We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”
Review of Hotel Son Baulo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Son Baulo
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Ca'n Picafort
Reviewed July 10, 2011

just came back from 2 wks there and wish i didn't have to come home. we took our boy ag
ed 4 and he didn't want to leave, he made loads of friends and loved staying there. The rooms were really nice and clean the maids were great and came each morning, The staff everyone from chefs to waiters were fantastic and were always busy making you happy, evenings in the hotel was good entertainment for all the family great shows something different each night,everyone was really friendly and made you feel really welcome. The location was excellent with the beach right there,also the lake with nature reserve,the pools were good for all ages. Theres also loads of things to do in the area we went on a few trips and got to know the area well. we will visit again. any questions just ask.

Room Tip: we had 4th floor and all those was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank merc010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,186 - 1,192 of 1,686 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2011

We have just returned, having spent 15 nights at this hotel and found it to be good value for money. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The majority of the guests were British with some being Italian and Spanish.
We paid extra for a superior room. The only one niggle of our stay is that a superior room actually in reality is just a sea view room. I don't think the rooms have anything that non- superior ones don't have apart from the view. We paid extra for a fridge which was €2.60 per night. It is worth paying extra to get a sea view though in my opinion.
We were on the third floor and found it to be very quiet while we were their. Soundproofing appeared to be better than most med hotels we have stayed in and we never had our sleep disturbed. Other guests we spoke to said they were surprised how quiet it was in the rooms as well. This being on the beach side it may have been less quite the other side.
Food varied from good to excellent. It was always fresh. Breakfast had all the usuals and a chef cooked fried eggs or omelettes while you waited. A nice touch was the machine that made a lovely cup of coffee from fresh beans. The evening meal didn't perhaps have as much choice as you would get in a higher priced hotel but there was always something worth choosing. Like others have said the deserts were often to a higher standard than expected in a 3 star.
We hired a car for the duration of our holiday. Amongst the places we enjoyed was Canyamel which is in a nice setting with good snorkelling. There is a nice short walk from the left side of the beach to the Arta caves. Also Mondrago national park has lovely beaches with good car parking and walking opportunities. On the way back from their, a ride up to the monastery near Felanitx is well worth it, the views are very good and it is reached by a good but narrow road. Nearer home we found the long beach between Can Picafort and Alcudia to be excellent. It has shallow water and is backed by dunes and pine trees.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank al_ghar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in June this year and after reading the reviews we thought it would be brilliant. What a disappointment we experienced.
Firstly we were put in a room overlooking the main road. We heard everything from bin lorries to coaches dropping holiday makers of at all times of the night. The room was covered in mould. The bath tap would not shut off and continued to run all day and all night. The spot light were hanging out the ceiling. The rooms really need a total refurb.
We requested to be moved and was put on a list. We did eventually move 2 days later and had a pool view which was much better and quieter at night.
I found some staff really rude and they went out of their way to make sure.
I was also disgusted that we had to pay for sun loungers and umberella on the beach. It didnt matter what time you were on the beach but it was approx £8.00 a day to hire whether 8am or 4pm.
The food at this hotel is so bland. It seems whatever is left over from one day then gets re-heated again for the following day. I was sick of this food after 2 days. Breakfast is the same every morning and dinner aint much better.
There is much better places to eat and drink outside the hotel and with better atmosphere too as this hotel really lacks in it.
I know this is a family hotel but there should really be a cut off time as kids are just running riot after there mini disco. The adult entertainment started bout 9.30 and there was still kids running riot and most parents had no control.
In the corridors there are signs every where asking people to be quiet when walking around. There may as well be no signs as very late at night or early in morning kids running and shouting in corridors. Again no respect for other guests.
The only thing this hotel has going for it is on the beach.
It says in the reception area that you are not allowed to put towels on the loungers and leave them. We couldnt get round the pool as thats all people were doing so another waste of time notice.
Pool was no lilos but that didnt matter either as thats all the kids were doing in the pool.
Totally disappointed and will never return to this hotel.

Room Tip: go to a different hotel if you dont have children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LinStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tof8, Gerente at Hotel Son Baulo, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thanks for giving us your opinion and the opportunity to answer.
So sorry for your disappointment.
We are lucky about the views from our hotel rooms, because half of the hotel rooms have a sea view, one 4th has the Natural Park and pool view, and only the rest, one fourth has a street side view. I´m saying that we are lucky because many hotels have all their rooms facing streets, many others are even away from the sea/beach. Of course when we are fully booked some of our guests are occupying rooms facing the street, but in fact this is the only difference, as those rooms are more or less the same as the others, have same size and same standards, and even some of our guests prefer it as they have the afternoon sun.
We have different prices for different types of rooms, and guests are accomodatesd in the type of room they have booked and paid for, as you were. If they are not happy with this, as you weren´t , and if rooms are availble, we try to change their rooms (many times you would be asked to pay the upgrade cost).
Our street, is a very small street, not a main road, not even a road, and the hotel is located in a residential area, at one end of the resort. (I invite readers to look at a map, googlemaps for instance)
I´m happy that after those first 2 days, you found to other room to be much better.
So sorry about the maintenance problems in your first room, maintenance problems can happen, if they are reported they are usually sorted out in minutes. I apologize if that was not done.
Just to inform you that the beach, and therefore the sunbeds and the umbrellas on the beach, do not belong to the hotel, there is nothing we can do about the prices. I can only say that you have to pay for them on all Majorca beaches and most of Spain beaches.
Again we are li¡ucky about this, as our sun terraces are big, right on the beach and sun beds and umbrellas are free of charge for our guests.
Never a dish in our Restaurant is re-heated for another day, never, never, never.
Due to your feedback we have now arranged for high season, a member of staff to go around and encourage guests to respect rules. Thanks for your help, in this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Another lovely holiday! This was our return visit after loving this hotel and location last year. The rooms are very clean and spacious and the staff are great, all familar with us from last year and very welcoming. There is a great atmosphere and like a previous review, we met up with a few families that had visited previous years. We went on this holiday as a couple with our 3 year old and the facilities, food options, and location are all perfect we couldnt live without the shady park up the road for when it gets too hot! Will no doubt be returning next year....

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank 3Stels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

we stayed at the hotel with a party of nine. The hotel is basic but clean,and the staff are friendly.request a pool view if you can.We got a room facing a small road which got quite noisey.The rooms need up dating,and the beds basic and uncomforable(more like a camp bed)You got a good choice of food for breakfast&dinner the location of the hotel is brilliant right on the beach,it is so shallow &safe for kids.C'an picafort is a short stroll away&bustling.We hired a bike buggy from Easy rider&rode down to c'an picafort&had beers&ice-creams for the kids,we had a great laugh(check it out).Gill the entertainments manager was full of fun&loads of energy.Kids had great fun

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank luckyloky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

My partner and I booked a last minute deal on the Internet, we was not expecting much as we usually stay in a 4 star hotel but this is one of the best holidays we have ever had!!
We are only 25 and was one of the youngest couples there but we really enjoyed it. There is so much to do, the hotel arrange long nature walks on a Saturday morning, bingo every night (shake what ya muma gave ya) all of the entertainment is done by 1 lady called gill, she is fantastic!! Gill is at the hotel every night playing with the kids, entertaining, calling the bingo.
We will defo be returning later in the year.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SamandRicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We had a fantastic 11 days! Hotel is very clean although a bit dated Staff where extremely helpful, nice and always happy and polite and the waiters where just amazing. They worked so hard with smile on their face.

breakfast was great and dinner was absolutely fine. Some nights bit boring but the other nights really good, but there was always lot of choice and at the end of the counter the grill had something cooked fresh to order. (breakfast time it was eggs, evening it was meat,fish, pork or pancaces) Puddings where amazing. Rooms and the whole hotel was kept really clean and rooms where done promptly every morning and the bar staff happily provided endless amount of boiled water for my baby bottles and where quite happy to put them through the dishwasher if I wanted it) they also have a microwave for families to use and warm some baby food.

We all had a great time and met many people who return every year. Made great friends and kids had lots of fun.

It is a fair walk from the town wich was bit of a pain as we only took one buggy the older one being nearly 5 however the taxi was very cheap and hotel hires out buggies just £3 day.

Fef bars around the hotel but could have done bit more however if you wish to have a nice relaxing and not too busy an commercial this is your place. There is also a great park for children just a 10min walk away.

Water in the kids pool was bit cold but that didnt stop ether of my kids swimming all day and you would find a sunbed when ever you went to the pool. It was getting busy by the time we left so if we go back next year or year after I would go mid June again.

Oh and free TV including Ceebeebies - fab!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank familyL186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ca'n Picafort hotels
0.2 mi away
Exagon Park
Exagon Park
#5 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
803 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
#2 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
1,034 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Ferrer Concord
Hotel & Spa Ferrer Concord
#12 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BQ Can Picafort Hotel
BQ Can Picafort Hotel
#3 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
259 reviews
1.2 mi away
Zafiro Can Picafort
Zafiro Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
1,801 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tonga Tower Design Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Son Baulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Baulo

Address: Ronda Torrent 8, 07458 Ca'n Picafort, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Ca'n Picafort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#10 Family Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
Price Range: $63 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Son Baulo 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Son Baulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Son Baulo Ca'n Picafort, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing