'll come back well chilled and slightly overweight!!!!

  • Liked — Friebdliness of the staff, clean, good location, quiet
  • Disliked — No outdoor pool
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2008

Have just returned from an 11 night stay at the hotel bonsai and what an enjoyable experience it was. On arrival at the hotel i was struck by the old fahioned atmosphere of the place, decor furnishings etc..., not to say it was dated, but it gave a nice cosy atmosphere to the place, which was complimented by the extremely pleasant and helpful staff.. cleanliness throughout the hotel was excellent, bedrooms lovely and cool, with piped music, tv, balconies with view over to beach, in between hotel opposite that is... clientele were mainly older british couples, i think the menu reflected who the chef was catering for, just old fashioned british staples like sausages, fish fingers beef, chicken in gravy etc......a bit more imagination needed to improve menu, but the food was well cooked and tasty all the same, nice breakfasts, again sausages bacon etc......
if you want an extremely friendly hotel,great location and are of an older age group this would be ideal for you.
I would stay again , but would perhaps prefer bed and breakfast option..............

  • Liked — atmosphere, and location
  • Disliked — the evening meal
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2008

I stayed at the Bonsai with my 16 year old daughter and we both enjoyed it .It was small and quiet, which was what we wanted; small enough for the staff to get to know us - no having to wear those ghastly wristbands!
It was not top class but clean and comfortable, and the staff were excellent.
I was surprised at some of the comments about the food from other reviewers. Yes there were some strange combinations and frozen and tinned veg but it was all edible, and we never saw mouldy pasta or out of date yogurts, and there was a continental breakfast if you didn't want the full English. I have sympathy for the chef who I feel was trying to cater for the type of British visitor who expects exactly the same food as they eat at home, as illustrated by one lady who commented on the presence of olives, which were too exotic for her!
I don't understand the reviewer who didn't know what the desserts were; there was ice cream, fruit, jelly, cake and Mallorquin pudding (hooray something Spanish!), which was very nice.
Yes we would go back to the Bonsai; we liked the atmosphere very much.

  • Liked — The size, and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ca'n Picafort hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Son Baulo
Hotel Son Baulo
#8 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Exagon Park
Exagon Park
#2 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel & Spa Ferrer Concord
Hotel & Spa Ferrer Concord
#10 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Ferrer Janeiro
Hotel & Spa Ferrer Janeiro
#9 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.9 mi away
Galaxia
Galaxia
#28 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.2 mi away
Viva Can Picafort
Viva Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stil Bonsai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stil Bonsai Hotel

Property: Stil Bonsai Hotel
Address: Calle Isaac Peral 112, 07458 Ca'n Picafort, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Ca'n Picafort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#7 Spa Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stil Bonsai Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Stil Bonsai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Stil Bonsai
Stil Bonsai Hotel Ca'n Picafort, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing