We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday at the bonsai”
Review of Stil Bonsai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stil Bonsai Hotel
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Ca'n Picafort
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“holiday at the bonsai”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

went 12th aug - 26th hotel is just as it says small and friendly hotel is spotless cleaned all the time room cleaned every day fresh towels every day. indoor pool which I thought we wouldn't use was brilliant if we didn't want to go to the beach we had a sun terrace on the roof with comfy beds and parasols when we got hot we just went down the corridor and into the pool it was heaven there is also a gym sauna Jacuzzi in there. the food was typical Spanish breakfast was good eveining meals ok we didn't get chips every night like some hotels. the rooms are good we had a sea view the beach is across the road, location is good it is quiet there are places to eat we went to bar Athena down the street wonderful terrace overlooking the sea .if you want more life you can walk to can picafort in 15 mins or taxi is 5 euro . bus stop across from hotel , we had trip to porto pollensa 2.60 euro fare well worth a visit takes about 45 mins. many people in bonsai were returning year after year and I must say we would return without hesitation . hope this helps I read reviews before we went they do help

Room Tip: we had room 109 sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank janet h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    64
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
28
140
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wolverhampton
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Bonsai for a week from 29th july 2013 to celebrate my 50th birthday, the staff are excellent, Juan? on night reception very kindly gave me his bottle of water as after a 6 hour flight delay we arrived at 6:30 am tired and thirsty, with no-where open to buy any, the room was spotlessly clean (as was the bathroom), bright and comfortable, and the maids kept it like this through our stay, the food at breakfast exceeded our expectations, and at dinner was lovely, I'm not the easiest to please as regards food but there was plenty to choose from and I was happy with what was on offer every night, there was a wide choice. The hotel itself was spotless everywhere and nicely decorated ,the Don Juan bar attatched to the hotel also had lovely staff who kindly bought my husband and I a glass of champagne each on the house when they found out it was my birthday, and the bar snacks were very nice and reasonably priced. We would definately return if we have the opportunity!!

Room Tip: I would definately recommend room 213 as the room is on the back corner and the balcony gets lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elaine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed at the Bonsai for a week with my daughter after reading all the fantastic reviews and to be honest I was really disappointed. The rooms are extremely basic and the beds are like little camp beds. The toilet was all stained and the shower was pathetic and looked like something from the 1970's. The air conditioning was awful and not really worth having. If the hotel can provide kettles etc on request then why don't they just provide them for everyone as standard? We rented a fridge at just over 3 euros a day but there are so many shops nearby it wasn't really necessary. The hotel is extremely old fashioned and the food is not great with not much choice and some really odd combinations.... Roast turkey with a tin of pineapples on the top??!! The head waiter in the dining room is absolutely lovely as was Alison on reception. We met a lot of really lovely people in the hotel but we will not be returning unless the hotel is completely renovated top to bottom and they get a new chef!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnsmars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Hubby & me always prefer the small, friendly hotels instead of the busy, sky-scaper type. We booked through Tomson for the second time this year, our second holiday in beautiful Majorca. This hotel is truly lovelly, friendly staff and spotlessly clean. First impression of our room, 205, was 'very basic'. Yes it is, the rooms could do with being modernised including the bathrooms. But everywhere was spotless! Most hotels will supply tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, complimentary toiletries & small fridge. Not in this one. Our Travel Agent kindly emailed the hotel before we left to enquire about these, as they are not mentioned in the brochure. I am a tea-aholic & cant start the day without a cup first thing lol! The hotel said we could have a kettle and hairdryer free of charge but a fridge will cost you 3 Euros a day to hire. The milk out in Majorca kept really well without a fridge, it is a bit different to our milk. Yes when we arrived kettle and hairdryer was in our room, we just bought 2 cups, tea, coffee etc. SORTED!
The hotel has an indoor pool on the ground floor, off reception & a lovelly sun-terrace on the first floor. The meals were adequate and well cooked for the size of hotel & guests. Some people may grumble that there is not enough choice but I disagree. There is sufficient, like I say, for the size of the hotel.
We would certainly return at some point in the future. We had a fantastic 10 day holiday & recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CARRIBEANQUEEN06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

this was our 3rd time back here nothing has changed still a great hotel, food good not a big choice but very tasty,staff are great.very clean hotel. great location.if you want a relaxing time come to can picka fort.10/10

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank majorcathebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Recently returned from two weeks here and had a thoroughly good time. Hotel small but friendly. Reception staff good and very helpful. Cleaners excellent and keep the room spotless as well as the rest of the hotel.

The hotel is situated on the edge of Ca'n Picafort very close to the nature reserve. It is beside a busy bus stop but if you close your balcony door you will not hear any traffic and very quiet during the night. With regard to the German hotel at the rear which people like to complain about. It is noisy most night. Their entertainment starts about 8pm but stops before 11pm. If you have a rear facing room you will get the evening sun but probably a bit more noise.

The only drawback about the hotel is the food which can get a bit repetitive especially on a two week holiday. The chef does his best and is helpful and never lets things run out. However it is a small hotel and it there was lots of different dishes there would be lots of waste. We ate out more on our second week when food that night was not to our taste.

The hotel bar is excellent and very cheap for a hotel 3 Euros for a beer and a large glass of wine. The lunchtime snacks are also good value. The seats outside are a great place to have a drink and watch the world go by. Also try the English bar over the road run by Paco. Everyone is his friend and it is also very cheap.

There are several small supermarkets nearby with the one opposite the front door being one of the dearest. Directly across the zebra crossing from the German hotel is a small licensed greengrocer .Licores Conce. Cheapest around and she sells great tasting fruit especially the strawberries.

Would not hesitate to return if I got a good deal.

Room Tip: Rear rooms get the evening sun but look over the German hotel. The front rooms are cooler as they o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Droggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have just returned from a week at this hotel, small and friendly. nice room,lovely sun terrace and great indoor pool, which most times when we went in we had the pool to ourselves.
The staff are all so friendly,food was good,some people complained but we found nothing to complain about.
Bus Stop just across the road as is the Beach and in the evening we would walk along the front.
We had room opposite the Bar across the road,but once we closed the doors you could not hear any noise at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SusieqCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ca'n Picafort hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Son Baulo
Hotel Son Baulo
#9 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
1,606 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel & Spa Ferrer Concord
Hotel & Spa Ferrer Concord
#11 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Exagon Park
Exagon Park
#3 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BQ Can Picafort Hotel
BQ Can Picafort Hotel
#7 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
217 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
#2 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
988 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel JS Yate
Hotel JS Yate
#23 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stil Bonsai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stil Bonsai Hotel

Property: Stil Bonsai Hotel
Address: Calle Isaac Peral 112, 07458 Ca'n Picafort, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Ca'n Picafort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#7 Spa Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stil Bonsai Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Stil Bonsai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Stil Bonsai
Stil Bonsai Hotel Ca'n Picafort, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing